We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Saratoga Springs
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No thanks”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I was there for a wedding in may 2011. Like the reviewer below I was also charged a $250 smoking fee for a room I was in maybe an hour the whole night. I don't even smoke. When I tried to call after my stay about the charge I was given the run around by the hotel workers I talked to. They said the manager wasn't there every time I called but could leave a message with him and he would call me back. After several messages and no call back I gave up. Not what I would call great customer service.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whatapaininthepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    65
    11
    7
    11
See reviews for
58
38
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I'm staying in this hotel now and couldn't wait to get home to write this review. That ought to say a lot about how bad it is. Don't get me wrong; the rooms are nice and clean, and a suite is nice if you're here for an extended period. But the staff is the worst I've ever encountered. There have been at least a dozen times that I've asked to take the shuttle into town or into the race track to be rudely told that the shuttle can't rotate around guests schedules but instead makes runs from the hotel every hour, only to be told the next day when I call to leave on an hour that the shuttle took someone out at 15 til and won't be back until 20 after. Worse still are the times I've scheduled a pick up for a certain time only to find that the front desk let someone else take the shuttle while I wait an extra 30 minutes. Four our of five times I've approached whoever is working at the front desk, Ive been treated like an annoyance, even if simply requesting change for the washing machines. This attitude goes all the way to the top; the manager here is the worst of them all! I have never written a bad review of a hotel, restaurant, or anything else in my life, but I cannot say enough about what a bad experience I've had with the staff here. This place needs a serious culture change. (Also important to note is that this place is not really a walkable distance into town or to the racetrack. It's only about a mile or two, but a bit of that is along a busy two-lane highway with no sidewalks.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jac77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We have stayed here for the past 5 years for 2-3 nights during racing season. One room (two or three bedroom) for us and our three children and another for my Father-n-law. The breakfast is wonderful, they always seem to have dinner as well (an added bonus after a long day at the track), and the rooms are always impeccably clean. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. We took advantage of the shuttle to the track for the first time last year, and it was easy and very convenient! Our kids also love a quick dip in the indoor pool in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
214 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed one night at this hotel, with wife and daughter. Overall the place was nice. Location is quite away from town by Saratoga standards, but is really just a 5 minute drive, so while you cannot walk into town, not a big deal to get there.

I found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant - not sure what others had issues with, but they were fine with me. Rooms were on the small side by Residence Inn standards, but were clean and everything worked fine.

Has an indoor pool, which is also on a small scale, but was fine for one night.

Overall, if you need a place with multiple Bedrooms, and don't mind driving into town, I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobBflo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Top shelf across the board.

Saratoga Springs is an amazing place ... Obviously the horses and events are a great attraction. But there is sooo much more there to satisfy your taste for adventure. Downtown is always a hub of activity, Saratoga State Park. Lake George. The Adirondacks. The Catskills. In the off season, there is plenty of x-c skiing, local downhill resorts and one amazing New Years’ celebration. For me, the best part is the comfort we have at the Residence Inn.

I have stayed with Bob Herrold and Leslie Miller at the Residence for an average of 4 months every year since 2005. It was a troubling time for me in the beginning as far as accommodations were concerned. At that point in time, Leslie called ME, she set me up for an experience that is what I measure every other hotel to. They have been the most accommodating people (not chain, but people) I have ever worked with. They have also, and more importantly, been the most accommodating staff for my vacation stays, too. My wife and I spend a good amount of time riding our motorcycle in the Adirondacks and always use the Residence as our base. We may be biased, but when something works, you stick with it.

Breakfast every morning (not continental, but full eggs to oatmeal to fruit to pastries), social evenings 4 nights each week, coffee, tea, juice and anything else you could ask for at a snap ... 3 different newspapers daily, concierge service ... they even will do your grocery shopping for you at no extra charge!

Is this hotel a five star resort? No. Is it my home away from home, a place where I can relax, where I am made comfortable, a place where work gets washed away ... where I have home like comforts, where the staff knows what I like and makes sure it is right before I have to ask a question? Do I receive 5 star service?

ABSOLUTELY!


You want hoity toity … go somewhere else. You want attention, family, honesty attention to detail and comfort …

RESIDENCE INN, SARATOGA SPRINGS NEW YORK.

Contact me, I’ll tell you why.

Room Tip: Call the hotel if you reserve online. Often rooms are available that web sites do not know of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Living "on the road" is difficult to do, with juggling work assignments, managing newly set up living accommodations and making the best of being away from family and friends. I have worked on the road for most of this year and have averaged four months per year for the last seven years.

Whenever I stay at the Residence Inn in Saratoga Springs, NY, I know it will be a good one. The location is close to town and the major shopping district, the facility is kept impeccably clean, and it is always refreshing to take a quick dip in the large swimming pool.

Bob is the general manager and takes pride in serving his visitors. It is not unusual to see Bob cooking on the grill for an evening

dining event or socializing on monday night with his favorite sports picks. We have also entered into some geopolitical and stock topics over the years.

Bob and Leslie (sales manager) are an excellent team to handle the unique day to day problems of a hotel of that size. Anytime I have challenged them with a concern they have dispatched it swiftly and efficiently. I will stay there again and again.



chaz

Room Tip: The staff will help select the best room for every situation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaz002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

we had a lot of multiple issue including no AC in the room, the hotel is really unclean and dirty, the staff was very unprofessional
i wouldn’t advise anyone going there

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank americanpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Saratoga Springs
Courtyard Saratoga Springs
#10 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,155 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#11 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
515 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#9 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Saratoga Springs

Property: Residence Inn Saratoga Springs
Address: 295 Excelsior Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-8511
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#12 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Springs Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing