We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Morning nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saratoga Downtowner Motel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Morning nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were in town for 1 night. We were given a room that had a large commercial crane immediately outside the window, approx 6 feet from our bed. It began running and beeping loudly at 6 am - for 3 hours. Although management knew this had been going on, they never advised us when we checked in that this was an issue. It made for a miserable morning.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    156
    45
    23
    14
See reviews for
94
133
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Great place to stay while taking the bar exam. In the middle of town so very close to cool shops, cafes, and restaurants. Quiet time after 9:00 pm was very welcomed due to the stress of the event. Staff was encouraging and attentive. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

My partner and I spent one night at the Saratoga Downtowner in July 2012 intending to visit the nearby Saratoga National Battlefield. I made my reservation here largely based on positive reviews that I read on Trip Advisor. I must admit that even with all of the glowing comments left by previous guests, I wasn’t really sure what I was getting us into (me generally preferring “known” hotel brands). Three words about the Saratoga Downtowner: WHAT A DELIGHT!

We checked in around 5pm on a weekday on this, our first visit, to Saratoga Springs. Folks were starting to get off work and already the little burg was bustling with a lot of energy and a vibe of relaxed fun. The Saratoga Downtowner is LITERALLY in the heart of all of this – this funky vintage 1950s motel that has somehow managed to stand its ground (I can only imagine what that piece of prime corner real estate must be worth!) and, I get the sense, keeps reincarnating itself to fit the times. We were fortunate that of their micro-lot, there was exactly one space left so I snagged it.

The little lobby is pleasantly cluttered with everything from restaurant menus to tourist information and just interesting little odds and ends to look at everywhere. While the agent behind the counter wasn’t necessarily the most outgoingly friendly bloke, he was nice enough (if not perfunctory) checking us in and provided some recommendations for dinner.

The covered indoor pool area is a HOOT! So 50s! Very well-maintained, but certainly nothing fancy here. Clean, comfortable, and “real” (unlike some of the glossed-up boutiques out there, which also serve a purpose and which I certainly enjoy upon occasion). Our first floor room was in the very back corner, tucked behind the pool. Although we had a decidedly uninspiring view of the parking lot/garbage collection area, the room itself was very clean and cozy – and I LOVED the vintage bathroom, with the blue and yellow tiles! If these are the original fixtures, then I praise the current and past owners of this motel for keeping it up so nicely. Shower was refreshing, beds were super comfy, and we slept like babes that night.

LOVED being able to walk right out of our hotel room and into the action along Broadway. Everyone was out and about: walking their dogs (Saratoga Springs is very definitely a “dog” town, with plenty of pooch boutiques), meeting for drinks and dinner, browsing the eclectic mix of shops, or just sitting on benches eating ice cream. Folks just seemed so…”happy” – and in the end, we decided to bag our plans to visit the Battlefield and, instead, hung out the next day in Saratoga Springs, walking through the parks, admiring the old architecture, and sampling the waters of the many springs that still flow all over town (be sure to visit Saratoga Spa State Park – wonderful!).

When we checked out the following morning, I inquired with the nice lady at the front desk if we might be able to keep our car parked in the lot at the motel, since we were just going to be walking around the town taking in the sights. She happily let us remain there until early afternoon, just making way for the new guests checking in, and even pointed us in the way of a terrific pancake breakfast! We really appreciated her kindness.

Take a chance on the Saratoga Downtowner – you won’t be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you prefer an indoor entrance, ask for a room on the first floor located by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed at the Saratoga a few weeks ago and we had a great time. The hotel is clean, bed was comfortable and you can't beat the location. The rooms were reasonably priced and comes with a complimentary breakfast in the morning which was very good. As in previous reviews, the motel could use a little updating but for the price and location you can;t beat it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 531DLO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, Ny
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

This place is a 2 star but don't let that scare you. The rooms are clean and the location is second to none. It seriously needs updating- it's not luxurious-at all but it's a friendly place and really is an excellent value. Ask for a room with a balcony for some hanging out in the morning or early evening. The owner is a little eccentric but if you are up for something "different" try the D.T.

Room Tip: Some rooms have refrigerators some don't if you want one ask and the'll bring you one. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoopFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilderland, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I've stayed here 3 or 4 times when visiting Saratoga. The motel is in a great location with helpful, friendly staff. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The motel is family friendly, clean, and could not be more centrally located. As a motel it is small and simple, great for those who want to be close to the shops and park. The pool is securely surrounded by a fence so there is no need to worry about little ones getting to close to the edge--the pool felt a little cold, but that's just my preference. It is kept at 80 degrees and they are very diligent and organized about everything. We will be returning every year!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limarys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Property: Saratoga Downtowner Motel
Address: 413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Saratoga Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saratoga Downtowner is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Saratoga Springs, New York among wonderful shops, fine restaurants, and great nightlife. The property extends a friendly, personal, and relaxing atmosphere that only a family-owned and operated business can provide. The Downtowner's enclosed Atrium, complete with lovely plants, creates a comfortable social area that surrounds a heated swimming pool. For your summertime pleasure, the Atrium roof retracts to let the sun in! The Saratoga Downtowner takes great pride in providing clean, pleasant, and updated rooms, which have earned AAA approval for 35 years! Discover the convenience of being in the center of the city. Saratoga Downtowner's location and service set the property apart as the place to stay. Wake up and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast or help yourself to coffee or tea anytime. The Saratoga Downtowner is a bit of a throw-back, adding great character to the place. The word "kitchy" is often used by the wonderful guests. The majority of rooms have direct access to the courtyard and indoor swimming pool. All rooms feature individually controlled heating and cooling, a full bath, and expanded cable television. The Saratoga Downtowner is a completely smoke-free property. Complimentary wireless internet is also available throughout the building. The Downtowner offers accommodations for all seasons in Saratoga Springs, a small city rich in history. Throughout the year, the Downtowner offers great deals and special events your family and friends will enjoy! The Downtowner's friendly, caring owner-management will help you plan whatever you'd like to see and do. Experience Saratoga Springs, New York lodging at the Downtowner, and see why so many visitors prefer the Saratoga Downtowner to any nearby Saratoga Springs hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saratoga Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Downtowner Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing