We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price is right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saratoga Downtowner Motel
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The price is right”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We checked a number of our favorite hotels, only to find the prices higher than we like. Then discovered the Saratoga Downtowner, but thought it might be a mess? NO, to our surprise it was a great bargain and completely met our needs. The location is in the midst of the downtown. We sat on the deck outside our room, watching the people and having a sip of wine. Lighting in the room is good and the place is clean. The staff, from owner to all staff were very hospitable and helpful. Not elegant, but comfortable, with plain furnishings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upnorthDPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    170
    49
    25
    14
See reviews for
99
145
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have stayed at the Saratoga Downtowner numerous times. The location is wonderful, the actual epicenter of Saratoga Springs’ vibrant business district, with convenient parking and in easy walking distance to the best restaurants. The cheerful staff and indoor atrium make my stays there a real pleasure.
TomTomBill

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomTomBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The central location of the hotel provided us with the opportunity to walk to most interesting locations and restaurants in town. The friendly staff was very helpful with any questions we had. We will return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We loved the Downtowner! The location and value were what brought us there. The friendly, accommodating staff, ease of unloading and getting to the room, and uniqueness of this motel, will bring us back! We liked the little central pool and thoughts of the retractable roof in summer! We had tea and coffee anytime we wanted, and late checkout which helped us manage a tournament schedule. All of our needs were met! We were very comfortable and will definitely choose the Downtowner again next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the Downtowner Motel and found it to be perfect for our needs. We were in Saratoga on St. Patrick's Day weekend to see a show and found the motel to be very accommodating and clean and the location was great! Right in the middle of downtown shopping and restaurants steps away. The staff were very friendly and helpful; great coffee available in the morning! Price was right and bed was very comfortable. Would recommend this hotel when visiting Saratoga.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlayaCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcellus, New York
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is excellent for visiting the town, being right along a main road. Parking was full so I had to grab a spot in the municipal garage behind the hotel which worked out fine. The staff I interacted with directly were good.

Now the bad - the room was old and rundown with lots of water damage on the ceiling. The bathroom was in serious need of a refurb. And the street noise was intolerable - the windows did nothing to diminish it. And the mattress with the springs that made noise when you turn over - ugh.

The ugly - two men conversing loudly in the lobby at the base of the stairs directly below my room around 4am. I finally opened the door and poked my head out to look and see what was going on, and it was quiet after that. It shouldn't be necessary to shush people in the dead of night. I strongly suspect it was someone who worked there, given how long they stood chatting in the lobby at that hour.

The woman who checked me out was kind enough to adjust my bill because of the lost sleep, but honestly I'd rather pay the full tab and get a good night of sleep! I would never return given my experience. Please note that I am not a light sleeper, this was a loud conversation.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GracieCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked this hotel for a youth conference. The rooms were nice and clean, the pool and the rest of the hotel as well. The best part, however was the staff! Sooo nice and accommodating! Late checkout was not a problem, and they even made me a fresh pot of coffee in the middle of the afternoon!! We will be back every year! Thank you, Saratoga Downtowner!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIEXpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#16 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
819 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#13 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Property: Saratoga Downtowner Motel
Address: 413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Saratoga Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saratoga Downtowner is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Saratoga Springs, New York among wonderful shops, fine restaurants, and great nightlife. The property extends a friendly, personal, and relaxing atmosphere that only a family-owned and operated business can provide. The Downtowner's enclosed Atrium, complete with lovely plants, creates a comfortable social area that surrounds a heated swimming pool. For your summertime pleasure, the Atrium roof retracts to let the sun in! The Saratoga Downtowner takes great pride in providing clean, pleasant, and updated rooms, which have earned AAA approval for 35 years! Discover the convenience of being in the center of the city. Saratoga Downtowner's location and service set the property apart as the place to stay. Wake up and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast or help yourself to coffee or tea anytime. The Saratoga Downtowner is a bit of a throw-back, adding great character to the place. The word "kitchy" is often used by the wonderful guests. The majority of rooms have direct access to the courtyard and indoor swimming pool. All rooms feature individually controlled heating and cooling, a full bath, and expanded cable television. The Saratoga Downtowner is a completely smoke-free property. Complimentary wireless internet is also available throughout the building. The Downtowner offers accommodations for all seasons in Saratoga Springs, a small city rich in history. Throughout the year, the Downtowner offers great deals and special events your family and friends will enjoy! The Downtowner's friendly, caring owner-management will help you plan whatever you'd like to see and do. Experience Saratoga Springs, New York lodging at the Downtowner, and see why so many visitors prefer the Saratoga Downtowner to any nearby Saratoga Springs hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Saratoga Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Downtowner Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing