We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Retro Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saratoga Downtowner Motel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A Retro Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This retro motel in the heart of downtown Saratoga has a personable staff, making you feel welcome and offering suggestions for local points of interest. The location is perfect for walking downtown and surrounding neighborhoods. Although we didn't get to use the indoor pool, it looked inviting. We haven't been to Saratoga before but plan to return and will once again book reservations at the Downtowner.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony looking out on the main drag, which we liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmeyer649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    155
    45
    23
    14
See reviews for
94
132
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

For what we needed it for this motel was perfect. Great location in the the middle of shopping, bars and restaurants. We were glad there was a lot to leave the car and breakfast was included. It's not a fancy place but if a clean bed and a bathroom is all you need this was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

First the positives - this was an excellent place for a one night stop over to get a flavour of this lovely town as it's right in the centre of SSprings. For the price it is what it is - basic. The owners try to make this a good spot for a stay. The indoor pool was a lovely addition but made this noisy (closes mid evening but folk can still sit out til 10) there is a large modern TV.
Our disappointments lay in - thin walls, a group of girls woke us several times through the night. No coffee in rooms. No headboard. Cheap bed and bedding. Having to fetch a hair drier. Having house rules given to us firmly on check in. Check in taking over 20 min as the very sweet lady was being 'trained' - if you are doing this please don't keep leaving her as you answer several phone calls. We won't be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Downtowner provides the perfect balance of comfort and price! The owners and staff treat you like friends - I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived that I had been upgraded to a king size bed at no charge. The location in the center of town can not be beat. Looking forward to a future stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a great spot on Broadway and short walk from the bars (and pizza, because you must stop for that before heading back to the room). The price is high for what you get, but those prices have become quite common for Saratoga. The room was adequate, the pool is clean and the continental breakfast is ok. The staff is friendly and available 24/7. I would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLE79866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Mass.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay...left to go to the casino and when we returned there was no parking and we had to park on the street around the corner. ...not happy about that but overall not a bad one night stay for the price! !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plaidmanatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Downtowner is in the heart of the town and walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The room was fine and clean. Although you will hardly be in the room since there is so much to do in Saratoga! Fun weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carocarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#11 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Property: Saratoga Downtowner Motel
Address: 413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Saratoga Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saratoga Downtowner is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Saratoga Springs, New York among wonderful shops, fine restaurants, and great nightlife. The property extends a friendly, personal, and relaxing atmosphere that only a family-owned and operated business can provide. The Downtowner's enclosed Atrium, complete with lovely plants, creates a comfortable social area that surrounds a heated swimming pool. For your summertime pleasure, the Atrium roof retracts to let the sun in! The Saratoga Downtowner takes great pride in providing clean, pleasant, and updated rooms, which have earned AAA approval for 35 years! Discover the convenience of being in the center of the city. Saratoga Downtowner's location and service set the property apart as the place to stay. Wake up and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast or help yourself to coffee or tea anytime. The Saratoga Downtowner is a bit of a throw-back, adding great character to the place. The word "kitchy" is often used by the wonderful guests. The majority of rooms have direct access to the courtyard and indoor swimming pool. All rooms feature individually controlled heating and cooling, a full bath, and expanded cable television. The Saratoga Downtowner is a completely smoke-free property. Complimentary wireless internet is also available throughout the building. The Downtowner offers accommodations for all seasons in Saratoga Springs, a small city rich in history. Throughout the year, the Downtowner offers great deals and special events your family and friends will enjoy! The Downtowner's friendly, caring owner-management will help you plan whatever you'd like to see and do. Experience Saratoga Springs, New York lodging at the Downtowner, and see why so many visitors prefer the Saratoga Downtowner to any nearby Saratoga Springs hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Saratoga Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Downtowner Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing