We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Saratoga Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Batcheller Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

What a gem - a beautiful mansion in a gorgeous setting. We adored the breakfasts - plenty of choice and Dan was there to cook his specialities. The rooms on the ground floor were perfect for relaxing. Our bedroom was immaculate and so comfortable.
Couldn't fault the service and hospitality. Restaurant recommendations were perfect for us - we walked everywhere so did not have to take the car and could enjoy a bottle of wine with our meals.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jambobwana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

Exquisite! Beautifully furnished and spotlessly kept, with the loveliest innkeepers (Dan and Chelsea) you will ever meet.

Breakfast is divine and the scones are so delicious, they will make you cry.

I highly recommend the tea, tour and book event (held monthly). The history guides, dressed in period attire, tell the fascinating tale of the house and its previous owners. And the tea at the conclusion is scrumptious. Enjoying very many lovely little delectables fireside in the library of this spectacular home was fantasy-fulfilling. (A little Downton Abbey in Saratoga Springs.)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolvigG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

BEAUTIFUL property right in downtown Saratoga Springs! When I think of B&B's, often I think "creaky furniture and homey"... Not so, Batcheller Mansion. Furnishings were beautiful, bed super comfortable, and lovely linens. Dan, the innkeeper, makes a terrific breakfast and will provide a tour of the whole place with lots of tidbits of history. We will be back...

Room Tip: When we toured the other rooms at the end of our stay, it really seemed like there wasn't a &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Batcheller Mansion is everything I love about antiques - beautiful, interesting, and full of history. The front desk clerks are helpful, effient, and knowledgeable - taking the guests on a tour of the facility and providing colorful insights into the history of the mansion. Every room, every piece of art, are unique and interesting. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and inviting. Food, cooked to order, is generous and quite delicious. Definitely my new favorite!

Room Tip: There's no bad one! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kohlerrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Every year my sisters, Mother and I stay at the Batchellor on the evening after Christmas and every year we are again pleased and overly satisfied with the accommodations. We always leave with wonderful memories of our stay and while always enjoying with wonderfully decorated main rooms, salon and bedrooms. Superb service and food! It is by far the best B&B in Saratoga. Absolutely delightful and beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

There is nothing better than returning to the Mansion and hearing Dan, the inn keeper, say
"welcome home"! The home is impressive but also livable, comfortable and everything one would want from a b & b. The linens are spa like so the bed is very cozy. The breakfast is fabulous with Dan's made to order menu - not just muffins and jam here! My room is booked for next New Year - my favorite way to wind up the year.

Room Tip: visit the website for a great viewing of each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is my second TripAdvisor review of Batcheller Mansion. Since my first, we stayed at other b&b's and inns in Saratoga and none measure up after staying at the Batcheller. As our car approached the inn this time, the sight took our breath away again. It's an architectural delight and with holiday lights on it, it was spectacular. Everything felt right--fire in the library fireplace, cookies and hot coffee and tea out for the taking, a large and sunny room and Dan's friendly personality. Our breakfasts were wonderful (though we start our diet today!) and the annual visiting of friends over New Years in Saratoga will continue with our stay at the Batcheller Mansion next year! An added plus: best viewing of Saratoga's new year's fireworks is from right on the porch of the inn.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalreporterNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#3 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#17 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batcheller Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batcheller Mansion Inn

Address: 20 Circular St, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4203
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: £126 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Batcheller Mansion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Saratoga Springs on historic Congress Park, this magnificent inn represents old world sophisticated elegance with a new world attitude. One of America's great Victorian houses, the Batcheller Mansion Inn simply cannot compare to other Saratoga Inns. Built in 1873, this American architectural masterpiece is an elegant mixture of small hotel and living history museum with the intimate feel of a bed and breakfast. Intricately carved European woodwork, hand carved marble fireplaces, family relics on loan from museums, original 1800's Batcheller family furnishings, and spellbinding grandeur make this one of a kind Saratoga inn and living history museum a stately retreat. Throughout the past 137 years, some of Saratoga's grandest parties were staged here, hosting U.S. Presidents, European Royalty, Dignitaries and Hollywood Celebrities. Designed by Nicols and Halcott of Albany, NY in 1873, this High Victorian Gothic mansion exhibits influences from the French Renaissance, Italian, and Egyptian styles. The red and gray slate mansard roof is bifurcated by dormers, each accented by a huge clamshell arch. The ivory stucco facade is studded by a myriad of ornate bays and its conical tower, resembling a minaret, is right out of Arabian nights. That bit of exotica was the result of original owner George S. Batcheller. This Saratoga inn was selected as Inn of the Month in the April 1999 issue of Country Inns. The mansion has also been the subject of many architectural studies, and has been featured in many books and film throughout its history. The Batcheller Mansion was specifically cited as an inspiration by Kevin Cummings, Development Manager for Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Batcheller Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batcheller Mansion Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing