We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saratoga Charm in the Heart of Downtown”
Review of Saratoga Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saratoga Arms
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Saratoga Charm in the Heart of Downtown”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Saratoga Arms, based on the wonderful reviews on tripadvisor. Its location is perfect for those who want to be on Broadway and in the heart of downtown Saratoga, close to restaurants, shops and bars. It is situated at the north end of the commercial district, however, so is perhaps slightly less noisy than it would be further down on Broadway. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The common rooms of the original part of the hotel, dating from 1870, are tastefully decorated and inviting, as is the front porch, well appointed with comfortable wicker chairs from which one can watch the world go by. Based on the lovely common rooms, we expected our hotel room to be similarly styled, but this was not the case. We stayed in the newer addition, and the room itself seemed not much different from standard hotel rooms. The bed was very comfortable, in spite of somewhat scratchy sheets, but the other furniture simply wasn't up to snuff. There was a cheap pressed-board dresser, for example, that was made for a refrigerator, but there was no refrigerator installed, leaving a gaping space, and an unfinished look. The bathroom, on the other hand, was very nice, with comfortable robes and excellent bath products provided. Another nice touch were the complimentary bottles of Saratoga mineral water. Breakfast service in the morning was courteous, but the food was not very good. We had the cheddar and tomato omelet, but were hard pressed to find tomatoes, or cheddar, for that matter. Given the elegance and attention to detail for which this hotel is known, I think the breakfast menu could use some improvement.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    50
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
76
333
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Never have stayed here...usually stay at nearby other property which is under renovations...
Thank God for that because this place was amazing....
I don't know where to start..
Check in....owner personally brought us to our room..
I had changed room type couple of times because of the cost but
went back from a regular queen to a garden room..
It was unbelievable...on the ground floor but has it's own private entrance
and private patio...beautiful.
Nice bed, fireplace, tv...huge jacuzzi tub...the best
We went to Saratoga to see Tom Petty so weren't really able to enjoy the room
that much but if you are there for a few days book this room (they only have two) is the one to get
Parking is easy also..
We didn't get back to room till after 1:00 am but all was quite..
Next morning..
The best breakfast ever....fresh made omelets, fresh fruit, banana bread, fresh squeezed oj..
It was fantastic...
So don't even give this a second thought if your going to Saratoga

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbtgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I am writing this on our way out of Saratoga Springs. We had a wonderful stay! The bed was comfortable, the towels plush(loved the make up towel), plus the staff was considerate and helpful. Breakfast, which was included was very good. You could order eggs or a special of the morning. Pastries and fruit available, fresh and tasty! The only thing difficult was we arrived after 9 pm and had to look for street parking as their lot is very small. We both agreed that although except for the inconvenient parking the Saratoga Arms is a keeper!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flagirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Saratoga Arms, and had a wonderful time. I can't say enough good things about this B&B/hotel. Both the exterior and interior of the building are impeccably maintained. Our room was nicely furnished, spacious, comfortable and quiet, with excellent wi-fi. We slept well every night during our five-night stay. The beds are very comforable. Breakfast is served in a very large and pleasant dining room. A buffet is provided consisting of oatmeal, cereals, fresh fruit, breads, pastries, bagels, yogurt, quiche, etc. There is also a daily breakfast special such as omelettes or pancakes. Eggs can be prepared any way you like. Service at breakfast is excellent. We like to keep up with exercising when we travel, and so we were very pleased with the fitness room, which had a well maintained elliptical, treadmill and bicycle, along with some light weights. Staff is second to none. Housekeeping was very efficient, friendly and accommodating to our schedule. As mentioned, dining staff were friendly and very efficient. The front desk made all of our dinner reservations and arranged for massage appointments (the massages were excellent and are done on the premises). Saratoga Arms is located within walking distance of many excellent restaurants and shops, yet it is very quiet. There is ample convenient parking by the hotel. This ranks as one of the finest places we have stayed. Excellent value for the money. If there was a Trip Advisor rating above excellent, I'd choose that one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The location of Saratoga Arms is perfect, right on the main street in Saratoga Springs and within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants, nightlife, and park. We were expecting a charming inn, but our room itself was comparable to a 2-1/2 star hotel room. There was a fake headboard attached to the wall and with a mattress pushed up against it. The mattress wasn't great quality (or needs to be replaced) and the linens were ordinary, so it wasn't all that comfortable. The dresser looked like pressed wood and had a small TV. Breakfast was convenient and service at breakfast was excellent, but the quality of food was just okay. I was expecting more based on the recent reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett2, General Manager at Saratoga Arms, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We are disappointed that we did not meet this guest’s expectations. While we always appreciate constructive criticism we feel we must address some of the points made in this review.

First and foremost, we agree that Saratoga Arms, located in the heart of the city, is ideally situated to participate in a total Saratoga Springs experience, fine dining, shopping, cultural events and night life.

In decorating the hotel we take great care in choosing quality furnishings and décor. Our headboards are hand-benched, hand-stained solid wood, designed and custom made specifically for our hotel. They were designed to attach to the wall to avoid movement that may disturb the sleep of the guests.

Our beds are fitted with top of the line Sealy mattresses. In response to numerous guest inquires, we instituted a guest mattress purchase program that many have participated in because they had such a good night sleep at Saratoga Arms.

The dressers are brand new. They are a custom design, with owner involvement, to accommodate smart refrigerators for the convenience of our guests. The dressers are equipped with high quality drawer mechanisms that quietly shut with the push of a finger. All TV’s are HD flat screen and are at least 32”.

Our breakfast is served in a naturally lit formal dining room with linen table cloths, fresh flowers, fine china and table service. On the morning this guest stayed, we offered a full buffet that included six assorted juices, including fresh orange juice, gluten free steel cut oatmeal, fresh fruit plate, assorted home baked muffins, coffee cake, bagels, cream chesses and jellies, yogurts, a vegetable quiche, a quiche Lorraine, a choice of omelet, or eggs made to order with a breakfast meat with assorted toasts or English muffins.

The owners and staff take pride in offering each guest a pleasant stay. We are conscious of each and every detail. Judging by the amount of positive and glowing reviews we have received on this site and others, we feel we have succeeded in offering a huge majority of Saratoga Arms guests a memorable Saratoga experience.

Amy Smith
General Manager
Saratoga Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was our second stay at the Saratoga Arms. From the amazing wrap-around porch to the luxurious rooms, amazing linens and well-appointed bathrooms, we were so pleased to be in such a lovely place right in the center of town. The proprietors are helpful and pleasant, the common spaces are attractive, and the peacefulness of the environment certainly belies the fact that the inn has so many rooms. They have done a wonderful job of making a larger inn feel like a smaller B&B. While there are other places in Saratoga, we haven't branched out because we can't imagine a nicer experience anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the old part of the inn. The rooms in the new part are lovely, but the old part has s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Saratoga Arms was wonderful and I wish we had more time to simply leisure there. This is a family-run inn and it is in a beautifully restored former boarding house. There's a wonderful wrap-around porch and the proprietors are very gracious. The bed was comfortable and there were high quality linens used throughout including plush spa robes. For a small amount more than one would spend staying at one of the big chain hotels, treat yourself to Saratoga Arms instead. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaveThePlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
797 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#5 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#11 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Arms

Property: Saratoga Arms
Address: 497 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saratoga Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning Saratoga Springs luxury hotel located in the heart of beautiful downtown steps to the Thoroughbred Races, shopping, restaurants, and museums. Our Saratoga Springs bed & breakfast features 31 individually appointed rooms with fireplaces & whirlpool tubs, combining historic elegance and modern amenities. A delicious full breakfast, Wi-Fi & concierge service is included at our romantic Saratoga Springs lodging. Experience why the Saratoga Arms stand apart from all other hotels in Saratoga Springs, NY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saratoga Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Arms Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Arms Springs
Saratoga Arms Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing