We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not worth the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Saratoga Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saratoga Arms
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice, but not worth the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is probably the nicest hotel in downtown Saratoga Springs. However, unless you plan to spend the entire day trapped in your room or on the hotel's front porch, it is clearly not worth spending an awful lot of money for just a room. The rooms are very average in size and a little cramped with all the furniture in there. For the price I was expecting truly grand rooms. We had two rooms in the older & nicer part of the hotel, but they were like any other room at the many quaint bed and breakfasts we've stayed around the US. I've read in other reviews that the newer rooms are not furnished nicely. I have no independent knowledge of this. Positives: The included breakfast is great, the staff is very friendly, and the hotel was clean. The hotel is on the main street of Saratoga Springs so it is convenient to all the cute shops on the street, but after once around the stores, there's not much else to do within walking distance to the hotel. If we were to travel to Saratoga Springs again, I'd look for somewhere else to stay. I hate to submit a less than stellar review, but I think travelers need to know the truth.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the older rooms on the side-street side of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerabema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett2, General Manager at Saratoga Arms, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
We thank this guest for recognizing us as the nicest hotel in downtown Saratoga Springs and for complimenting the quality of our excellent housekeeping staff, the expertise of our breakfast chef and the professionalism of the owners and employees. Saratoga Arms has the ideal location in the heart of the historic district close to fine dining, specialty shopping opportunities, night life and cultural events Guests are provided with the comforts of home and the services you expect to find in a high end hotel. Each of the guest rooms is individually appointed with custom fabrics and furnishings in both the “older” section and the “new” section.

This guest seemed disappointed that there was not enough to do in town. Here is a sampling of the activities that were ongoing during her stay: The New York City Ballet had matinee and evening performances. Saratoga Polo kicked off their 2013 season, An Open House was held at the Saratoga Race Course, celebrating 150 years of racing. In addition the National Museum of Racing, the Automobile Museum, The National Museum of Dance, The History Museum and the New York State Military Museum were all open and most are walkable from the hotel.
Skidmore College offers free concerts at the Tang Museum. Yaddo Gardens is free and open to the public. The Roosevelt Baths in the State Park offer the opportunity to experience the unique benefits of the mineral waters. The Victoria Pool is a beautiful 1933 swimming pool complex in the State Park and is open daily. The Saratoga National Battlefield, a short drive away, has ongoing programs and hiking trails. Bike rentals are available in the Arts District.

Not much to do??? The average visitor needs to come back time and time again to enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer and Saratoga Arms is the hotel of choice for the most discerning of those visitors, and that is a great source of pride to the staff and owners of Saratoga Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    49
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
73
321
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

we truly enjoyed our recent 3 night stay. the owner is a delight to talk to, the breakfasts were delicious and the inn is beautiful and clean. The towels and linens were luxurious and the bed super comfy. it is pricey, but we found a "3 nights for 2" deal which made it more affrodable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam11225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

stayed here for 2 nights. one of the most beautiful places i have ever stayed at.the staff was friendly and the room was so cozy and comfortable, the town itself was wonderful, great restaurants and shopping too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Saratoga Arms, based on the wonderful reviews on tripadvisor. Its location is perfect for those who want to be on Broadway and in the heart of downtown Saratoga, close to restaurants, shops and bars. It is situated at the north end of the commercial district, however, so is perhaps slightly less noisy than it would be further down on Broadway. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The common rooms of the original part of the hotel, dating from 1870, are tastefully decorated and inviting, as is the front porch, well appointed with comfortable wicker chairs from which one can watch the world go by. Based on the lovely common rooms, we expected our hotel room to be similarly styled, but this was not the case. We stayed in the newer addition, and the room itself seemed not much different from standard hotel rooms. The bed was very comfortable, in spite of somewhat scratchy sheets, but the other furniture simply wasn't up to snuff. There was a cheap pressed-board dresser, for example, that was made for a refrigerator, but there was no refrigerator installed, leaving a gaping space, and an unfinished look. The bathroom, on the other hand, was very nice, with comfortable robes and excellent bath products provided. Another nice touch were the complimentary bottles of Saratoga mineral water. Breakfast service in the morning was courteous, but the food was not very good. We had the cheddar and tomato omelet, but were hard pressed to find tomatoes, or cheddar, for that matter. Given the elegance and attention to detail for which this hotel is known, I think the breakfast menu could use some improvement.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Never have stayed here...usually stay at nearby other property which is under renovations...
Thank God for that because this place was amazing....
I don't know where to start..
Check in....owner personally brought us to our room..
I had changed room type couple of times because of the cost but
went back from a regular queen to a garden room..
It was unbelievable...on the ground floor but has it's own private entrance
and private patio...beautiful.
Nice bed, fireplace, tv...huge jacuzzi tub...the best
We went to Saratoga to see Tom Petty so weren't really able to enjoy the room
that much but if you are there for a few days book this room (they only have two) is the one to get
Parking is easy also..
We didn't get back to room till after 1:00 am but all was quite..
Next morning..
The best breakfast ever....fresh made omelets, fresh fruit, banana bread, fresh squeezed oj..
It was fantastic...
So don't even give this a second thought if your going to Saratoga

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbtgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I am writing this on our way out of Saratoga Springs. We had a wonderful stay! The bed was comfortable, the towels plush(loved the make up towel), plus the staff was considerate and helpful. Breakfast, which was included was very good. You could order eggs or a special of the morning. Pastries and fruit available, fresh and tasty! The only thing difficult was we arrived after 9 pm and had to look for street parking as their lot is very small. We both agreed that although except for the inconvenient parking the Saratoga Arms is a keeper!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flagirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Saratoga Arms, and had a wonderful time. I can't say enough good things about this B&B/hotel. Both the exterior and interior of the building are impeccably maintained. Our room was nicely furnished, spacious, comfortable and quiet, with excellent wi-fi. We slept well every night during our five-night stay. The beds are very comforable. Breakfast is served in a very large and pleasant dining room. A buffet is provided consisting of oatmeal, cereals, fresh fruit, breads, pastries, bagels, yogurt, quiche, etc. There is also a daily breakfast special such as omelettes or pancakes. Eggs can be prepared any way you like. Service at breakfast is excellent. We like to keep up with exercising when we travel, and so we were very pleased with the fitness room, which had a well maintained elliptical, treadmill and bicycle, along with some light weights. Staff is second to none. Housekeeping was very efficient, friendly and accommodating to our schedule. As mentioned, dining staff were friendly and very efficient. The front desk made all of our dinner reservations and arranged for massage appointments (the massages were excellent and are done on the premises). Saratoga Arms is located within walking distance of many excellent restaurants and shops, yet it is very quiet. There is ample convenient parking by the hotel. This ranks as one of the finest places we have stayed. Excellent value for the money. If there was a Trip Advisor rating above excellent, I'd choose that one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#13 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Arms

Property: Saratoga Arms
Address: 497 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saratoga Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning Saratoga Springs luxury hotel located in the heart of beautiful downtown steps to the Thoroughbred Races, shopping, restaurants, and museums. Our Saratoga Springs bed & breakfast features 31 individually appointed rooms with fireplaces & whirlpool tubs, combining historic elegance and modern amenities. A delicious full breakfast, Wi-Fi & concierge service is included at our romantic Saratoga Springs lodging. Experience why the Saratoga Arms stand apart from all other hotels in Saratoga Springs, NY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saratoga Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Arms Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Arms Springs
Saratoga Arms Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing