We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlfriend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saratoga Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saratoga Arms
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester
Level Contributor
172 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Girlfriend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I meet often in Saratoga. This was our first stay at this hotel. It was very clean and historic. The room was small and charming. Breakfast was outstanding, and a late night glass of wine on the porch was delightful. The hotel is 1.5 miles from the track which we found to be an easy walk.
The location is outstanding!!


I think this hotel is extremely expensive, I would not normally spend so much on such a small room. However, it is racing season and to be expected.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank teachersms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    49
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
73
321
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Saratoga for 2 nights and after finding many hotels booked came across this hotel with good reviews and was happy I did. Quaint , old fashioned furnishings with modern conveniences such as free wifi and fitness equipment. Lovely room with 4 poster bed and modern bathroom . Amazing breakfast -delicious offerings included .as well as, a free stocked pantry . Friendly helpful staff - they arranged a table at the Turf Terrace in the clubhouse if the track which is hard to get. Right in the center of town -tons of shopping and restaurants we visited the Saratoga spa state park and had a beautiful walk , went to the track, and even a drive in movie . Fun quick stay

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 3girls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Top notch. You'll fall in love with this one of a kind. Recommended by a friend who is well travelled. Our second stay. Great location. Great staff. Very relaxing. Front porch is special. We'll be back. Debbie and Tom.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tslechta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place has it all. Best location in downtown Saratoga Spring bar none. Hospitable and low key staff. The hotel has the perfect atmosphere friendly, but not loud. Breakfast is fantastic. There is a buffet, plus a couple of delicious choices for breakfast. In addition to those mouthwatering items, there are delicious quiches on the wekends. Well stocked pantry with free items such as candies, coke, water, pretezels, chips, etc. These snacks are great if you are on the run. This place doesn't try to nickle and dime you to death. I had a suite (last room left) It was nice a blend of historic furniture with modern amenities . Bathroom fantastic with separate shower and bath. The bathroom mirror actually had TV on the bottom half and the top part was the mirror..You can watch the news while shaving!!!!Housekeeping was exceptional. Staff couldn't do enough, and always with a genuine smile. Beautiful front porch where you can sit and drink your coffee in the morning or have a nightcap before bed. Only about a 5 minute ride to the track. Would highly recommend the place, but the next time I t
will book earlier and get a less expensive room.

Room Tip: If it you go in racing season book real early if you want a weekend room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

A beautifully renovated hotel right in the center of town. The hosts have seen to every detail, from the matching bedding/upholstery/drapery in the rooms, to the crystal glasses, to the 24 hour coffee/snack kitchen -- everything just added up to quite a sumptuous visit. The included breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. Only general drawback is that the wifi is unreliable and quite slow.

We were in room 302, which I believe is one of the smaller rooms in the hotel. Our two carry-on suitcases took up most of the floor space. The bathroom was also very small -- shower only -- and the doors didn't quite close properly. So if the above doesn't appeal, make sure to ask for a different room!

Room Tip: #302 is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwilineNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett2, General Manager at Saratoga Arms, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your compliments on the décor and guest amenities. Yes, 302 is one of our smaller rooms which is why we have designated it as a “junior queen” room. The online description explains just that and mentions that the bathroom has only a shower. Our reservations staff is also careful to manage expectations by explaining that the room is not as large as some others and the bathroom offers no tub, just a shower.

The junior queen rooms is a perfect room for a single traveler or our budget conscious guest, while also offering the same perks and amenities of our larger rooms.

We do wish the guest has brought the Wi-Fi to our attention at the time she was experiencing difficulty, it may have just required a quick system reboot. It is usually a very efficient system that even reaches to our front porch. We also supply Ethernet cords in each room should a guest have difficulty downloading large files.

We do hope you’ll stay at Saratoga Arms on your next visit to our beautiful city and perhaps try another room style.

Amy Smith
General Manager
Saratoga Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is a quiet elegant Hotel dedicated to luxury .
The staff is "family "
Can not wait to cone back .
Will bring you back to yesteryear with its luxurious appointed public areas. The front porch is a must to spend time on with a glass of wine or sipping your Saratoga water and people watch.
A delicious breakfast is included with a wonderful selection of fresh baked goodies to choose from.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Every summer my wife and I make our way up to Saratoga Springs, New York to enjoy the short but exciting racing season. During the summers when we decide to visit for an overnight or two, we have historically stayed at the older and more well known Gideon Putnam Hotel which is on the Saratoga state park. Wanting to changes things up, and staying a little longer than usual (we also had tickets for James Taylor at SPAC) I did some extensive investigating and came up with the Saratoga Arms Hotel as the choice. My research paid off. The place is fantastic. Located on Broadway in the heart of Saratoga Springs, (if you need retail therapy this downtown is the mother load) the Saratoga Arms has clean and well appointed rooms, a lobby that recalls the heyday of country B&B's and a breakfast (part of your stay) that is amazing. They also have connections with the Saratoga Race Track that allowed us to get last minute reservations in the Turf Terrace restaurant in clubhouse at the track. The big, comfortable front porch is a joy for relaxing and people watching. Of course you can get a glass of wine or other refreshment along with some very tasty small plate servings while spending time on the porch. The owner and the entire staff is friendly and always ready to help. We had a great experience and the Saratoga Arms now has 2 people who will likely be repeat customers in the not too distant future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#13 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Arms

Property: Saratoga Arms
Address: 497 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saratoga Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning Saratoga Springs luxury hotel located in the heart of beautiful downtown steps to the Thoroughbred Races, shopping, restaurants, and museums. Our Saratoga Springs bed & breakfast features 31 individually appointed rooms with fireplaces & whirlpool tubs, combining historic elegance and modern amenities. A delicious full breakfast, Wi-Fi & concierge service is included at our romantic Saratoga Springs lodging. Experience why the Saratoga Arms stand apart from all other hotels in Saratoga Springs, NY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saratoga Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Arms Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Arms Springs
Saratoga Arms Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing