We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"the only way to get away"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Gables Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Union Gables Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
oswego.ny
1 review
“"the only way to get away"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

We just got back from Union Gables B&B.It was one of the most wonderful experiences my family has ever had.Tom and his staff are very professional.The rooms were very clean and cozy.We didn't go out to see many sights as it was so nice to stay in.If your looking to get away anytime,this is just what you've been looking for.The location is perfect,just minutes from most attractions.We would love to return someday,perhaps for chowderfest.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank moparmanOswego_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    25
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
178
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jim Thorpe, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

My husband and I had stayed a long weekend for the SPAC jazz festival. The house and the rooms are lovely. It is in the middle of a residential area-so partying is highly discouraged-so if you a planning a party, this is not the place.

Our shower did not work and after numerous calls, they finally called a plumber. They acted as if we did not know how to use a shower.

Breakfast was very disappointing-hardened french toast, underdone banana bread, eggs were over cooked and cold. We had to beg for more coffee and they never had the decaf ready. I did not feel pampered at all. All they needed to do is offer SERVICE! The house is a lovely and elegant dame who deserves better care and gentility. For the price we paid-I felt very shorted.

  • Liked — Great location and rooms
  • Disliked — Poor Service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NaomiJimThorpe_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2006

Union Gables is a nice B&B in a great location in Saratoga Springs, NY. It is walking distance (<5 mins) to the downtown shops and restaurants (Broadway), as well as walking distance (5-10 mins max.) to the biggest draw in town - the Saratoga horse racing track. Saw previous reviews from a few years ago, and location has definitely been upgraded since then. Seems in good shape and is a very nice old Victorian style house with a large porch where you can sit for drinks. Ample parking on the location and nice grounds. Room was comfortable and clean.

Pros: Great location right where you want to be in Saratoga Springs. Prices are fairly reasonable given the rates at other locations in town. We paid $170 for one of the better rooms. Bedroom and bathroom have all of the standard amenities you would expect. Also, room was larger than what you find in many other B&B's.

Cons: Overall, the proprietor should try to take the services and amenities to the next level if he wants to keep drawing people back. Things like higher end bedsheets/linens (nothing wrong with what they have, but nothing "special" either). Continental breakfast and late afternoon snacks were ordinary at best - seemed like all supermarket bought baked goods as an example. Fixing little things like this will make all the difference for repeat business Also, be aware that Union Ave. is one of the busier local streets in town, so you will likely hear cars driving by at night if that bothers you.

Opted to try a different B&B in Saratoga Springs given the Cons above next time we were in town; however, Union Gables is a very reasonable place to stay.

  • Liked — Convenient Location
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EMan-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2003

10/2003 stay: Also disappointed, and agree with the need for basic maintenance and more professional staff. Location is great, a quick walk to downtown. Lovely architecture. Easy parking. But dog dropping on the walkway (pets welcome, one reason we tried it out, though without dog for this visit). Check-in staffer offered little welcoming info. No heat in room. Missing window shade which one staffer said had just been broken, while another said it had been missing for some time.
Windows old and leaky, one without latch. Some furnishings well-worn and need replacement. Left for dinner with promise of heat from teenage boy in charge. No improvements two hours later. On request, another staffer transferred us to a better room. Breakfast was serve-yourself "expanded continental" of muffins and fruit (good) and cold cereal, but, overall, a disappointment. Checking out, got excuses for problems and noticed a gift bag of goodies marked for the room we had stayed in.
Asked if it was for us (thinking it was an apology), only to be told the goodies were for the incoming guests.

Helpful?
5 Thank MoxieFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2003

The Union Gables is a beautiful old building on a lovely, quaint street in the middle of Saratoga Springs. It is within walking distance of the center of town and the racetrack. There are plenty of convenient parking spaces near the building. Most B&Bs in the area charge around $125-$300 a night. ($300 in August, and $125-$200 the rest of the spring-summer season) I'm sure most offer better service than what I received at The Union Gables. The room I stayed in needed "handyman help"....missing window shade,peeling wallpaper,cracked windowpane,leaky shower stall.. My linens weren't changed the entire time I was there (more than a few days) and no complimentary toiletries were left in the room (body soap, shampoo,lotion). The house is gorgeous, but badly in need of some TLC. I won't be staying there again.

Helpful?
7 Thank Hiranyaloka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Gables Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Gables Mansion Inn

Property: Union Gables Mansion Inn
Address: 55 Union Avenue, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Gables Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proudly voted 'Best of the Saratoga Region' for 2015 and the past four years in a row. Beautifully preserved, romantic hidden gem of the past from the Victorian era with modern comforts of gas fireplaces, heated outdoor swimming pool, complimentary wireless internet, high definition cable television on 43 inch flat screen televisions, and luxurious robes and amenities. Spacious guestrooms with king beds, hardwood floors, antiques and fireplaces. Guests at Union Gables enjoy a freshly prepared breakfast each morning, and complimentary wine, appetizers and cookies each evening. Enjoy the spacious front porch and one acre of gardens with sitting areas and fountains. Located two blocks from Congress Park, just an eight minute stroll to Downtown Saratoga Springs and one block to the Historic Saratoga Racecourse on Union Avenue. Some pet friendly rooms available, and Suites with kitchens, living rooms, and multiple bedrooms for longer term stays. Inquire about our sister property of Suites at the Alexander House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Union Gables Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Gables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing