We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovering Saratoga”
Review of Union Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Union Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Union Gables provided the perfect venue for a week-end away with long time friends. Our accommodations were comfortable with all the amenities we needed plus more. The grounds invite relaxation from the front porch for a leisurely breakfast or cocktail plus casual seating around the soon to be completed pool and pergola area by the small pond. Our short walk to the park and downtown area easily connects the many attractions in Saratoga to the Inn. The list of sites and activities in the area is endless...the Inn Keepers were very engaging offering assistance in planning our day from visiting the nearby Revolutionary War battle field sites to finding a great Margarita. Needless to say we enjoyed both!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kahana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Union Gables is the perfect place to stay in Saratoga. The main house, the grounds, the service and most importantly the innkeepers are wonderful. My wife and I bring our dog and stay in the pond cottage and we love every minute of it. Walk to town, Walk to SPAC. Walk to the track. The place feels like a five star hotel without all pretense. Make sure to get a made to order omelette for breakfast. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Pond Cottage is very private, pet friendly and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thisissaulgoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Our family stayed at Union Gables in Saratoga Springs for one night on our way up to Montreal. It was a supremely pleasant experience. Our hosts, Tom and Barbara, were exceptionally knowledgeable about the area and made us feel welcome. We were traveling with our two young children and they were made to feel welcome as well. The room we stayed in was lovely -- it got a lot of sunlight and was nicely decorated. They are in the process of building an outdoor swimming pool and the landscaping already in place is gorgeous. The breakfast was delicious and the cookies in the evening were a yummy treat. A wonderful way to experience the town of Saratoga Springs -- and a great place to stay in its own right. We will definitely stay here again when we come to Saratoga Springs!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We traveled to a crew regatta to see our daughter and wanted a charming place to stay. What a find! The owners and staff were so friendly and accomadating. We really felt at home.The building and gardens are beautiful and meticulously maintained. We had a lovely made to order breakfast that we enjoyed at a charming built in window seat. We wish we could have stayed longer and look forward to going back again. I almost forgot the fresh baked brownies and chocolate chip cookies .Just another personal touch!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We really enjoyed our visit. The charm, atmosphere, complimentary wine and amazing breakfast make for a great place to unwind. And all while doing it with your 4 legged friend at your side, such a jewel.

Room Tip: No bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I booked a stay at this B&B last minute, and with a dog -- yet they were able to accommodate us.
The inn is spotless and my room has fantastic (clean, nice amenities)--- and the staff is incredibly personable, friendly, and eager to please. I was impressed by the afternoon baked goods, complimentary wine, and bountiful breakfast. the inn and the yard are well maintained and comfortable. One can tell that the owners care about making this a great destination. I would recommend Union Gables to anyone travelling to Saratoga (which, by the way, is a fantastic and friendly town, with many outdoor activities)

Room Tip: you can see the rooms on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This beautifully renovated, historic mansion B & B, in the heart of Saratoga, is absolutely worth your stay. The rooms are quaint and comfortable and decorated with antiques. The innkeepers are friendly and willing to answer any and all questions. The breakfast superb. We loved it and will absolutely stay again. No need to look anywhere else (unless, of course, they are full!). Book early.

Room Tip: They are putting in a pool this spring!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
612 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#7 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Gables Inn

Address: 55 Union Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: £120 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Gables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proudly voted 'Best of the Saratoga Region' and Tripadvisor's Award of Excellence. Beautifully preserved, romantic Queen Anne style mansion with in-room fireplaces, heated outdoor pool, complimentary wireless Internet, high definition cable television on 43 inch flat screen televisions, and luxurious robes and amenities. Spacious guest rooms with king beds, hardwood floors, antiques and fireplaces. Eight designated pet friendly rooms and suites. Guests at Union Gables enjoy a freshly prepared breakfast each morning, and cookies each evening. Enjoy the spacious front wrap around porch, and one acre of gardens with sitting areas and fountains. Located two blocks from Congress Park, just an eight minute stroll to Downtown Saratoga Springs and one block to the Historic Saratoga Racecourse on Union Avenue. Suites with kitchens, living rooms, and multiple bedrooms for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Union Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Gables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing