We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Union Gables Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dix Hills
2 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We took our parents for thier 50th wedding anniversary. We rented 4 rooms and a suite and each was more beautiful than the next. The breakfasts were excellent, the attendants were kind, attentive and very helpful. The grounds were also beautiful and well kept. Everything was impecable. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Room Tip: Each room is more magnificent than the next, it's a question of how many people to accomodate in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    25
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
183
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
whitehouse station, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very impressed with all aspects of this B&B: location, room size and amenities, architectural personality, attentive owners, and great breakfasts. I booked a room for one night on an unstructured "road-trip" to New England, and was so pleased, I extended for another night. Tom and Barbara, the owners, were engaging and friendly, providing good conversation and useful information about activities in and around Saratoga Springs. I always default to B&Bs and inns, and this experience was one of the highlights of my travels.

Room Tip: I stayed in "Bill", which had a fireplace and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogsleap18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A great B&B just down the street from the racetrack. The proprietors are always available and attentive to every need. Grounds are impressive in the fall. It must also be tremendous in the spring and summer. The guest rooms are large and nicely decorated. Breakfast is yummy and filling. Great wraparound porch if you just want to sit with your AM coffee to plan you day or to unwind with wine after a day on the town. I highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: We were in the Edward room, good location to stairwell on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphMerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I went to Saratoga in August and could not stay in Union Gables for it had no vacancy. But I remember how wonderful it looked. So we went back in October with our two small dogs and I have to tell you, my husband and I had a fabulous, relaxing time. It was like a piece of history. As soon as you stepped foot on the front wrap around porch, with its comfortable patio furniture you knew that beyond the front doors was going to be a wonderful experience. You were greeted by Tom the owner, who seemed to be busy on the phone. Which gave me the chance to look at the detail of this grand victorian B&B. My husband and I stayed in the room on the main level. The room had a fireplace king size bed, the detail of the room was eye candy the woodwork alone could tell a story. The comfort and warmest of the house and the owners was so welcoming. Breakfast fresh and good and served by Tom and Barbara. There was coffee all day and at 5 PM their was complimentary wine. At night there were fresh home made cookies waiting for you when you came home at night. My dogs were welcomed with open arms, which I so much appreciated. I can go on and on. This is a must stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianalevittown217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Do you know that perfect trip that you keep dreaming about? The one that meets your need for a comforting respite from everyday life? This is it. And, you already know that "this is it" before you step inside the front door because first impressions mean a lot to you. Before you step inside the Union Gables, your senses are already greeted by gardens, fountains, and flower-lined steps that pull you to the enormous well furnished comfy porch that hugs you like an old friend. If you are lucky, you might even meet a dog, because pets are welcome here. Once inside, you are cared for by Tom and Barbara, who will ensure that your time at the Inn is one that you will want to repeat. Whether you have history questions about the building or neighborhood, need local maps, or want suggestions for your itinerary, the gracious hosts will be your resource. While standing in the entry room, you will wonder how you are going to find the time to appreciate the artistic detail of the Inn. Your eyes are drawn to many works of art, beautiful woodwork, glowing, fireplaces, lovely seating arrangements, stained glass lighting, and the list goes on. There are many extra touches for your enjoyment, such as a pool table, books, newspapers, and board games. The rooms are all named, each with their own personality. There is much detail put into the comfort and personality of the rooms. Most (or all) have gas remote controlled fireplaces. During warmer seasons, rooms are air conditioned. Luxurious robes are provided for use in your room, small refrigerator, an alarm radio, iron/ironing board, large flat screened cable television, and other amenities such as shampoo/conditioner, lotion, shower cap, make up remover wipes, shoe cloths. You can find pictures of named rooms on the website. Sleeping was very easy and undisturbed. Food and refreshments at Union Gables is delightful. Each morning, there is a generous array of breads, jams, fruit, yogurt, granola, scones, juices, tea, coffee. As if that was not enough, guests are offered many made to order selections such as French toast, bacon, sausage, custom omelets and eggs. The aroma of mornings at the Inn is a pleasant start to each day. Each afternoon, at 5 o'clock, complimentary wine is served, followed by freshly baked cookies. All day, there is always tea and coffee available. Although I did not yet have the opportunity to enjoy the grounds during summertime, there is a new swimming pool, too. The next best thing about Union Gables has to be the perfect location. It is a very short walk to Congress Park, shopping, and restaurants. Saratoga Raceway is also a walk, but, you might want to take your car. Even during off season, if you awaken early, you can take a jog or drive to see the horses exercising around the track. Despite the very close location to attractions, the Inn still manages to be located away from any possible noise that might be expected. The neighborhood, like the Inn, is charming and majestic at the same time. I cannot imagine ever wanting to stay anywhere else in Saratoga Springs. There is no reason to. Most travelers would pick a destination, then find a place to stay. With the Union Gables, I would have to pick the stay part first.

Room Tip: The Bill Room has a good sized sitting area, along with a private balcony, nice for morning coffee o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pillow4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Are you kidding me?
This was a "top shelf" experience all the way.
Located on Union Avenue, in Saratoga Springs, Union Gables is located around 1/4 mile from the famed Saratoga Race track. Though not in season, the location afforded me the chance to walk to the practice track and watch the beautiful horses run their morning practice laps, and then return to meet my wife at this Victorian mansion for an excellent breakfast.

The Inn itself has been lovingly restored by the husband/ wife team of Tom & Barbara. From the details of the various stained glass windows, to the bountiful flower gardens and fountains, to the comfortable common areas on the first floor, this Inn shines.
Our room was spacious with a warm, very comfortable bed, flat screen TV and a cozy gas fireplace. A small adjacent deck off the bedroom was a nice bonus.

Breakfast was prepared by A friendly chef who cooked each meal to order, honoring any special requests. Delicious.
Tom or Barbara were always on hand for conversation, a hello or to answer questions about venues, events, restaurant recommendations and more.

Warm gooey cookies and choices of red and white wines greeted us each evening from 5pm through 9pm....a great touch for either before or after dinner plans.
Coffee and assorted teas are available 24 hours a day.
The eating arrangements for breakfast are unique. We could eat outside on the spacious wrap-around porch or at any number of little alcoves, tables, nooks and crannies throughout the first floor. Very cozy.
And then there is Jane.....( pronounced...Jane). She is the best!!
Fun, warm and engaging, Jane sent us on our way each morning with a smile on our face and a little extra energy, just for having interacted with her. She is warm, funny and has a smile that lights up the room.
We will certainly return to Union Gables and Saratoga Springs for another great visit.
Thank you Tom, Barbara and Jane (pronounced....Jane).
Joel & Rosalie.

Room Tip: We snuck a look at two other rooms and they were just as nice as ours. No noise issues for us as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great b&b...comfortable rooms (ours had a nice gas fireplace to take the edge off of the cool fall night). Good location...close to downtown. A wonderful front porch to hangout on. Very good breakfast spread!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
583 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#5 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
300 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Gables Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Gables Mansion Inn

Property: Union Gables Mansion Inn
Address: 55 Union Avenue, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Gables Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proudly voted 'Best of the Saratoga Region' for the past six years in a row. Beautifully preserved, romantic hidden gem of the past from the Victorian era with modern comforts of gas fireplaces, heated outdoor swimming pool, complimentary wireless internet, high definition cable television on 43 inch flat screen televisions, and luxurious robes and amenities. Spacious guestrooms with king beds, hardwood floors, antiques and fireplaces. Guests at Union Gables enjoy a freshly prepared breakfast each morning, and complimentary wine, appetizers and cookies each evening. Enjoy the spacious front porch and one acre of gardens with sitting areas and fountains. Located two blocks from Congress Park, just an eight minute stroll to Downtown Saratoga Springs and one block to the Historic Saratoga Racecourse on Union Avenue. Some pet friendly rooms available, and Suites with kitchens, living rooms, and multiple bedrooms for longer term stays. Inquire about our sister property of Suites at the Alexander House for Track rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Union Gables Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Gables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing