We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B, first time here, more than likely will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Union Gables Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
325 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great B&B, first time here, more than likely will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at Union Gables. The few staff we met were very hospitable and warm. From check-in to check-out we enjoyed the inn. At night there are wine and cookies (two of my favorites), also there is coffee/tea 24 hours in the main house. The breakfasts we have both days were amazing. All the food is fresh and there are many options to choose from. We enjoyed playing pool and other games there were available.
We stayed in the Library Room which is in the pool area, not connected to the inn. It is a very short walk, but if you are looking for privacy this is definitely it! The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was completely separate from the living/sleeping space (it was up a few stairs and towards the left).
The only somewhat negative thing we had to say about this trip was that when we originally booked it we had a Bed & Breakfast gift certificate and upon check-in we were told that they no longer particpate or have an account with them so we were unable to use our gift certificate for our stay. This was very disappointing as no one todl us before check-in that we couldn't use the certificate even though I previously called and asked before booking.

Room Tip: We chose the Library Room, it was excellent. There were two big easy chairs with ottomans for watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara W, Manager at Union Gables Mansion Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Amanda,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Union Gables for your anniversary. I enjoyed talking to you and your husband about both of your families. We apologize for the miscommunication regarding the Bed & Breakfast gift certificate. We have notified all staff that we are no longer participants of Bed & Breakfast gift certificates so that this will not happen in the future. Finally, I hope when you return you bring your son so that he can enjoy Saratoga as well. Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    25
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
178
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We've stayed in quite a few B&Bs over the years and everything at Union Gables was above and beyond any of the others. For starters, the house and the interior decor are spectacular - the decor is warm and perfectly in period (Victoriam) without being overdone. The multitude of beautiful Tiffany-style lamps is particularly nice. The room was spacious and beautifully furnished; a sleigh bed with upholstered leather headboard and a soft and comfy chaise in front of the fireplace were two of my favorites but all the antique pieces were lovely. Many B&Bs with period rooms have modern bathrooms, which spoils the ilusion of stepping back in time, but here the antique sideboard made a gorgeous vanity and carried the period feel into the bathroom. Breakfast is delicious and the many choices (eggs, hot or cold cereal, french toast, pancakes, and more) are cooked to order. There are several comfortable seating areas as well as a pool table on the main floor and a deep front porch. We were there in the winter but the pool area looks great - hoping to return in warm weather to enjoy that. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Just a few blocks from the main drag where restaurants/bars/shops abound. We would go back in a second and reccomend it highly!

Room Tip: Every room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hook, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Beautifully appointed and staffed by the nicest people. We loved our overnight at the Union Gables. A fantastic breakfast rounded out our stay. We are thinking we will come back every February and try out a different room each time. We had a great time gabbing with Jane and felt like royalty since we were the only guests that night. 24 hour hot beverages, wine and cookies in the evening. Can't beat it.

Room Tip: They all looked beautiful. I expect that the front rooms would be noisy in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was our first time staying at Union Gables and it is now my favorite B&B of the 8 B&Bs I've ever stayed at. We stayed in the lovely, spacious and pet-friendly Library Room which was perfect with king-size bed, hot tub and sitting area for 2 with tv. Hot beverages available throughout the day in the inn, wine and homemade cookies in evening and delicious breakfast in morning full of options. Jane suggested a great Italian restaurant our first night and she also called in our take-out order, which was especially helpful since we needed to stay in with our dog who was recuperating from last-minute surgery. Jane also helped us plan how to spend our day out and about. We snowshoed at Saratoga Spa State Park which would also have been a great place to walk our dog if she was well enough. We definitely want to return to Union Gables. Maybe we'll try cross-country skiing next time or even return in warmer months to take advantage of their swimming pool and other activities in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purdys, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I purchased a 2 night stay as a Christmas gift for me and my boyfriend. (We ended up staying for 3 nights, we loved it so much). I did a LOT of research to find the perfect place and Union Gables was IT!! The service was top notch and personal from booking the reservation to hugging the innkeepers when we left. The breakfasts were tasty and fresh. The innkeepers were extremely knowledgeable of the Saratoga area. The inn and the rooms were beautifully decorated and cleaned impeccably. We loved Union Gables and Saratoga and am already planning a return trip during racing season.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My now-fiancee and I stayed one night at Union Gables on 27 December in the Linda room. I spent many nights in secret trying to find the best place for the two of us to go after getting engaged and I am so happy I stumbled across Union Gables on TripAdvisor after going through so many others in the Saratoga region and elsewhere near Albany and Schenectady. It is a beautiful B&B; we were both taken by the building even as we approached for the first time in the car. The reception and dining areas are amazing, including a full sized pool table and a number of very interesting furnishings. In the evenings, you'll find free wine and cookies there for guests. The Linda room, situated in the building's turret, was excellent -- not massive but very spacious (much more so than the photos suggest, in my opinion), with an absolutely gorgeous, comfortable bed and other furnishings, including a working fireplace. It was very quiet in the evening and we felt very comfortable and taken care of throughout. The hosts were wonderful as well, immediately giving us loads of useful information about things to do in the area and helping us into our room. Breakfast was amazing the next morning -- many choices and excellent coffee and tea. Finally, the location is excellent: a 5 minute walk through the park gets you to the main street running through Saratoga, including a number of excellent bars and restaurants. Tom (one of the owners) very helpfully guided us through a tourist map to help us decide where to eat and drink in the evening (Wheatfields and Druthers were both excellent).

A couple of very, very small negatives despite my very high rating: the wi-fi was not great in the room, at least at first. We both found it easier to get a signal in the upper reception area just outside of our room and then go back inside, but later in the evening it seemed easier. This may also have been an issue with our phones. I also had a lot of trouble paying with a non-US bank debit card and ended up paying in cash instead. Ultimately not a major issue, but it caused some hassle as our systems didn't seem to work well together despite typically having hardly any issues with the card elsewhere in the US.

Nevertheless we would highly recommend Union Gables as one of the best places to stay in the Capital Region -- an excellent choice especially for anyone looking for a romantic weekend getaway!

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed excellent, though each has a very different feel from the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Union Gables on January 4th for one night (My birthday!!). We honestly had the best time here. (We typically spend my birthday in Saratoga at the Hilton-also lovely, but decided to change it up this year and so glad we did.) The B&B is just beautiful and has so much charm. It was decorated for the holidays, which made it even cozier...We stayed in the "TOM" room and it was just as the pictures from the website described. (Some may want to note- this is an old victorian home- there are stairs to climb and you could hear things going on in the hallway, neither of which bothered us in the least! Overall, the rooms were quiet and warm!)The room faced Union Ave. so it had a great view. The bed was so comfortable and the sheets were the softest ever! The location of the B&B is great, too. It was a quick 3 block walk to town! Jane met us uopn check in and was very helpful and friendly. Perhaps the best thing about our stay---the Breakfast! There was a continental spread as well as the option to order off a menu-and the chef would accomodate just about anything you wanted. It was so yummy! I thought the value for what we paid for a night at the B&B was well worth it! I hope to continue the tradition every year!

Room Tip: We had the chance to peek into some other rooms. The Cindy would be a nice option for a family as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Gables Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Gables Mansion Inn

Property: Union Gables Mansion Inn
Address: 55 Union Avenue, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Gables Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proudly voted 'Best of the Saratoga Region' for the past six years in a row. Beautifully preserved, romantic hidden gem of the past from the Victorian era with modern comforts of gas fireplaces, heated outdoor swimming pool, complimentary wireless internet, high definition cable television on 43 inch flat screen televisions, and luxurious robes and amenities. Spacious guestrooms with king beds, hardwood floors, antiques and fireplaces. Guests at Union Gables enjoy a freshly prepared breakfast each morning, and complimentary wine, appetizers and cookies each evening. Enjoy the spacious front porch and one acre of gardens with sitting areas and fountains. Located two blocks from Congress Park, just an eight minute stroll to Downtown Saratoga Springs and one block to the Historic Saratoga Racecourse on Union Avenue. Some pet friendly rooms available, and Suites with kitchens, living rooms, and multiple bedrooms for longer term stays. Inquire about our sister property of Suites at the Alexander House for Track rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Union Gables Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Gables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing