We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch buffet just ok”

Karavalli - Regional Cuisine of India
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lunch buffet just ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I think it might be new owners. The lunch buffet is set in a food service display not so bad but choices are fewer. The new people are friendly, not bad but not wowed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodtogo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    40
    9
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watervliet, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Excellent Indian food buffet. One squabble: takes forever to get your check. Is it a cultural thing?

Helpful?
Thank m j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna, New York
2 reviews
“Incredible Food! Extremely Attentive Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This was my first trip here. My boyfriend brought me after their work group found the restaurant a couple weeks ago. We were greeted immediately, and the entire staff was so accomodating. The food was perfect, the most tender lamb, atmosphere warm, and perfect for a romantic dinner. I will go back, and would refer anyone who likes Indian food and a perfect date dinner, to go.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unfriendly service ... food lacked heat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

After entering the restaurant we stood, waiting to be seated. Several minutes passed while employees walked past, each barely acknowledging us even though there were plenty of empty tables. When an employee finally took notice we were ushered to a table - no smiles, no welcome - just menus and a question "What would you like to drink?

The menu offered a modestly different range of Indian food so we ordered some vegetable gobi for an appetizer and chicken endwallah (sp?) and a vegetable curry dish. We like highly spiced Indian food and the server assured us the food would be so. It wasn't. The vegetable gobi had some "kick" so we were encouraged but the chicken was bland and the vegetable curry had a pleasant sweetness but no bite. Overall, The employees were not friendly or helpful and the food was mediocre. We were disappointed and would not recommend this restaurant to friends.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank northwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerstown, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vegetarian Dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Best Indian food! Masala Dosa for an appetiser is enough on its own, however it didn't stop us from each finishing one of them and then finishing our main courses, including stuffed breads, plus desserts! Fantastic!! We are vegetarian, so were very happy with the food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yogarunner59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karavalli - Regional Cuisine of India also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Karavalli - Regional Cuisine of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing