We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenfield Center, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

I needed a "mom needs to get away before she goes insane" time away. I booked 2 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn in Saratoga Springs. It was very nice. I got a standard king room. It had lovely furnishings and came with a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, ironing board, toiletries, nice desk with an ergonomic chair, a nice over sized upholstered chair and an ottoman. Not bad for "standard". It was nicer than some "Deluxe" rooms I've had at other places.
I didn't use any of the facilities while I was there but there's an indoor pool, a small "Oh, I forgot....store", a diningroom, a gorgeous fireplace with plenty of comfy chairs in the lobby and complimentary coffee/tea. I believe there's a gym too. There are even coin op, or send out laundry options.
What struck me most is the fact that my room (as well as the lobby and hallways) were IMMACULATE. There was not speck one of dust anywhere. The bathroom was so clean it was almost blinding (and the water pressure was AWESOME and there were PLENTY of fluffy towels)
My dealings with staff was pleasureable. They are very friendly and more than accomodating. Anything I needed, not that I needed much, was provided quickly and with a smile. The only complaint I have......like most Hotels, the walls are awfully thin. I was there in off season with minor rennovations taking place and it was mildly disturbing. I'm not sure how it would be during vacation season.
Price was decent, I got my room for $109 nightly....total for 2 nights including taxes was $246.34. Not too bad considering that some less than stellar Motels in the area were charging quite a bit more for far less. All in all, well worth it.....after all, who can put a price on your sanity? LOL

  • Liked — Spotessly clean
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DevilWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    189
    93
    33
    21
See reviews for
155
181
33
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2008

My wife and I stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend 2007. We had stayed in Hilton Garden Inns before, and always enjoyed them, so we thought that this would be a good choice. For the most part it was. My only complaint is that we did wait a while to check in. We had arrived at about the same time as a big group of guests in town for a wedding, but the staff did its best trying to process everyone through.

The hotel is a bit of a walk to downtown, but is not a problem if you like walking. Like others, we did find the breakfast prices to be expensive, so we opted to have breakfast one morning at the nearby Saratoga Diner, which was fast, freindly and reasonable. With so many little eateries in downtown, there are a lot of other options for breakfast.

The pool facility is relatively small, but in scale with the size of the property.

  • Liked — Great location between downtown and the state park.
  • Disliked — Wait at check-in
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskyhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2008

I was attending a youth event nearby and needed somewhere close by to stay. The inn is about a mile away from downtown Saratoga Springs where most of the attractions are so if you'd need to walk a ways or drive and find somewhere to park.

The room was comfortable although it was on the first floor and near the pool so the hallway and the room smelled like chlorine a bit.

There is a restaurant next store but it was closed but I'm not sure if that was because it was winter.

Also, the breakfast costs about $10 extra so I'd recommend eating elsewhere in Saratoga Springs.

Overall, a nice stay and OK for the price.

  • Liked — price, location
  • Disliked — walking distance from restaurants
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 0RyGuy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
454 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2007

I have stayed at this property twice on business. I really enjoy Saratoga and it is a fun little place to visit. One reviewer called Saratoga "European" and I would have to agree. You are usually going to pay a premium for rooms in Saratoga, especially during race season. There may be better places to stay, but I have found this property to be consistent. I have not experienced any problems with the staff, they have always been helpful and polite. I will admit that this location does not have the "feel" of other HGI's that I have stayed in. The room I was in was the type requested, was clean, and comfortable. I enjoy HGI's workstation when I am on the road, especially the remote printing feature they have. I would recommend this location without hesitation BUT, if you are traveling to Saratoga on vacation there may be nicer, or more romantic options.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn over the weekend of 6-8 October. When we arrived on Saturday afternoon, we were told that they could not honor our reservation for a king size, non-smoking room. The clerk did not tell us this and gave us a smoking room that smelled like a cigarette convention had just been in town. We immediatly went to the front desk and were told that the non-smoking king rooms had been given away earlier.
We ended up with a non-smoking room with two double beds, only after repeated trips to the front desk and calling the Hilton guest services phone number. While I was standing in line waiting to discuss my displeasure with the hotel staff, I found that many other guests were not given rooms that they reserved. I requested to talk to the manager, and was told that he would call me, but I never heard from him.
The hotel is poorly maintained. There was mold in the shower, the carpets were stained, and the room smelled like mildew. The staff seemed very surly and unconcerned with customer satisfaction. The Hilton company would be be served by removing their name from this property.
As a note to parents, the adult entertainment films on our TV were being shown without being ordered through the PPV system. The adult video blocker function did not work. I don't have kids but still found it a bit odd that pornographic movies were that easily accessible.
There is no notice from the hotel that they do not honor the reservations made through the Hilton reservations phone number. It seems this hotel pulls a bait and switch type scam which is unusual from the Hilton chain. I expected much better and have found most Hilton Garden Inns to be great hotels. If I ever pass through Saratoga Springs again, I will certainly not stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — It was close to the wedding I was in Saratoga Springs to attend
  • Disliked — The bait and switch tactics of the hotel staff to put us in a room we did not reserve.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Saratoga Springs this weekend for a wedding at the nearby Gideon Putnam resort. We picked it based on reviews from TripAdvisor, as the couple had wedding blocks at both locations. The hotel is nicely located close to the cute "downtown," but it not walking distance. It's a cute little property, and seems relatively new, so no complaints about that.

The problems were almost entirely related to the service. 1) We had reserved a King, Non-smoking room, and after checking in on Saturday night, discovered they'd put us in a double, smoking room. The double bed we could deal with, but the smoking part was not acceptable, as my boyfriend is asthmatic, and the cleaners they use to try to cover up the smoke smell affected both our sinuses. Upon calling the front desk, they said they were full, and that even though we'd booked our room two months previous, they give out the rooms on a first-come-first serve basis. The desk staff told us the manager wouldn't be back until Monday, and they said they couldn't get us a different room (and we'd driven up with another couple, so we didn't have car or the option to go to another hotel), so they offered us free breakfast during our stay. We didn't feel that was sufficient, so my boyfriend called the Hilton Honors 1-800 number to try to get a better resolution, since we were stuck in that room. Ultimately, we got one night free in addition to the comped breakfast. We felt better about that.

The room was fine--a bit cramped, but sufficient, other than the combination of smoke and industrial cleaner in the air. And free high-speed internet is always appreciated.

Problem 2) came on Sunday, when we returned from window shopping downtown to find that our room had only been half-cleaned--the bed was made, but there were no clean towels (just the same damp ones we'd used that morning, even though we'd left them on the floor like the sign asked if you wanted clean ones), and they hadn't even emptied the trash. As we were on our way to the wedding at that point, it wasn't worth saying anything.

Problem 3) was Monday morning, when I woke up to find our "bill" slipped under the door...charging us $165/night for BOTH nights, when the block rate was about $40 less, and we were supposed to be getting one night free. It was resolved easily enough, but it wasted our time, and never should have happened. Our friends had beers charged to their room that they never drank, so with all the mistakes, we felt like the place just didn't have its act together.

Problem 4) was related to breakfast. It's basically an expanded continental breakfast with the addition of an eggs/omelet/french toast option. For $10/person. The food was fine, and I enjoyed my Western omelet, but generally prefer the complimentary coffee and continental breakfast in hotels when it's not going to be more upscale (which this was not). As I said, the food was fine, if not impressive, but there wasn't enough staff. It took 20 minutes to pay for our friends' breakfast!

Overall, I'd give this experience a C-. The rooms are perfectly fine, but it was everything else that was subpar. And advice to anyone else traveling on a busy holiday weekend--if you're going to arrive after 5 p.m., I'd call ahead to make sure you don't have a similar experience to ours, getting stuck with the last room, even when it doesn't gel with your reservation!! If we make it back to Saratoga Springs someday, we'll look into staying at one of the cute B&Bs we saw in the area.

  • Disliked — Lots of service mistakes
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2007

Called into Saratoga Springs at the start of October for a look around and we were impressed enough to stay the night (despite being midweek and offseason).

The town was beautiful, there was a really nice, upmarket feel about it. The warm weather probably helped, in that there were plenty of diners on the street even at 9pm, and I have to say it made an impression on me. It felt more European than your normal American town.

We checked a few places to stay and the Hilton gave us the best walk-in deal by a long shot. I suppose that given its location (the guts of a mile from downtown) it probably has to work harder than others for guests at this time of year, but that's no bad thing.

The hotel was very clean, the porters were very helpful, the bedrooms were reasonably modern and the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Liked — The town it is in
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyMcNamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Address: 125 South Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly-renovated Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs hotel in the beautiful historic town of Saratoga Springs, New York. This Saratoga Springs hotel is ideally located one mile from Downtown Saratoga Springs, Saratoga Race Course, Saratoga Gaming & Raceway and Saratoga Spa State Park, home to Saratoga Performing Arts Center (SPAC). Business travelers to upstate New York will also appreciate the close proximity to GlobalFoundries and many other Fortune 500 companies as well as the quick 30-minute drive to Albany International Airport. The brand-new lobby is highlighted by modern décor, cozy lounge seating with a fireplace, and the Great American Grill Restaurant where you will be able to enjoy a delicious menu for breakfast and dinner. The spacious guest rooms feature 32” flat-screen TVs with premium cable, free WiFi, and an in-room mini-fridge and microwave. Guest love to maintain their active lifestyle at the 24-hour fitness center, or they can take a relaxing swim in the heated indoor pool. The Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs offers modern amenities and an ideal location to make it one of the best Saratoga Springs hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs Hotel Saratoga Springs
Hilton Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing