We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre Rating is Well Deserved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hartford
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Mediocre Rating is Well Deserved”
Reviewed 13 September 2008

It's the little things that count, isn't it? Like having an automatic door opener for the front door which was missing at this property. It wasn't the only thing missing - poor service from the front desk staff was another. The shower and sink did not drain well. Thank goodness for points programs as this Garden Inn was not like others where I have stayed. The room was clean and large but not worth the price. There have to be better alternatives in Saratoga Springs!

  • Liked — the room was large and clean
  • Disliked — the shower and sink did not work well
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gparch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    188
    93
    33
    20
See reviews for
154
181
33
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

My daughter and I were on a whirlwind college tour during April vacation and booked this hotel for one of the nights on our trip. Overall, our experience was a good one, however, there were two issues. 1. The road in the front of the hotel was under construction though it didn't cause too many issues getting into and out of the driveway. 2. Due to the construction, the hotel was under a "boil water" alert for 3 days!
Luckily, we were only staying overnight so decided to just deal with it...you could use the water for showers and the staff had put bottled water in the room, but it was a little disconcerting. The room was very nice and a good size. The breakfast buffet was very nice. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — The hotel was new and nicely designed. Breakfast was quite comprehensive.
  • Disliked — That there were problems with the water at the time.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OverPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield Center, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2008

I needed a "mom needs to get away before she goes insane" time away. I booked 2 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn in Saratoga Springs. It was very nice. I got a standard king room. It had lovely furnishings and came with a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, ironing board, toiletries, nice desk with an ergonomic chair, a nice over sized upholstered chair and an ottoman. Not bad for "standard". It was nicer than some "Deluxe" rooms I've had at other places.
I didn't use any of the facilities while I was there but there's an indoor pool, a small "Oh, I forgot....store", a diningroom, a gorgeous fireplace with plenty of comfy chairs in the lobby and complimentary coffee/tea. I believe there's a gym too. There are even coin op, or send out laundry options.
What struck me most is the fact that my room (as well as the lobby and hallways) were IMMACULATE. There was not speck one of dust anywhere. The bathroom was so clean it was almost blinding (and the water pressure was AWESOME and there were PLENTY of fluffy towels)
My dealings with staff was pleasureable. They are very friendly and more than accomodating. Anything I needed, not that I needed much, was provided quickly and with a smile. The only complaint I have......like most Hotels, the walls are awfully thin. I was there in off season with minor rennovations taking place and it was mildly disturbing. I'm not sure how it would be during vacation season.
Price was decent, I got my room for $109 nightly....total for 2 nights including taxes was $246.34. Not too bad considering that some less than stellar Motels in the area were charging quite a bit more for far less. All in all, well worth it.....after all, who can put a price on your sanity? LOL

  • Liked — Spotessly clean
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DevilWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

My wife and I stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend 2007. We had stayed in Hilton Garden Inns before, and always enjoyed them, so we thought that this would be a good choice. For the most part it was. My only complaint is that we did wait a while to check in. We had arrived at about the same time as a big group of guests in town for a wedding, but the staff did its best trying to process everyone through.

The hotel is a bit of a walk to downtown, but is not a problem if you like walking. Like others, we did find the breakfast prices to be expensive, so we opted to have breakfast one morning at the nearby Saratoga Diner, which was fast, freindly and reasonable. With so many little eateries in downtown, there are a lot of other options for breakfast.

The pool facility is relatively small, but in scale with the size of the property.

  • Liked — Great location between downtown and the state park.
  • Disliked — Wait at check-in
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskyhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2008

I was attending a youth event nearby and needed somewhere close by to stay. The inn is about a mile away from downtown Saratoga Springs where most of the attractions are so if you'd need to walk a ways or drive and find somewhere to park.

The room was comfortable although it was on the first floor and near the pool so the hallway and the room smelled like chlorine a bit.

There is a restaurant next store but it was closed but I'm not sure if that was because it was winter.

Also, the breakfast costs about $10 extra so I'd recommend eating elsewhere in Saratoga Springs.

Overall, a nice stay and OK for the price.

  • Liked — price, location
  • Disliked — walking distance from restaurants
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 0RyGuy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
454 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

I have stayed at this property twice on business. I really enjoy Saratoga and it is a fun little place to visit. One reviewer called Saratoga "European" and I would have to agree. You are usually going to pay a premium for rooms in Saratoga, especially during race season. There may be better places to stay, but I have found this property to be consistent. I have not experienced any problems with the staff, they have always been helpful and polite. I will admit that this location does not have the "feel" of other HGI's that I have stayed in. The room I was in was the type requested, was clean, and comfortable. I enjoy HGI's workstation when I am on the road, especially the remote printing feature they have. I would recommend this location without hesitation BUT, if you are traveling to Saratoga on vacation there may be nicer, or more romantic options.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn over the weekend of 6-8 October. When we arrived on Saturday afternoon, we were told that they could not honor our reservation for a king size, non-smoking room. The clerk did not tell us this and gave us a smoking room that smelled like a cigarette convention had just been in town. We immediatly went to the front desk and were told that the non-smoking king rooms had been given away earlier.
We ended up with a non-smoking room with two double beds, only after repeated trips to the front desk and calling the Hilton guest services phone number. While I was standing in line waiting to discuss my displeasure with the hotel staff, I found that many other guests were not given rooms that they reserved. I requested to talk to the manager, and was told that he would call me, but I never heard from him.
The hotel is poorly maintained. There was mold in the shower, the carpets were stained, and the room smelled like mildew. The staff seemed very surly and unconcerned with customer satisfaction. The Hilton company would be be served by removing their name from this property.
As a note to parents, the adult entertainment films on our TV were being shown without being ordered through the PPV system. The adult video blocker function did not work. I don't have kids but still found it a bit odd that pornographic movies were that easily accessible.
There is no notice from the hotel that they do not honor the reservations made through the Hilton reservations phone number. It seems this hotel pulls a bait and switch type scam which is unusual from the Hilton chain. I expected much better and have found most Hilton Garden Inns to be great hotels. If I ever pass through Saratoga Springs again, I will certainly not stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — It was close to the wedding I was in Saratoga Springs to attend
  • Disliked — The bait and switch tactics of the hotel staff to put us in a room we did not reserve.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
708 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Address: 125 South Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly-renovated Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs hotel in the beautiful historic town of Saratoga Springs, New York. This Saratoga Springs hotel is ideally located one mile from Downtown Saratoga Springs, Saratoga Race Course, Saratoga Gaming & Raceway and Saratoga Spa State Park, home to Saratoga Performing Arts Center (SPAC). Business travelers to upstate New York will also appreciate the close proximity to GlobalFoundries and many other Fortune 500 companies as well as the quick 30-minute drive to Albany International Airport. The brand-new lobby is highlighted by modern décor, cozy lounge seating with a fireplace, and the Great American Grill Restaurant where you will be able to enjoy a delicious menu for breakfast and dinner. The spacious guest rooms feature 32” flat-screen TVs with premium cable, free WiFi, and an in-room mini-fridge and microwave. Guest love to maintain their active lifestyle at the 24-hour fitness center, or they can take a relaxing swim in the heated indoor pool. The Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs offers modern amenities and an ideal location to make it one of the best Saratoga Springs hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs Hotel Saratoga Springs
Hilton Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing