We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant overnight experience”
Review of The Gideon Putnam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gideon Putnam
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very pleasant overnight experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I recently took some family members to a concert at the Saratoga Performing Arts Center and decided to make an overnight of it by staying at this hotel, which is a very short walk from the amphitheater. The hotel is a beautiful old building. The room that we stayed in was clean and comfortable. The bathroom appeared to be quite new, with the fixtures keeping in style with the style of the building. Since it was mid-week in the month of June, the hotel was not particularly crowded. The staff was readily available and accommodating. We ate two meals at the restaurant, which were well priced, with pleasant, friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your comments on our hotel. We greatly appreciate your appreciation for our building and location. The historic aspect of the hotel is something we are very proud of, as well as the area surrounding the grounds. I am very happy to hear that our staff was satisfactory. We are constantly working to make sure that the needs of our guests are met. We hope to see you again for another enjoyable experience at the Gideon Putnam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    360
    154
    96
    72
See reviews for
218
481
37
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was sixth hotel I stayed at during my honeymoon-roadtrip, and overall it was very nice but a little outdated.

Presentation (3/5)
The gideon putnam was a beautiful old building, however it hasn't been updated enough to be on the same playing field as many other modern hotels. The lights in our bathroom were flickering while showering, and most everything in the hotel just felt a bit old.

Service (3/5)
All of the staff at the Gideon Putnam was friendly and helpful. That being said no one went out of their way to help us, as soon as we checked in the concierge checked out- and apart from that the hotel seemed a bit abandoned.

Room Service/Dining (3/5)
We only ordered breakfast, and it was OK but not great. Their menu was decent but we wished there was a little more variety. It was a little pricey considering the quality. It also took a little longer than we hoped to deliver it up to the room.

Location (4/5)
Saratoga is beautiful and the gideon is located right in the spa/park, just a couple minutes from downtown. You can't really walk everywhere in Saratoga, but the hotel is still relatively close.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendanMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great location in the middle of the Saratoga state park, but the hotel itself is in awful condition. Very small rooms, uncomfortable beds, tiny bathrooms with no room to even store your toiletries, Air conditioning barely functions, mediocre food.

The staff was somewhat friendly but that far from made up for a hotel that needs a complete renovation. For the prices they charge I would suggest staying at the hilton in downtown Saratoga. That property is less expensive and MUCH nicer. If you like the kitch of an independent property there are plenty others to choose from that are in much better condition.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matteaucubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and the hotel served its purpose. The hotel is old and needs to be updated. We were out most of the time and after cooling off at the pool (few minutes walk away from hotel) we wanted to catch evening news but television was terrible - analog stations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurferBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for your honest review. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at the Gideon Putnam. We are working on getting HDTV into the rooms in the next couple of months so hopefully this will solve the viewing problem in the future. I will share your notes with our team immediately, anything that will ensure guest satisfaction is a top priority. Again, I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay, but we hope to see you again soon to show off all of our adjustments in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is beautiful. But could use some updating. The staff was very nice. The best part of this trip was the Spa, it was also very old but in a good way. The staff was very attentive and the massage therapist I got gave me a heavenly massage. The rooms are small but clean, our shower backed up and they never fixed it despite asking them two days in a row, they finally just moved us to a new room. The restaurant in the hotel is not very good for dinner, but ok for breakfast. Downtown Saratoga Springs is about a 15 min drive from this hotel. There was never street parking so we had to park in the lots and pay $2.00 for two hours. Overall this is a beautiful area and we had a good time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jchollet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had a pleasant experience at the spa. We apologize for the shower backup but are happy to hear it was resolved. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We and our friends dine out at a different Albany area restaurant each month and have been doing so for over 2 years now. All four of us had looked forward to dining at Putnam's and seeing the hotel. It didn't take long to find out that this would be an off night. Our reservation had been for 6:30 pm but we arrived a half hour early, as usual, to have a drink at the bar. There wasn't a seat at the bar and the hostess said our table was ready anyway and we could have drinks there. Our server had a great personality and did her best to make a bad experience tolerable but that had to be a challenge. Our initial drink order took over 20 minutes to arrive. At the 10 minute mark our server apologized for the delay for the delay stating that things were backed up. Dining companions each had a salad that they loved. Each of us ordered the $35 fillet for dinner. Two dinners came out hot while two others were cold. Back they went. Out came the 2 fillet's. One was acceptable while my wife couldn't eat hers. The cut was strange little piece of meat and it tasted bad. The server was very sympathetic and did take care of some items on the bill. Dining buddies paid the bill this month so we didn't see the final check but they did say they would never dine here again. The menu was quite strange here too come to think of it with an expensive hamburger, club sandwhich, pork belly along with fish & filet. Prime rib was offered as a special but they ran out before we got the chance to order. There were just so many things wrong with this place I don't know where to end this. Oh, and we were given a comment card that had no postage on it. We did send it today with our stamp. For an expensive resort and restaurant they had better get their act together.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 14alnjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica , NY
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Staff was very helpful and nice. First time in this old place but it was really great. The grounds are nice. The rooms are tiny smaller than even NYC style, but that was my room type I guess. Window had screen that didn't fit in at all. Restaurant was good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDubya66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your kind review of our staff, and are happy that we could be accommodating. Thank you for the additional comments regarding our rooms. I will share these observations with our team. We hope that you will be joining us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
587 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#15 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
416 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#5 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#10 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gideon Putnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Property: The Gideon Putnam
Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Rd, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6218 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing