We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Gideon Putnam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gideon Putnam
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orient, New York, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We loved our trip to Saratoga Springs and our stay at the Gideon Putnam. The hotel is in a great location on the grounds of the state park. It was beautiful and peaceful, and yet were close enough to everything that we could walk to many activities. The hotel is older and has charming character. The staff went out of their way to help us and make us feel welcome. I would definately choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our lovely location and many of the wonderful activities it has to offer. The historic aspect of our hotel is something we are very proud of, and we are appreciative of your kind remarks in regards to our building and our team at the Gideon Putnam. I hope to see you again soon for another great stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    360
    154
    96
    72
See reviews for
218
481
37
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Hotel is charming (a bit over priced)..but I would like to warn anyone going that the pool they adverstise - although a short walk away - is a public pool in the state park that is open to the general publc for a fee.

It's a gorgous pool, however you can't guarentee a chair unless you arrive when they first open or bring your own,

We learned the hard way and had to lay on concrete with our towels. There is no preference to guests of the Gidoen and the woman at the front desk of the hotel where pretty unhelpful. although the did give us extra towels.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your honest review. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at the Gideon Putnam Hotel. We appreciate your comments, and I will be sure to bring them to our team immediately. We work for complete guest satisfaction, and we will use your comments to help improve. Again, I am sorry for the inconveniences you faced, but I hope you will return to the hotel in the future to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Springs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

During July 2012, the Council of New York State Special Education Administrators (CNYSEA) held its 10 Annual Summer Institute at the Gideon Putnam Resort. This was our first experience in conducting a conference there and the Executive Board and conference participants were so pleased with the venue and the excellent staff that serviced our group that we booked the Gideon Putnam for next summer’s institute. This charming and beautiful resort is situated on the grounds of Saratoga Springs State Park so it provided a wonderful atmosphere for learning as well as relaxation.
From booking the event to the conclusion of our institute, the staff bent over backwards to accommodate our group. In fact the Sales Manager came in on Sunday on her day off to make sure that everything went smoothly for our group. The Conference Planner and Banquet Manger made excellent suggestions to us from arranging our registration and vendor tables to tailoring the setups in the conference rooms.
The banquet food was absolutely delicious. The chef has his own garden on the grounds of the resort and he is a strong believer in serving organic food. He was also very sensitive to those participants who had a gluten allergy so he made certain that his sauces were gluten free. Participants had the opportunity to sit outside on the patio for lunch as well as indoors. This was also another nice touch as the institute was jam packed with courses from early morning to late afternoon. Following the day’s events participants were able to enjoy the wonderful spas, museums, shops and restaurants in Saratoga Springs or relax at the hotel and have dinner in the restaurant.
The feedback from the evaluations about the Gideon was excellent. Ninety-nine percent of the participants rated the hotel and amenities “5 out of 5.” We would highly recommend the Gideon to anyone who wishes to spend quality time in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryannalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Gideon was suggested to us by someone who had stayed at the hotel in the past.

We found the hotel to be very charming, and its setting in the park is really just perfect for a peaceful get away.

Everyone we dealt with was beyond polite and helpful. That includes: the registration desk, the bell hops, the doormen, the room attendant (she interrupted what she was doing to make up our room while we went to brunch), the staff in the dining rooms (both at the Putman, and by the pool), the shuttle driver.

The attitude and attentiveness of everyone we dealt with created a very pleasant atmosphere, and made our stay very enjoyable. I'm sure we will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCFNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel’s scenic location, and that our service was satisfactory. It is our mission at the Gideon Putnam to meet the needs of every guest. We hope to see you again soon for another great stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We attended a wedding here and this was our first stay in the Saratoga Springs area. The resort is inside the State park so we had plenty of walking trails and beautiful scenery. The pool is spectacular and the hotel is very clean and well appointed. The staff is very friendly, professional and went out of their way to meet our needs. The king deluxe room was rather small so I would definitely reserve a suite in the future. Breakfast buffet is one of the best we have ever experienced and the bar atmosphere lively. We thought it would be a fabulous place for business conferences and the wedding/reception were outstanding!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 350shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your honest review. Our team at the Gideon Putnam appreciates your positive comments regarding our service. We aim to meet the needs of every guest for one hundred percent satisfaction. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our scenic location and many of the wonderful services our hotel has to offer. Please come again soon for another great stay at the Gideon Putnam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Staying at the Gideon Putnam Hotel was like a journey back to a better time. The service was impeccable, the room was spotless, and the old-fashioned charm of the place was unlike any hotel I've stayed at in a long time. The grounds were beautiful and I hope to be able to stay here again some time. (I was able to do so because you had a great wedding rate...I'd love to be able to afford to come back some day!) AND The valet/shuttle drivers were very friendly and helpful, and able to pick us up wherever we needed it. This is an added bonus for staying here as opposed to other hotels in Saratoga.

If you are looking for more detail...
The whole feel of the hotel is classic and old-fashioned/charming. I liked it because of this, but don't expect your typical Holiday Inn style room/bathroom. Yes, the double-double room and bathroom were smaller than, say, your typical American hotel. I liked it better because it was unique, though.
Despite its age, the room was impeccable and very clean. I am VERY picky about hotel cleanliness, and I was completely happy with the state of the room and the housekeeping.
There are also great soaps, shampoos, etc., from the adjacent spa.
I took a walk around the grounds to get to a spa appointment and felt like I was on a retreat...they are quiet, well kept, and beautiful.
I found the shuttle to be reliable and in fact, the drivers to bend over backward for us. We were the only two early Saturday morning to want a ride to the racetrack and they gladly accommodated us (and our chairs and coolers) even though it was before the shuttle started running. We also took it into the downtown area on our way out to dinner and got recommendations for places to eat, things to do, and suggestions for cab companies in case we got home too late for the shuttle to pick us up (it stops at 11 pm). In fact, we called the shuttle after dinner and it picked us up promptly.
The reason I put three stars for value is that it is a bit expensive to stay (although all hotels in Saratoga are during racing season)...I lucked out and got the wedding rate (wedding was on the grounds and was absolutely fabulous....check out the Hall of Springs!!!). I'm hoping to get a deal somehow the next time I go to Saratoga so I can stay here again.

Room Tip: To explain my sleep quality rating, the room my boyfriend and I stayed in had two double beds that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzo1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make these comments about our hotel. I am extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed our historic building and location. Our team at the Gideon Putnam strives for complete guest satisfaction, so it is wonderful to hear that all of your needs were taken care of. We hope to see you again for another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Poorly managed hotel. Beautiful grounds and building but HORRIBLE customer service! And do not depend on the shuttle- it will keep you waiting for 2 hrs!!
Plus rooms are so small!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hkrd20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you very much for your honest review. We are happy that you enjoyed our beautiful location and historic building. I am sorry that you faced difficulties during your stay. Customer satisfaction is a top priority at the Gideon Putnam. I will bring your comments to our team immediately. Again I am sorry, and I hope to see you at Gideon Putnam again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
587 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#15 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
416 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#5 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#10 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gideon Putnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Property: The Gideon Putnam
Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Rd, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6218 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing