We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Park”
Review of The Gideon Putnam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gideon Putnam
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We recently took a spur of the moment trip to Saratoga Springs and called the Gideon Putnam from our car 1/2 hour from Saratoga and were lucky enough to get a room during racing season!They gave us a beautiful delux King room with breakfast which was ready for us to check in at 12:30pm. We had alovely lunch on the outdoor terrace overlooking the park and a gourmet buffet breakfast the next day.We will definitley be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and service during your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

A grand old hotel sadly decaying. The lobby is beautiful, as is the setting within the state park that offers loads of activities especially during the season; however, the rooms haven't been upgrade in since Roosevelt. Uggghhhhhhh.....the bathrooms.
And all this for exhorbant rates. Yikes!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wendina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear you did not find the accommodations to your liking. We are always looking to make improvements while preserving the history of the hotel. We will take Your comments back to the team. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were sadly disappointed by the Gideon Putnam on many levels. The rooms were tiny and rundown. The halls had a musty smell. The food on the breakfast buffet was tasteless or freezer burned. This is a beautiful building in a wonderful location, but it needs to be redone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanibel_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your accommodations at our hotel. We are a historic site so we work to preserve the Property while constantly making updates and improvements to rooms. We hope you consider us again in the future and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We decided to stay at this grand old hotel during Travers weekend in Saratoga. The lobby looked great, and the staff were helpful. The room was shockingly bad. The door frame was full of dirt marks and even the walls were scuffed up to eye level. The worst part was the bath tub. There were large chunks of peeling plaster, with pieces larger than my hand, and dirt underneath. It had clearly simply been painted over many times and was in a complete state of disrepair. I took pictures ti prove it. We actually paid $440 a night for this small room which had not been maintained. Next time we'll be at the Hilton Garden Inn at half the price, which is at least clean. Disgusting experience.

Room Tip: Ask to see the bathroom before you agree to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaLeeLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you very much for your honest review. We are happy that you had a good experience with our staff as customer satisfaction is a top priority at the Gideon Putnam. We are always in the process of painting, repairing and updating rooms to make a more comfortable stay for our guests. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you are ever in the area and will take your comments back to the team. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

This was the 2nd year both myself and my wife stayed here for a getaway weekend. A bit pricey but honestly can't say anything bad about the place. From the front desk people both when we checked in to the night crew all were very friendly. Also the shuttle driver I believe his name was Aron was very entertaining and right on time when we called for a pick up late night in the city.Stayed both times during the Saratoga meet and this place is also a great place to stay to catch a rock concert. Bit disappointed the pool closed early we were looking for a midnight dip after the concert. Looking forward to next years weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikenyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff and received great service. Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for a second time for a weekend getaway with your wife. We hope to see you again soon and we truly appreciate your kind remarks in regards to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I always wanted to stay in the Gideon Putnam but I now wish I hadn't. The room that I had was clean and fresh but about the size of a nice medium walk-in closet. Bathroom about the size of a coat closet. It was adequate but way overpriced for adequate. The service is nice and friendly, dining very nice but the room was unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 355SeparateRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you received friendly service and that you enjoyed your dining experience. I am sorry you found your room size inadequate. We hope you consider us again in the future and perhaps try one of our suites for more room. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Gideon Putnam is the kind of place where the staff remembers your name. We last stayed there two years ago and as soon as we arrived, the bell hop welcomed us back by name and recalled that we were from Virginia. If service is important to you, then this is your place. The state park setting is gorgeous and a great place for bike riding and sampling the mineral spring water. The water is amazing and makes you feel healthy as do the treatments at the Spa. The mineral bath is almost a religious experience and so good for your skin. The rooms in the Putnam are spacious and the AC works very well. Breakfast at Putnam's is delicious, especially the flatbread. It is so convenient riding the shuttle to the track and into town. We hope to return every year during the racing season and would not want to stay anywhere else in Saratoga.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side (back) of the hotel. They seem more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mburghorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are always glad to hear that the people who visit our hotel have a memorable and enjoyable experience. We understand at the Gideon Putnam that our customers are our highest priority, and that we need to make each visitor feel important. We truly appreciate all your kind remarks in regards to our staff and the beauty that Saratoga Springs has to offer. We hope to see you again soon for another great stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
444 reviews
2 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
612 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#18 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,516 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#13 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gideon Putnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Rd, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6218 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: £76 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing