We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and Charm, Fantastic!”
Review of The Gideon Putnam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gideon Putnam
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful, lovely hotel. Old world charm and class. Upon entering the lobby, you are greeted with friendly and helpful staff, & a beautiful sitting area with overstuffed chairs and 2 fireplaces. We stayed in a king deluxe room. Our bed was comfortable, the room was immaculately clean and well appointed with in-room amenities. We had breakfast each morning in the on-premise restaurant. It was delicious and the service, again, was impeccable. We love this place! We were treated so well, we cannot wait to go back. Incidentally, there is so much to do in the area that two days was not enough.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tess1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are so glad to hear we left a positive and lasting impression. It is so true, there really is so much to do in Saratoga, and right here in the Saratoga Spa State Park. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Overall, nice stay - clean and comfortable room, two fireplaces in the lobby, restaurant on site. A couple of major issues that are not clear/easy for first time guests:

1. When making online reservation and spa services are selected, know that those are not guaranteed, must be booked directly with spa, and pricing is for 1 person even though multiple people on reservation. Don't worry about the day selected, it means nothing - call the spa directly. It's very confusing, and we almost missed out on spa services, which was the point of the trip.

2. The hotel is dog friendly, but when I called to confirm that we could bring a dog I was told we were in a dog-friendly room, but a request had to be noted, and was not guaranteed. Not wanting to risk it, we put our dog in a kennel and when we checked in the woman was surprised we didn't have our dog. She was very apologetic, but this was a major error by person confirming reservation and providing info (Linda, you REALLY screwed that up).

Hope these tips make it easier for new guests to plan and enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay, but surely, it would have been better if your dog was with you. I'm so sorry. Delaware North Companies has properties all over the country, and so we use a central reservations center - I have shared your review with the reservations team so this mis-communication does not happen again. For Spa treatments, we do ask that you call the Spa to book a time, choose a male or female therapist, and to share any special needs or requests. Please accept our apologies for causing so much confusion. Should your future plans lead you back to Saratoga, we hope to have another opportunity to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Having gone to Saratoga Springs for an even we chose the Gideon Putnam. It sits on or around a state park. Pulling in it looked very nice, very common for it's age. We were very happy with the staff and the bed comfort. The linen and furnitures were very nice. The carpet was just a bit worn, my bigger issues were the peeling glaze off the bathroom wall and shower tiles as well as the bath tub, it's just unsightly and looks dirty although it wasn't. The room was very clean but the bathroom was a big disappointment. Although not so much a problem at this time a year, you could hear a lot of noise from up above or in the hallways. The hotel wasn't at capacity but I'd worry about peak seasons. All in all it was a nice stay, I'd go back just for the comfort and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris1gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We are thrilled to hear you had a comfortable stay, and that our staff treated you well. However, please accept our apologies regarding your bathroom. We are a National Historic Landmark Hotel, and so it is important that certain features and fixtures remain. We have had the tubs refinished twice in as many years, and now we are looking at a second company to fix what the first company was unable to do. Thank you for your patience - care for a property such is this is eternal. Please come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight after an afternoon of visiting relatives who live nearby. The grounds were beautiful. Our room was clean and quiet, and the food was good. We did not take advantage of any of the other services, so I can't comment. I would like to return in warmer weather when the grounds weren't ice-covered.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilltowngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Even though your visit was short, we are glad to hear we left a positive and lasting impression. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Spring is only a few days away... hopefully that means we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I can't say enough complimentary things about the staff at the Gideon Putnam...they were all genuinely friendly and so accommodating! The staff is the reason I gave this review 5 stars, they were wonderful. The shuttle service was like having a private taxi at your beck and call.
The rooms were ok but I don't feel like the furnishings were on par with how beautiful the lobby area and buffet area were. The beds were hard. We had adjourning rooms and the set up was very cool- like being suitemates back in college! Privacy but the ability to be together- was awesome for 4 of us!
The spa definitely needs some improvements. The employees were all very nice but the services lacked "polish". The building was so beautiful and historic but it has been "updated" in a way that is not keeping with the elegance and refinement of the 1930's. The Relaxation Room was so obviously incongruous that it was annoying to me (Zen-like Japanese? really??). Having said all that, the mineral baths were something that should not be missed on a trip to Saratoga Springs! I would absolutely return to the Gideon Putnam!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Our staff really is wonderful, and we take pride in providing great customer service - thank you for taking the time to say so!. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my husband and two teenage sons in a suite and it was the perfect setup. The rooms were clean and roomy. For a historic property it was well maintained but still had all the charm of a historic hotel. It had very much of a boutique hotel feel.

Winter in the park offers much to do. Wish I had brought appropriate shoes so I could have snow shoed in the park. The hotel provides the snow shoes. Next visit we will stay longer and plan to take part in Sunday brunch. It smelled delicious

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback and outlook! There really is so much to do in the Park year-round, even in the Winter, as long as you enjoy being outdoors. We hope you come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Driving through the property was impressive there was a ton of people walking, snow shoeing ect .
As you approach the hotel, it's impressive. The front desk man was extremely friendly and nice !
Our room was odd it was 207 and you had to use a key to get into a vestibule which housed 2 rooms... And then use the key again to get I to the room it self. Room was charming and clean but HOT as a result we needed to open the windows (nice feature you can open them more than 2 inches) but this was a bad move our window faced the entrance so very very loud late ... And in the morning a bus idled their engine for an hour and half we actually could smell the carbon monoxide in the room.
Had a lovely breakfast with yummy above average buffet food! I've stayed in about every hotel in Saratoga, I'd definitely stay here again just steer clear of room 207 .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad you were impressed with the property, hotel, food and friendly service. We are in the process of replacing the heating/cooling units in all the guest rooms. And soon, this unbelievable cold snap will end, and we will not have to keep our shuttle running so it stays warm. I am sorry your stay was anything less than perfect, but we appreciate your desire to stay with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
602 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#17 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
36 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#3 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
865 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#14 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gideon Putnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Rd, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6218 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: £89 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing