We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gideon Putnam
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs(Saratoga Springs)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$144
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$168
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Saratoga(Saratoga Springs)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saratoga Arms(Saratoga Springs)
US$302
US$270
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs(Saratoga Springs)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Adelphi Hotel(Saratoga Springs)
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Robin Hood Motel(Saratoga Springs)
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Saratoga Springs(Saratoga Springs)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roosevelt Inn & Suites(Saratoga Springs)(Great Value!)
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,229)
Filter reviews
1,229 results
Traveller rating
510
370
169
99
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
510
370
169
99
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkmineral bathroosevelt spaporch suiterelaxation roomhistoric hotelbeautiful groundswalking trailsold world charmshuttle servicefree shuttlein townoff seasongibsonbrunchbathsgp
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
935 - 940 of 1,229 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful, lovely hotel. Old world charm and class. Upon entering the lobby, you are greeted with friendly and helpful staff, & a beautiful sitting area with overstuffed chairs and 2 fireplaces. We stayed in a king deluxe room. Our bed was comfortable, the room was immaculately clean and well appointed with in-room amenities. We had breakfast each morning in the on-premise restaurant. It was delicious and the service, again, was impeccable. We love this place! We were treated so well, we cannot wait to go back. Incidentally, there is so much to do in the area that two days was not enough.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tess1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are so glad to hear we left a positive and lasting impression. It is so true, there really is so much to do in Saratoga, and right here in the Saratoga Spa State Park. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Overall, nice stay - clean and comfortable room, two fireplaces in the lobby, restaurant on site. A couple of major issues that are not clear/easy for first time guests:

1. When making online reservation and spa services are selected, know that those are not guaranteed, must be booked directly with spa, and pricing is for 1 person even though multiple people on reservation. Don't worry about the day selected, it means nothing - call the spa directly. It's very confusing, and we almost missed out on spa services, which was the point of the trip.

2. The hotel is dog friendly, but when I called to confirm that we could bring a dog I was told we were in a dog-friendly room, but a request had to be noted, and was not guaranteed. Not wanting to risk it, we put our dog in a kennel and when we checked in the woman was surprised we didn't have our dog. She was very apologetic, but this was a major error by person confirming reservation and providing info (Linda, you REALLY screwed that up).

Hope these tips make it easier for new guests to plan and enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay, but surely, it would have been better if your dog was with you. I'm so sorry. Delaware North Companies has properties all over the country, and so we use a central reservations center - I have shared your review with the reservations team so this mis-communication does not happen again. For Spa treatments, we do ask that you call the Spa to book a time, choose a male or female therapist, and to share any special needs or requests. Please accept our apologies for causing so much confusion. Should your future plans lead you back to Saratoga, we hope to have another opportunity to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Having gone to Saratoga Springs for an even we chose the Gideon Putnam. It sits on or around a state park. Pulling in it looked very nice, very common for it's age. We were very happy with the staff and the bed comfort. The linen and furnitures were very nice. The carpet was just a bit worn, my bigger issues were the peeling glaze off the bathroom wall and shower tiles as well as the bath tub, it's just unsightly and looks dirty although it wasn't. The room was very clean but the bathroom was a big disappointment. Although not so much a problem at this time a year, you could hear a lot of noise from up above or in the hallways. The hotel wasn't at capacity but I'd worry about peak seasons. All in all it was a nice stay, I'd go back just for the comfort and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris1gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We are thrilled to hear you had a comfortable stay, and that our staff treated you well. However, please accept our apologies regarding your bathroom. We are a National Historic Landmark Hotel, and so it is important that certain features and fixtures remain. We have had the tubs refinished twice in as many years, and now we are looking at a second company to fix what the first company was unable to do. Thank you for your patience - care for a property such is this is eternal. Please come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight after an afternoon of visiting relatives who live nearby. The grounds were beautiful. Our room was clean and quiet, and the food was good. We did not take advantage of any of the other services, so I can't comment. I would like to return in warmer weather when the grounds weren't ice-covered.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilltowngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Even though your visit was short, we are glad to hear we left a positive and lasting impression. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Spring is only a few days away... hopefully that means we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I can't say enough complimentary things about the staff at the Gideon Putnam...they were all genuinely friendly and so accommodating! The staff is the reason I gave this review 5 stars, they were wonderful. The shuttle service was like having a private taxi at your beck and call.
The rooms were ok but I don't feel like the furnishings were on par with how beautiful the lobby area and buffet area were. The beds were hard. We had adjourning rooms and the set up was very cool- like being suitemates back in college! Privacy but the ability to be together- was awesome for 4 of us!
The spa definitely needs some improvements. The employees were all very nice but the services lacked "polish". The building was so beautiful and historic but it has been "updated" in a way that is not keeping with the elegance and refinement of the 1930's. The Relaxation Room was so obviously incongruous that it was annoying to me (Zen-like Japanese? really??). Having said all that, the mineral baths were something that should not be missed on a trip to Saratoga Springs! I would absolutely return to the Gideon Putnam!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Our staff really is wonderful, and we take pride in providing great customer service - thank you for taking the time to say so!. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews