We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is OK but I wouldn't return.”
Review of The Gideon Putnam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gideon Putnam
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Based on the advertisements, I expected more. No refrigerator in the room. Window A/C wasn't efficient. Had to have toilet repaired twice during a two-night stay. Location is wonderful and you can see that this hotel has had greater days.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestchesterP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,169 - 1,175 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

Very disappointing for the price. Had a suite for over $400 a night. IT HAD A WINDOW AC UNIT. Not only a window unit but a very old unit. I know they try to keep the historical value, but you can be historical and have central air. Front desk was very non-friendly to be nice. Room wasn't ready till exactly 4:00 and the place was empty. Bathroom looks like an asylum. Tub was maybe 3 feet long and very uncomfortable.
Pro's-
Bartender Rick is a great guy and the restaurant is good
Bed is comfortable
Grounds are beautiful

BUT it is not at all worth the money

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trilect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I checked in for a weekend away with my husband and was sorely disappointed. This hotel's website leads you to believe you are staying somewhere luxurious, this place does in no way fit the bill. At 365.00 a night one should have a fan in their bathroom. When we checked in we where given a room with two double beds they did kindly put us into a Queen room on the 5th floor. The room was very small and unimpressive for the price. Wall paint on the ceiling a window air conditioner (the only window in the room), Peeling ceiling in the bathroom spiders in the room (just Daddy long legs but really). Again all these things may seem petty, but I expected a 4 star hotel. This was anything but. If the rates where lower than I would be all for you get what you pay for....The only thing 4 star was the young man at the front desk "Matt" who was as accommodating as anyone could be with my very legitimate gripes P.S. There is one elevator for the entire hotel. You can wait quite awhile at either end....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank you81too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I'm a frequent business traveler and have had the good fortune to stay at lots of nice resorts-- the Ritz-Carlton Amelia Island, the Hyatt Lost Pines, the Westin Kierland Resort, the Del Coronado, three different Gaylord properties, and the.like. Do not expect that level of quality or service, should you choose to stay here. In my view, the one and only reason to stay at the Gideon Putnam is to be in the midst of the facilities within the Saratoga Spa State Park,. But a stay at this property will not yield you a true "resort" experience. My room was cramped and dingy, with a noisy, heaving air conditioner, and an unhelpful layout of run-down furniture. The bathroom was tiny (though I confess I've had smaller-- at least I didn't have to step completely into the bathtub to shut the door), and had an open airflow grid in the ceiling that seemed to continuously pour warm air down into the room. The food at the restaurant was forgettable, and the restaurant staff seemed overwhelmed and inattentive, even though the place was never more than half-full. The Gideon's focus now seems to be on attracting group meetings, and the meeting rooms appear to have more-or-less been re-done and can be well set with projectors, audio, etc. But even for conferences, the "off-hours" experience of the conference hotel-- including room quality and service-- is key, and on those points, this property fails altogether. That's a shame, considering the beautiful area in which it is nestled. If I were going to Saratoga Springs again, I'd stay at one of the national chain properties dotting Highway 9 before spending my accomodation dollars here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterTravelFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This hotel has gone downhill since we were here four years ago. The location is beautiful but not worth the price. My husband and I arrived at the hotel too early to get into our room so we spent the day at the racetrack and had dinner with friends. When we got to our room, we found the room to be drab and dingy. The carpet was stained as well as the bedskirt. Upon pulling down the comforter, the sheets looked like they hadn't been changed after the previous occupants had left. I found hairs on the pillows as well as other specks of dirt of unknown origin! I complained to the front desk and they sent someone to change all the bedding with little more than an apology. During the night I kept waking up because the air conditioner was laboring so loudly from obvious lack of maintenance. Needless to say, we woke up at the crack of dawn , showered, packed our bags and left without even a cup if coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bklyngal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

On my stay on aug 8, your front desk people were very helpful.There was one young lady Amy who was very helpful with everything we asked.She knows her busness very well.
Thanks
George DiPiano

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geo614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This is an interesting old hotel built in 1935 and very well located in a beautiful setting in Saratoga Springs. It is currently under going a major updating so one needs to treat it as a work in progress. Many of the common areas have been renovated and some of the murals are quite beautiful. Some are the originals and remain in very good shape. The front desk staff was quite friendly and appeared competent. Our room was perfectly nice but over furnished. A few less pieces of furniture would have provided a feeling of spaciousness while providing all the necessary amenities. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had obviously been updated while keeping its old charm. The service staff in the bar area and dining room could definitely use some better training.
We expect that over time this old hotel will once again be a wonderful place to stay when in the Saratoga Springs area. It's just not fully there yet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooper233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
444 reviews
2 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
612 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#18 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,515 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#13 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gideon Putnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Rd, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6218 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: £76 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing