We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diamond Mills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stated at the Inn for a wedding and it was a real treat! We were greeted by a friendly staff and shown to our room by a gentleman who gave us an overview of all of the rooms features. The room was decorated perfectly and had the best view with a great deck area. We loved the beautifully appointed bed and radiant floors in the bathroom. Since we had traveled in that day and explored the town all morning we needed to rest a bit before the evening activities. This is when we fell in love....with the mattress!!!! It was truly the most comfortable bed either of us had ever had the pleasure of resting in and the lovely turn down chocolates were such an elegant touch. Dinner and brunch in the Tavern were very nice and the service was impressive. We had a wonderful stay at Diamond Mills and hope to return to Saugerties again in the warmer months!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201 all the way at the end off the hall it was so quiet and the view of the waterf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuiteLifeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    43
    7
    5
    15
See reviews for
58
75
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This area does not have a lot of choices when in comes to a pleasant and reasonably priced place to spend the night. We booked a room on a cold March weekend here, through the internet and saved 50%, which was the first nice thing about it.

The room is very nice, with wonderful beds, plenty of pillows, heated bathroom floor, chocolates for the pillow (and my mouth), and some other nice touches. In my opinion, it's not the luxury Four Seasons, as some others have said, but a very nice boutique hotel. The view will knock your socks off, and I can only imagine the beauty in the summer. We had a complimentary glass of wine in the bar one night, and were encouraged to eat there by the manager, although we had other plans.

During your stay, make a reservation at Miss Lucy's right up the street -- we had a smashing dinner there and the staff is very friendly.

The two small negatives I would like to mention: The first is that it is kind of odd that the ONLY elevator to the rooms is about 6 feet from the front desk. This results in the staff jumping up to greet you every time you enter or exit the building and it did feel like they were keeping strict tabs on who was going up and down… good for security, bad for a sense of freedom.

The second is their policy of no alcohol from the outside in the rooms. This would not be an issue if the bar wasn't in a different building, quite a walk away. It's not convenient to bring up a hotel-purchased glass of wine to sit outside because of the distance, and the 1/2 bottles in the minibar are incredibly expensive.

But all in all I would love to stay there again and will the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Saugerties was a ghost town on this mid-March Monday evening. the hotel bar and restaurant were not open on Monday, which is odd for what should be a full-service hotel but it was easy walking distance to bars and a few restaurants downtown. there were only 3 other cars in the parking lot on this Monday night so the hotel was quiet. the room was beautifully done and had a gorgeous view of the river. nice little deck for two off the room and with the door cracked we could listen to the river flow all night. a nice treat. the heated floor in the bathroom was great but the HVAC was not terrific. hard to cool down the room below 70 and with the massive duvets that are all the rage these days it was a bit difficult to sleep.
hard to gauge the energy of the place when it was so empty, but i would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very quiet place with a beautiful view from any room. Heated bathroom floor and soft robes were real treats in the cold early February weather. Pleasant staff and very friendly. Rooms are very pleasant and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the Esopus Creek and have a view of the dam and waterfall. Don't think y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Utilizing a Jetsetter special to stay here, mint-condition room with Restoration Hardware style decor was an incredible value. Included in the nightly rate is a continental breakfast (7-10 am) and wine and cheese happy hour (4-5:30 pm). The breakfast featured pastries which tasted site-made, the usual cold cereal, yogurt, whole apples. The first morning there was cut fruit including honeydew and a petite muffin I wished I had grabbed on the way out as these were not offered again. The wine and cheese offer is first glass (choice of house red or white only) compliments of the hotel. The cheese is replenished throughout the happy hour, so what's on the board when you arrive may not be all to be offered. All varieties with two kinds of crackers. The hotel rule of no alcohol allowed to be brought into the room is, at best, an unfriendly policy and not consistent with guest policies of all the luxury hotels with which I'm familiar. I decided it's a small price to pay for such a lovely stay.

If you like octopus, don't miss the outstanding first course at the hotel's restaurant, The Tavern. I lived many years on Oahu and have eaten my share of tako, but this is the most tender, smokey, flavorful octopus I ever put in my mouth. Based on the quality of the octopus, I will return in warmer weather to taste The Tavern's tuna tartare, and to leave the deck door open so I can hear the music of the waterfall through the night. If I can't fall asleep to the sound of breaking waves, the waterfall's gotta be the next best thing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting- all rooms have a waterfall view. Was there in the cold days of February so no chance to sit on the balcony. Tastefully decorated although it was a little like staying in a Restoration Hardware catalog - not a particularly bad thing given the decorating themes in some hotels. While they advertise heated floors in the bathrooms, I wish they had directed their resources on making it more spacious. The whole configuration of the rooms could have been more thoughtful. Comfy beds and linens.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CherylNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have been visiting friends in Saugerties for the past 10 years. I have wanted to try the Diamond Mills since it opened, but only ever ate in the restaurant. I attended a wedding there this past weekend. I can only describe my experience as "Over The Top!"

First, the rooms: Nothing short of Four Season's hotel rooms. Nicely stocked mini bar, beds are super comfy, view of the falls is gorgeous. The soft muted tones of the walls and furnishings is super soothing. It was about 6 degrees outside, so the shoft robes and heated bathroom floor was amazing. There is no bathtub for soaking, but the shower is great.

Second, the service: I was a little concerned about all of the hotel policies and having to pay the first night in advance. I thought "hmmm...is this place going to be snoby or difficult." Absolutely not! Service was first class. Tony, who was at the front desk both nights was very helpful and very polite.

Third, the food: Food in the restaurant and in catering was amazing. The continental breakfast was perfect. You can take a try to your room and have breakfast in bed. They serve Harvey & Sons teas, which is high quality. They have comp Keureg in the rooms with bottled water.

Fourth, the wedding venue: WOW, WOW, WOW! The cocktail hour was more than what most people serve on a wedding buffet. There was a dim sum station, a pasta station (veal ravioli in sage/butter sauce), carving station, anti pasti station, cheese station (aged Gouda to die for). Then there was a sit down dinner. Granted, my friends chose the food and I am certain they chose the top shelf in everything, but if you are having your wedding here, you are going to wow your guests. The venue is gorgeous and magestic.

All in all, if you are going to a wedding or just need a place to explore the Hudson River Valley, look no further. I wish I was back at the Diamond Mills!

PS: The Krauses Chocolate shop next to the hotel has amazing chocolates...all locally sourced products.

Room Tip: There are only 30 rooms. They all have a view of the falls. They offer some apartments, so ask if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhunChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
9.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
849 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
10.3 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
47 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Mills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Mills Hotel

Property: Diamond Mills Hotel
Address: 25 S Partition St, Saugerties, NY 12477-1826
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamond Mills Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to the sounds of falling waters in each of our 30 well-appointed guest rooms, offering private balconies overlooking the Esopus Falls. Plush overstuffed duvets, fine Egyptian cotton linens and a rustic European design all ensure a restful and relaxing stay for you and your guests. Be it a romantic country getaway or family fun vacation, Diamond Mills offers elegant accommodations unlike anywhere in the Hudson Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Diamond Mills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing