We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance, peace, serenity...........”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House
Ranked #4 of 16 Saugerties B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ambiance, peace, serenity...........”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Outstanding ambiance, cuisine and attention to every detail! A+++ recommendation from 2 people who notice everything! David was our chef. Breakfast was not only delicious beyond words, but the presentation OUTSTANDING!

Barbara & Chris Reynolds, Toms River, NJ

Room Tip: ANY room in the Symthe home is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJR1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 19 September 2016
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Smythe House, thank you!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
52
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We felt our hosts were wonderful, thinking of every small detail that makes a guest feel pampered. Decor was beautiful and well suited to the home while avoiding the overly fussy look of many B&B's. Bathrooms are outstanding! Breakfast was lovely! We were thrilled!

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank shlepper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 19 September 2016
Thank you, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOOSHIE99
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I can't say enough about our stay at this B and B. This was the first time away w/my boyfriend for my Birthday. Justine and David are incredible people they were kind and attentive and interesting to talk to. We brought my dog with us and they treated her as part of the family. We stayed in the bird room it was beyond beautiful and well kept clean beyond what one would expect. And the jacuzzi was a relaxing bonus from the stresses of everyday life. The breakast was over the top delicious. We are already planning another trip back next spring!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOOSHIE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 19 September 2016
Thank you! We enjoy having well behaved pets stay with us. They certainly are part of the family! We're glad you enjoyed your stay!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south korea
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at Smythe House. i felt well attended to without the feeling of being smothered with fake service. Great breakfast and nice bathroom and shower. The location is great because you are near Kingston and some open spaces while still quiet and somewhat secluded. This is a nice place to relax and appreciate a nicely remodeled old place with lots of flair and attention to detail from nice soaps/shampoos in the bathroom to comfortable, elegant furniture in the rooms. Definitely walking into the hallway with a virtual 'land of green' is a nice touch. I recommend Smyhte House to anyone looking fro a warm, cozy place to enjoy a top notch B&B.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelsits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 19 September 2016
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Smythe House, thank you!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We went to the Smythe House to celebrate our one year anniversary and we couldn't have been happier. Justine and David were welcoming and accommodating, and even welcomed our dog with open arms. The inn was cozy and clean, and was a nice hybrid between old fashioned inn and modern hotel. It was decorated adorably and there was also wi-fi throughout the inn and a tv in our room. We happily retreated to our cozy room after a day of apple picking and exploring local parks. One of the best parts of our stay was the breakfast that awaited us in the morning. It was one of the best breakfasts we've ever had! The homemade berry juice was amazing. Overall, we had a fantastic time... we were sad to leave!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 19 September 2016
We're glad that we could make your anniversary special! Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peconic, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We spent 3 nights with Justine and David. They are definitely in the right business! Very warm hosts who gladly helped us out with everything we needed. And the food--wow! They put the breakfast in Bed & Breakfast. These veteran travelers say best ever. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthefork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 19 September 2016
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the kind review!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flourtown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at Barclay Heights B&B two nights - 8/14 & 8/15, my birthday. We couldn't be more pleased. The main house was filled on 8/14 so David and Justine put us up in their cottage, 2 mils away. Situated on a small creek, it was so quiet and peaceful we didn't want to leave. And the breakfasts!! We've stayed at B&Bs throughout the U.S. as well as Europe and the breakfasts here were far superior to any we've had at other B&Bs. We truly look forward to returning next summer, and will be touting the praises of our experience to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 19 September 2016
We're so glad you chose to spend your birthday with us and that you had a nice time!
Thank you!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.6 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
167 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
864 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House

Property: Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House
Address: 158 Burt St, Saugerties, NY 12477-1907
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a romantic getaway? Experience Outstanding Hospitality -- complete gourmet breakfast prepared especially for you by two CIA culinary chefs. This 1890 Catskills Victorian Cottage is furnished for comfort. Elegant bedrooms appointed with fireplaces, private bathrooms, WiFi, Wide screen Cable TV, coffee/tea stations, wine service set up, "sleeping beauty" pillow-top mattresses, natural fiber linens, Persian carpets, Tiffany style lighting, air conditioning, telephone. Enjoy Catskill Mountain view & Hudson Valley attractions, close to picturesque villages of Woodstock, Saugerties, Rhinebeck, and moments to scenic Hudson river and three nature preserves. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing