We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fantastic anniversary getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House
Ranked #3 of 15 Saugerties B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a fantastic anniversary getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We chose the smythe house, for the great reviews received her at tripadvisor, we were not disappoined, the house is charming with an eclectic mix of antiques, one of the owners Justine could not have been a more gracious and helpfull. we stayed in the violet room, that had a jetted tub and a steam shower. The owners are both chefs, and the breakfast was amazing, with a great number of choices, along with fresh fruit, croissants, home made jams, absolutely wonderful. Saugerties, was a great starting point to tour the catskills, Justine recommended several hiking trails, and we saw numerous waterfalls, and beautifull vistas during our trip, Justine also made recommendations for dinner restaurants and they lived up to the standars of our host. thanks again for a wonderfull stay at the smyhe house

Room Tip: some of the rooms have bathrooms not en-suite, make sure you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 13 September 2016
We so much appreciate when guests take time to write a review here because it helps other guests find their perfect getaway. Our goal is to provide our visitors with a comfortable welcoming home away from home, glad to hear that it seems we achieved that goal with you. thanks very much for your generous comments and insight. Sincerely, David & Justine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
50
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife and I (and now our son) have truly enjoyed the Smythe House properties for the last four years. We have stayed at their proper B&B as well as their separate guest house about two miles away. We love staying in Saugerties and have always enjoyed its peaceful setting. It is also relatively close to Woodstock. One of the highlights of staying at Smythe House is their breakfasts, which are prepared from scratch. Absolutely amazing food. Also the owners of this establishment are great people. We will keep coming back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Urbane_Biz_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 13 September 2016
Thank you for your glowing review. we are grateful. Having owned and operated the Smythe House B&B and Esopus Creek Cottage for more than a decade we have the great fortune to have many guests returning again and again, and we are delighted to see our "friends" year after year....it feels like a big extended family.

We also enjoy welcoming guests with children and or pets because we sincerely enjoy all of our guests and the house is large enough for everyone to have their own privacy, so while Smythe House is perfect for a romantic getaway (well appointed private rooms with Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, Persian carpets, gilt mirrors, tiffany style lighting, and gourmet breakfast) the home is also suitable for a family getaway too, and guests who once came as a couple can continue to visit even when their family grows from two to three or more.

The big back yard with Catskill mountain view, tree house, slides, and trampoline offer families a nice place to enjoy nature right at home. We even have a beautiful fish pond, a BBQ grill, picnic tables, and a three tier deck overlooking the Esopus Bend Nature Preserve. See you soon!! Sincerely, David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed in the Esopus apartment, a one-bedroom apartment just off-property on a creek in the middle of the woods. The grounds included charming seating areas right on the creek, on the back deck, or on a side deck perfect for staring at the water, the changing color of the trees, the fire pit or generally just relaxing. The furnishings were cozy and comfortable with luxury bath and shampoos. The owners, as a previous reviewer stated, struck a perfect balance, being attentive, warm, and ready to help without being overly friendly. They really know the area and made the best breakfasts we've ever had at a B & B!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerToCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 13 September 2016
Glad you enjoyed the private yet close to town location of the Esopus Creek Cottage, we love it too...so peaceful and beautiful right on the water....lots of fun. Thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your getaway. Sincerely, David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

My only regret about staying here is how long it took me to getting around to writing this review.

My husband and I stayed at Barclay in March for our anniversary, and our experience could not have been more idyllic. We stayed in the Violet Room, which was plush, romantic without being cloyingly cutesy, and furnished with a fabulously comfortable bed. The bathroom was spectacular, with a jacuzzi tub and a steam shower (which my husband now insists will be a required feature of our next apartment). Those amenities were perfectly complemented by the collection of luxury toiletries set out for us.

We're not usually big B&B people - we don't like having to make idle chatter with the owners over breakfast. But the owners of Barclay strike a perfect balance - attentive but discreet. They're extremely sweet and friendly, but not overbearing. They recommended some excellent local restaurants and shops, but by and large minded their own business. And the food - Good Lord, the food! I haven't had such a delicious breatfast before or since - eggs en coquette and crepes are ruined for me now. Both owners have backgrounds in the culinary arts, and it absolutely shows in their food preparation and presentation.

In one of our brief conversations with the owners, we mentioned that this was an anniversary trip. We returned that night to find locally-made gourmet chocolates on the dresser, along with an exquisite bouquet and even balloons! It's that sort of attention to detail and thoughtfulness that really sets Barclay apart from other B&Bs in upstate New York.

In short, the accommodations were luxurious yet homey, the food delicious and plentiful, and the hosts a delight. We're already planning a return trip, and we can't recommend this B&B highly enough.

Room Tip: The Violet Room was huge, luxuriously furnished, extremely comfortable and (of course) impeccably cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefsmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
We are grateful that you enjoyed the accommodations and thank you for the kind sentiments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Smythe House is pure delight. We were there over Memorial Day weekend, with Justine & David anticipating our needs and ensuring that we had a relaxing, easy time. As a frequent traveler it's such a treat to have gourmet breakfasts, a full-time concierge and having "locals" help plan the day against what is worthwhile checking out. Once you get to Saugerties, you appreciate the location with its proximity to Hyde Park, Rhinebeck & the Catskills.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartitaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 13 September 2016
Thanks for your excellent review, we really enjoy helping guests plan their escape to the Catskills and Hudson Valley....so much to see and do and easy to just rest and relax as well, there is truly something for everyone here in the country. It is also a treat to prepare breakfast for our guests, we are both professional chefs with a long history of cooking in restaurants, hotels, catering companies, and teaching chefs for many years as well....so making your personalize breakfast is both challenging and rewarding for us and the best part is knowing we are helping guests get a good nourishing start to their day. Thanks again for allowing our family the opportunity to provide your family a "home away from home" in the beautiful Catskills.

Sincerely, David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Smythe House for one night in March and had a great time. We loved our cozy, beautiful room (the Zen room) and enjoyed chatting with David and Justine over breakfast. They were very friendly and very good chefs! Our breakfasts were perfect and my husband is still raving about his Mocha Cappuccino. When in the Hudson Valley area, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The Zen Room is definitely for couples or people very familiar with each other. There's no door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LunaCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 13 September 2016
Glad to hear you enjoyed the artistic Zen room during your getaway to the Hudson Valley, thanks very much for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate your comments. Sincerely, David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearneysville, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Excellent B&B. Great food, friendly service. I will stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefsmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of Smythe House, glad to hear your stay was comfortable and the food enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.6 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
7.5 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House

Property: Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House
Address: 158 Burt St, Saugerties, NY 12477-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a romantic getaway? Experience Outstanding Hospitality -- complete gourmet breakfast prepared especially for you by two CIA culinary chefs. This 1890 Catskills Victorian Cottage is furnished for comfort. Elegant bedrooms appointed with fireplaces, private bathrooms, WiFi, Wide screen Cable TV, coffee/tea stations, wine service set up, "sleeping beauty" pillow-top mattresses, natural fiber linens, Persian carpets, Tiffany style lighting, air conditioning, telephone. Enjoy Catskill Mountain view & Hudson Valley attractions, close to picturesque villages of Woodstock, Saugerties, Rhinebeck, and moments to scenic Hudson river and three nature preserves. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing