We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, and blissfully quiet!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House
Ranked #4 of 16 Saugerties B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at Barclay Heights B&B two nights - 8/14 & 8/15, my birthday. We couldn't be more pleased. The main house was filled on 8/14 so David and Justine put us up in their cottage, 2 mils away. Situated on a small creek, it was so quiet and peaceful we didn't want to leave. And the breakfasts!! We've stayed at B&Bs throughout the U.S. as well as Europe and the breakfasts here were far superior to any we've had at other B&Bs. We truly look forward to returning next summer, and will be touting the praises of our experience to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

We're so glad you chose to spend your birthday with us and that you had a nice time!
Thank you!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

Justine and David are really some very special people. They somehow mix the perfect amount of personable and privacy making your stay JUST RIGHT.

The breakfast just about killed me with joy. Do yourself a favor and get the salmon and eggs dish. YUM!

My boyfriend and I stayed in the perfectly appointed Bird Room. It was all I could do not to just move in! Beautiful. Clean and totally romantic. The private bathroom is to die for.

We look forward to many stays here- it is a truely special place.

PS. So much to do there- in 24 hour hours we managed to go to an auction, shop, eat at Lucy's kitchen (triumph of organic local food, pick raspberries and blueberries at Griegg Farm and still felt totally relaxed and pampered. The town makes me so happy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeecuplife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Smythe House. Thank you for the compliments!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The Esopus Suite was incredibly romantic and cozy. It is very private and secluded, set right on the banks of the Esopus Creek. We took the complimentary canoe out onto the lake and paddled down to a beach where we docked and swam. It was a lot fun and utterly beautiful. We even spotted a beaver just a couple of yards from the suite.

The Smythes were extremely friendly and very attentive. They made every effort to ensure our stay was everything we could want. The breakfasts were fabulous; the choices were as great as they were delicious. I can't wait until we can stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hewittls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I stayed at this bed and breakfast for a weekend in March and I was very happy overall. The food is beyond outstanding, and the hosts are incredibly accommodating and go out of their way to ensure you have what you request. We loved that the food was as organic and local as possible!

There are many lovely little touches to the bed and breakfast - the handmade local chocolate that they put in your room is delicious, and all of the toiletries are eco-friendly and good quality.

The only minor downsides that I found were that the house is not really secluded - it is on a "busy" (relatively speaking) road, so there is noise, and while the view from the backyard is really beautiful, there are houses within close proximity on either side, so you don't really have that secluded feeling. That being said, the noise wasn't bothersome at night - I had just hoped for a more secluded feeling in general.

Other than that, the decor of the rooms wasn't particularly to my taste, but it was absolutely clean and comfortable, which is certainly more than fine considering it is not trying to be modern and stylish!

Overall, a worthwhile visit and I would definitely recommend staying there! There are excellent restaurants in the area, as well as great hiking.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayeleet920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

We love to enjoy and prepare excellent food and its a pleasure to share this delight with guests at the Smythe House. Its more than a hobby, more than a profession, its a passion... It is also our great good fortune to reside in the Hudson Valley where there are so many local farms and artisans creating and offering top notch ingredients with which to create healthy and delicious dishes. Thank you for sharing with us the love of farm fresh food that satisfies the soul as well as nourishing the body. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We do not want to come off as cheeseballs, but.................WOW!!! We desperately needed to get out of the city for a couple of days and after researching and reading about and looking at pix, we knew this was the one...and it most definitely was: it was just what we needed and more. We stayed in a room called "The Bird Room"---lovely, a bed that was so comfortable that it is a must to write about it: neither of us have ever felt the need to write about the comfortability of a bed before!!! The decor was just on the mark: tasteful, funky cool, artistic, real...............and the innkeepers were just that as well. We have only been back in Manhattan for a few hours and cannot wait to go back.............we would have stayed longer if it had been possible, but we had a rental car to return in the city. Many thanks for everything.............looking so so forward to the next time!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

The Bird room has a special massive hand carved sleigh bed which is not only pretty but many find very comforting, so glad you felt this as well....delighted your stay in the Catskills was all you envisioned. Thanks very much for choosing Smythe House for your home away from home. Sincerely, David & Justine Smythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I recently spent a weekend at Smythe House in Saugerties. I was surprised that it was right on the main road out of town, but there was little traffic noise at night. The hosts were very accomodating, helping to carry our luggage upstairs and even bringing us tea, and they were helpful with pointing out which restaurants to go to, even making a reservation for us that night at Miss Lucy's, which was very good.

The house is a Victorian, with a nice entrance way, a sigle medium sized main room with a couple of period sofas, small tables and a keyboard to play, a big kitchen in the back of the house, and a central stairway to the rooms upstairs. The main room wasn't the kind of room you could hang out in, as it was the main pass through room to get to the kitchen, not ony for the guests but for the owners as well. And, we discovered on our first night there that conversations in the main room can be clearly heard in the bedrooms upstairs.

We stayed in the Bird Room, which had a comfortable bed, nice robes, a well placed television, and a private bath with a wonderful double jacuzzi tub that was put to use immediately. Our second night there we discovered that the room could get uncomfortably hot, which made for a fitful nights' sleep.

However, those are minor points. The breakfasts are indeed the highlight of this B and B. Both days they were absolutely delicious and I would definately eat there again in a second.

The one thing I would caution is that the proprietress seems to embrace the "Woodstock" lifestyle, meaning in my view, she was not dressed in a manner I would consider appropriate to receive guests. Both my partner and I were uncomfortable when in her presence because of this. Otherwise, it was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkmdanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefsmythe, Smythe Family - Innkeepers at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2010

Thank You for your review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you for your weekend getaway at Smythe House, an 1890's Victorian equipped with elegant yet functional and comfortable period furnishings. Much effort was put into the renovation of the Smythe House to assure that all rooms would be well insulated and warm and cozy in the cold winter.

Likewise, air conditioning is available everywhere to assure that level of comfort in warmer weather. Most guests simply adjust the thermostat located on the wall to control the room temperatures, either up or down, to assure their comfort, or notify the inn keepers by in-room intercom, dialing "0", to communicate any concerns.

Justine's attire in her home, a very comfortable and relaxing environment, is appropriate for a nursing mother and her child. Our "perfect guests" find the lack of stiff formality a refreshing and nurturing approach. Considering that Woodstock is only 10 miles from Saugerties, a "Woodstock" lifestyle should not be a great wonder. That relaxed and spiritually regenerating approach makes us desirable to much of our clientelle, in fact, is why they select to stay, return to stay, and recommend their friends to stay at the Smythe House. We embrace tolerance and diversity, allowing people to be who they are, without harsh judgements or attitudes.

When extensive concierge service is requested, the guest has the option of dealing with the inkeepers face to face, by internet communication, or telephone. Justine's baccalaureate degree from the Culinary Institue of America and her MBA from Cornell in Hotel and Resaurant Administration, her familiarity with the area, personable manner, and very clear communication skills make her well equipped to accomplish that task upon the request and to the satisfaction of the guest. Doing that well is one of the hallmarks of the Smythe House, with much testimony available in affirmation. Her informal attire does not impair the effectiveness of that personalized sevice. She patiently spends as much time as the guest would like to guarantee their good time.

Smythe House is conveniently located on route 9W, 5 minutes from the NY Thruway. It is set back from the road, and borders 165 acres of wild forest preserve with a spectacular mountain view. Where as, it is possible to hear an occaisional passing vehicle, it is also possible to hear the honking of the occaisional passing flock of geese, or a train in the distance, or a tug boat on the river. Guests from more populated areas typically find the predominantly peaceful space regenerating.

Since any lodging facility may have multiple guests, when staying at these facilities one may periodically experience hearing, even seeing those other guests. Proactively communicating with the innkeeper regarding any concern is always welcome and advisable to assure that your stay at the Smythe House is as outstanding as we intend.

Blessings and Peace to You,

David, Justine, and Monica-Jean Smythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed at the Smythe's Cottage on the Esopus Creek. The cottage was such a delight to stay in, fully packed with everything you possibly need, clean, very nicely decorated and the location can only be appreciated by being there. AMAZING.

we had breakfast at the Smyth House, which just raised our experience to a whole new level- the hosts certainly know how to spoil their guests; the elegant, very thoughtfully prepared table and the exquisite food that left us thinking about the next morning's breakfast for the rest of the day... seriously!! Dave is an amazingly talented chef; not only the food was delicious, it was healthy & presented with such grace and professionalism. Justine was very attentive to our needs during breakfast and made us feel very comfortable (we had our 2-yr old son with us).

to sum it all up, Justine & Dave are great, hard working hosts who are sincerely interested in making sure your stay is nothing less than perfect. Thank you!! we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RavitK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Thanks for your very nice and appreciative comments, we do our best to provide a comfortable, nurturing environment where visitors to the Hudson Valley can rest and relax in between their adventures in the Catskills and on and around the Hudson River... thanks again for sharing of your positive experience at Esopus Creek Cottage and Smythe House B&B, David & Justine Smythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#4 of 6 in Saugerties
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
174 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bohemian Inn
Bohemian Inn
#5 of 16 in Saugerties
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#9 of 16 in Saugerties
13 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saugerties Bed and Breakfast at B&B Tamayo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House

Address: 158 Burt St, Saugerties, NY 12477-1907
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Price Range: £131 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a romantic getaway? Experience Outstanding Hospitality -- complete gourmet breakfast prepared especially for you by two CIA culinary chefs. This 1890 Catskills Victorian Cottage is furnished for comfort. Elegant bedrooms appointed with fireplaces, private bathrooms, WiFi, Wide screen Cable TV, coffee/tea stations, wine service set up, "sleeping beauty" pillow-top mattresses, natural fiber linens, Persian carpets, Tiffany style lighting, air conditioning, telephone. Enjoy Catskill Mountain view & Hudson Valley attractions, close to picturesque villages of Woodstock, Saugerties, Rhinebeck, and moments to scenic Hudson river and three nature preserves. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing