We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Saugerties
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wenton Motel(Saugerties)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tivoli(Tivoli)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Total Tennis(Saugerties)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Kingston(Kingston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Kingston(Kingston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
68
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviolet roomb bbanana pancakesbreakfast was deliciousbeautiful roomlook forward to another visitwonderful staylocation is greatgracious hostsan amazing experiencetwo nightsdavidjacuzzibackyardweekendwoodstockserenity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at Barclay Heights B&B two nights - 8/14 & 8/15, my birthday. We couldn't be more pleased. The main house was filled on 8/14 so David and Justine put us up in their cottage, 2 mils away. Situated on a small creek, it was so quiet and peaceful we didn't want to leave. And the breakfasts!! We've stayed at B&Bs throughout the U.S. as well as Europe and the breakfasts here were far superior to any we've had at other B&Bs. We truly look forward to returning next summer, and will be touting the praises of our experience to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

We're so glad you chose to spend your birthday with us and that you had a nice time!
Thank you!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Justine and David are really some very special people. They somehow mix the perfect amount of personable and privacy making your stay JUST RIGHT.

The breakfast just about killed me with joy. Do yourself a favor and get the salmon and eggs dish. YUM!

My boyfriend and I stayed in the perfectly appointed Bird Room. It was all I could do not to just move in! Beautiful. Clean and totally romantic. The private bathroom is to die for.

We look forward to many stays here- it is a truely special place.

PS. So much to do there- in 24 hour hours we managed to go to an auction, shop, eat at Lucy's kitchen (triumph of organic local food, pick raspberries and blueberries at Griegg Farm and still felt totally relaxed and pampered. The town makes me so happy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeecuplife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Smythe House. Thank you for the compliments!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The Esopus Suite was incredibly romantic and cozy. It is very private and secluded, set right on the banks of the Esopus Creek. We took the complimentary canoe out onto the lake and paddled down to a beach where we docked and swam. It was a lot fun and utterly beautiful. We even spotted a beaver just a couple of yards from the suite.

The Smythes were extremely friendly and very attentive. They made every effort to ensure our stay was everything we could want. The breakfasts were fabulous; the choices were as great as they were delicious. I can't wait until we can stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hewittls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you!

Sincerely,
David & Justine Smythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I stayed at this bed and breakfast for a weekend in March and I was very happy overall. The food is beyond outstanding, and the hosts are incredibly accommodating and go out of their way to ensure you have what you request. We loved that the food was as organic and local as possible!

There are many lovely little touches to the bed and breakfast - the handmade local chocolate that they put in your room is delicious, and all of the toiletries are eco-friendly and good quality.

The only minor downsides that I found were that the house is not really secluded - it is on a "busy" (relatively speaking) road, so there is noise, and while the view from the backyard is really beautiful, there are houses within close proximity on either side, so you don't really have that secluded feeling. That being said, the noise wasn't bothersome at night - I had just hoped for a more secluded feeling in general.

Other than that, the decor of the rooms wasn't particularly to my taste, but it was absolutely clean and comfortable, which is certainly more than fine considering it is not trying to be modern and stylish!

Overall, a worthwhile visit and I would definitely recommend staying there! There are excellent restaurants in the area, as well as great hiking.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayeleet920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

We love to enjoy and prepare excellent food and its a pleasure to share this delight with guests at the Smythe House. Its more than a hobby, more than a profession, its a passion... It is also our great good fortune to reside in the Hudson Valley where there are so many local farms and artisans creating and offering top notch ingredients with which to create healthy and delicious dishes. Thank you for sharing with us the love of farm fresh food that satisfies the soul as well as nourishing the body. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We do not want to come off as cheeseballs, but.................WOW!!! We desperately needed to get out of the city for a couple of days and after researching and reading about and looking at pix, we knew this was the one...and it most definitely was: it was just what we needed and more. We stayed in a room called "The Bird Room"---lovely, a bed that was so comfortable that it is a must to write about it: neither of us have ever felt the need to write about the comfortability of a bed before!!! The decor was just on the mark: tasteful, funky cool, artistic, real...............and the innkeepers were just that as well. We have only been back in Manhattan for a few hours and cannot wait to go back.............we would have stayed longer if it had been possible, but we had a rental car to return in the city. Many thanks for everything.............looking so so forward to the next time!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefsSmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

The Bird room has a special massive hand carved sleigh bed which is not only pretty but many find very comforting, so glad you felt this as well....delighted your stay in the Catskills was all you envisioned. Thanks very much for choosing Smythe House for your home away from home. Sincerely, David & Justine Smythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews