We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed but special”
Review of The Red Onion

The Red Onion
Reserve with OpenTable
The Red Onion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Saugerties
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Glasco Turnpike
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Relaxed but special”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I had dinner here for our wedding anniversary. The atmosphere is relaxed but elegant. There's patio setting which is comfortable. The staff are attentive and friendly. The food good with several creative, delicious dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Legluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    80
    14
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We LOVED this restaurant! The service was very warm and friendly. Ray who we think is the owner was gracious and we enjoyed getting to know him! He even brought out a taste of wine to go with one of our dishes which was so thoughtful. The dishes were incredible with the different favors! We thought it had a great ambiance and it had all of the elements to make this a great night out!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were able to get a last minute reservation on a Saturday night ... and made the 25 mile drive from Mount Tremper. What a treat. The food was delicious (I had the mussels and my husband had the seafood risotto), the service excellent, the margarita I had was potent and not too sweet (yum), and the atmosphere reminiscent of a country tavern. While we could only get a seat inside, the outdoor seating looked lovely. We'll got again next time we're in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Restauraunt in Woodstock area”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Sorry, even though in Saugerties, it is much closer to Woodstock and my favorite in either town. The Wed Oyster night is great, but I miss Margarita night :-(

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willysjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This used to be a reliable and very good restaurant. Our last two visits were extremely disappointing. We chalked the first bad experience up to just a bad night for the restaurant and thought that it was perhaps because we went mid week. We decided to take some friends with us on a weekend night and were surprised to see that not a single dish that we ordered was up to par.
The steak was tough, the chicken was somewhat tasteless although reasonably well cooked, the fish was truly terrible and Risotto was just so-so. We also tried an appetizer of grilled calamari with kimchee that was actually boring. The prices are high and they were out of several items that they neglected to mention until we were trying to order them . We recently ate at the New World Café which was much better. I don't think will be returning to the red onion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb0c0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Onion also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to The Red Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing