We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegan sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tomo Sushi

Tomo Sushi
Ranked #28 of 73 Restaurants in Saugerties
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westhampton Beach, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Vegan sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Yes I know: vegan sushi may sound weird but it is FABULOUS!!!! They have rolls with avocado, fried sweet potato , peanuts.....all good stuff !! We have just discovered this gem and highly recommend it ! The staff are all very kind and it is an enjoyable experience overall. It isn't manhattan so don't expect it. We love saugerties and its little sushi joint !!! Go Sayers!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lavida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Famished from driving from Vermont I stopped in the foreign town of saugerties looking for Sushi. I didn't expect too much but was pleasantly surprised. I was the only one dining during my stay so I was a bit apprehensive. I have no complaints the staff were friendly and promptly took my order. The pricing is average, I wouldn't say it was overpriced. It wasn't the best sushi I've eaten but it was good and worth the drive out of the way and the money spent.

Helpful?
Thank JonathanM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Decor nothing great - a bit dated but quite good sushi and friendly nice staff. I would eat there again for sure

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimOp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a surprising and delicious find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

In a bland shopping centre off the NY thruway in Saugherties is a friendly Japanese restaurant serving delicious sushi. My seven year old granddaughter wanted the family to try it ,, had been there before --and who could refuse her. What a welcome surprise. There are new owners --have the place for about hald a year and the food was oustanding. i recommend the Lobster roll and anything else that appeals to you. If they keep up the quality its quite a find.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Suprised...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I haven't been in Tomo like ages,and i was surfing the net "visiting "the best sushi places in the world. And i was stunned because Tomo was rated with 2 stars.
I remember they had the best baby toro i have eaten ,even the pieces were little but still tasty,the sashimi was great,the only annoying aspect was the line front of the restaurant,and of course i couldn't pay only with AMEX.
But still...the best!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hajnalka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomo Sushi also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to Tomo Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing