We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Economy hotel, would not give AAA discount” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Stratford, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Economy hotel, would not give AAA discount”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very basic economy hotel, but we got a big run-around when we tried to use our AAA discount, all kinds of excuses. It was so clear from inconsistencies in what we were told by front desk employees that the discount could have been applied to our stay if any the clerks had been willing to change the bill. First clerk said too late, but a different person the next day said we should have requested it the day prior, before the card was charged, only it had not been charged yet. If you stay here, make sure you request the discount in the adjoining diner, you have to ask for it, even when they know you are guests in the hotel. When we're back in that area, we'll try a different place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xcskimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saugertieshojo, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Your review is important to us as it helps us to identify problems and take corrective measures. We will advise our staff regarding this misunderstanding as we always aim to provide a stay that is satisfying and worth the value you paid for. Rest assured the comments you made will be addressed in order for us to improve our services, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    131
    155
    76
    63
See reviews for
209
116
33
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This motel is unacceptable in terms of cleanliness and room decor. The bedspread had visible burn marks, which was pretty disgusting. The bathroom needs to be gutted and redone. There were large clumps of adhesive on the floor in the bathroom doorway. The shower drain was broken. The garbage can had previous guest's refuse in it.
As several other reviews mention, the heating/cooling units in this place are terrible! They are VERY NOISY and cannot be turned off! We tried to, but it kept cycling on every 10 minutes, blowing cold air directly onto my son. He was woken up at 3am and had to get up to get a sweater to put on. The noise kept my husband up all night. I was awoken several times even with while wearing earplugs.
Since we were exhausted from getting no sleep, we did not even get to try out the pool.
Lastly, although the front desk clerk assured me we would receive a discount due to the heater's noise, I have called the motel three times to discuss this issue and have not received a call back yet. I am very disappointed with the unprofessional, mismanagement of this place. Would not recommend to anyone or ever go near it again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saugertieshojo, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We sincerely apologize for the very unfortunate incident you experienced at our Hotel. We are constantly seeking ways to improve the services that our Hotel offers and to hear about your unlikely stay is really saddening to us. Your comments regarding the cleanliness and upkeep of our Hotel will be taken seriously to ensure that these will not again in your future stay. Our Hotel aims to provide quality accommodations with great amenities for our valued guests. Our staff will be advised to assist our guests courteously and professionally. We aim to make a difference and hope for another opportunity to serve you should you decide to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Requested Non-Smoking although the adjoining room was smoking and it kept filtering into my room through the door so wasn't happy with smelling cigarettes for most the stay. The shower curtain was on a curved bar that didn't keep the curtain closed--kept sliding together toward the middle so couldn't help but end up with a puddle on the bathroom floor. The heater unit was very noisy--not very soothing, but to the point you needed to turn it off to hear a phone conversation at a normal rate. Plus it didn't get very warm regardless of turning it on high or low...more like loud or very loud. The sheets/ comforters has spots of blood or other fluids but were clean--no crumbs, wrinkles, and clearly smelled bleached. The evening desk staff member was friendly but the morning one wasn't for smiling. The restaurant servers were friendly and accommodating but ATM was out of service. $80- AAA rate midweek---a little high for the condition of the place overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saugertieshojo, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We appreciate you giving your insight about your experience. Your feedback is indeed of great importance to us. We sincerely apologize for the very unlikely experience during your recent visit at our Hotel. We are dedicated to delivering the best quality service to our guests, your comments will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve your satisfaction. Rest assured that the details you mentioned regarding your stay will be shared to our staff to ensure that corrective steps will be taken to maintain the cleanliness and upkeep of our accommodation and facilities.

Thank you for your business. We sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Indoor pool, sauna, and a clean, reasonably maintained room for under a hundred bucks? Yes, please! Friendly and helpful desk. No breakfast, but discount at adjoining diner. Nothing fancy, great value for families that like a pool. We'll be back.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saugertieshojo, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
It is very enlightening to know that you found great value at our Hotel during your recent stay with your family. Your positive comments encourage us more to do better in service delivery. We will continuously seek better ways to improve your stay with the comments you’ve mentioned. Please let us know of your next stay as we’re definitely looking forward to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Room is clean, however, the heater just sucks.. it turns itself randomly even though I turn it off. it's very noisy and makes the air very dry. Pool is OK, but the sauna is very small. had to wait in line to get in, and then it's not hot enough. it needs double door or people letting all the hot air out when they enter or exit. the pool room needs a Jacuzzi! all that afford to build a poll and a sauna and no Jacuzzi?? major set back in that department. Pillows and mattresses are uncomfortable. We had a third person and they brought out a wheel-away bed for extra $10 a night.. it was dirty and full of dust. Wifi was not working and i had poor internet connection throughout my stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank tauchenNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saugertieshojo, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We appreciate that you took time to let us know how your recent stay at our Hotel was. It is very saddening to know that you had inconvenience during your stay. Your comments regarding the room – heater and bed will be immediately taken action by our staff to ensure that your next stay will be comfortable and satisfying. We will also consider your comments regarding the Jacuzzi as well as better internet connection.

A great customer experience is what our Hotel aims for each of our guests. We hope to satisfy you more on your next stay with our even better facilities and services. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
5.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Address: 2764 Route 32, I-87 Exit 20, Saugerties, NY 12477-5108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Energy Star Certified and a Proud Member of the Green Business BureauHoward Johnson Inn - Saugerties hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 87. Our newly updated hotel near the Catskill Mountains offers all you need for an exciting trip to upstate New York. Take advantage of the handy perks we offer, like free Wi-Fi Internet, in-room microwaves and refrigerators, guest laundry, heated indoor pool, restaurant and large-vehicle parking. Enjoy free coffee, cappuccino and hot chocolate, available 24 hours a day in our lobby. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Book online today.LOCAL ATTRACTIONSCatch a kid-friendly live show at the Arm-of-the-Sea Theater or a movie at the Orpheum Theater. To learn something new, discover Opus 40 and the Quarryman’s Museum, historic Kiersted House, or the American Legion Museum. Spend time in the scenic Catskill Mountains, Cantine Dam Falls, Seamon Park or Esopus Bend Nature Preserve.Head to Kiwanis Ice Arena to watch a hockey game or enjoy public skating. Stroll along Saugerties Village Beach in the summer or hit the slopes in the winter at Windham and Hunter mountains. Get a bargain at nearby Hudson Valley Mall. No matter when you visit, do not forget to check out the variety of annual events like horse shows, music festivals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Saugerties
Howard Johnson Saugerties
Saugerties Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing