We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family restaurant.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackbirds Grill

Blackbirds Grill
Ranked #13 of 54 Restaurants in Sayville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Best burgers in town. Take the kids. Lively crowd, great service. Out of all the restaurants which have graced this location, I like Blackbirds Grill the best.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank joaniecookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    27
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant / bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Purchased a Living Social Coupon so figured I give it try. I was very happy with the overall experience. Food was very good but portions could have been a little bigger. I was able to satisfy my remaining hunger with very good deserts. Atmosphere was causal but nice and the service was very good. Great for couples, drinks with friends, or with your family. I look forward to going back soon. Definitely worth a try!

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nothing special...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I could have skipped this place. It was your typical bar/pub food trying to be something else. We went here before a show at a local theater on a Sunday for lunch. Very pricey as well! My burger although sizable had no taste. The French Onion Soup was the most enjoyable part of my meal, however, I didn't expect to pay $6 for a small crock at such a place. Those with me felt the same way. It was overpriced pub food that was not tasty at all. Service was just ok. I will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kjp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“revisited”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

The place seems to have an identity crisis whether they are a restaurant or a bar. Previously the food was excellent if pricey, now just pricey and the food was awful. Effort seemed to be lacking in the kitchen and rushed. the staff seems to be interested in the regulars no one else. Not much separation between the bar and the eating area so be prepared to have drunks wandering around while you are trying to eat. the place seems to be a sports bar, little else. very disappointing since my previous trip a few years ago. The prices are insane for pub food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrodoFlorida_U_S_A_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Stopped in for $7 lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We first noticed the $7 LUNCH sign Blackbird's looked like a nice place so why not. Basically a local bar with tables to eat at. Appeared clean with plenty of seating available dimly lit with large local scenery photos decorating the dining area was quite nice. Lunch board was brought over and my wife chose a wrap which she enjoyed. My self I went off the board and with a shrimp po-boy . I was rather pleased with the size of it with 4 rather ex-large butterfly shrimp on a nice fresh roll of some sort,it came with fries which were also unique with their crunchy topping. Had to have the key lime pie for dessert which was said to be homemade and it did taste like it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackbirds Grill also viewed

Sayville, Long Island
Sayville, Long Island
 
Sayville, Long Island
Sayville, Long Island
 
Sayville, Long Island
 

Been to Blackbirds Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing