We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
English Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Schenectady B&B and Inns
new york
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at this B&B back in February of 2014. We love the Historic Stockade area and was excited about this B&B located within the Stockade. However, we were sadly disappointed.. we checked in mid-afternoon, the room was nice and quaint, but very cold until late evening,No tea and cookies in the afternoon, which is typically a 'usual' at B&B's. The breakfast was not good.... ham quiche, we don't like ham, and the coffee was poor, tasted like it was brewed from an old Mr. Coffee... This was not the breakfast quality that would expect or that we have been used to at other B&B's. In addition to the high rate we were already paying for the room off seaon, we were charged an additional $20 more than what was quoted on the phone, but we didn't want to make an issue of it. I requested a confirmation when I booked the room, but did not receive one. We would not go back or recommend. Regretfully, this experience was VERY upsetting to us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fawn761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    7
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
6
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in the HUGE Martha room (pictured on this page) with very comfortable bed, sitting area, and semi-private bathroom. The bathroom does have a door to another bedroom, but no one else was staying at the time of our stay. The door joining our room to the bathroom did not have a latch or lock, though, so we were happy to have the place to ourselves! We also had access to a mini fridge right outside of our room. Wonderful breakfast provided with fresh fruit, huge egg casserole, sweet muffin, juice, and coffees. Virginia was helpful in providing suggestions for dinner. We also were permitted to bring our small (< 20 lb) dog with us to stay in the room for a fee ($15). Would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Bed was so big I needed a stool to get in it! I stayed in the front room in the summer so there was some street noise but it didn't go late. Service could not have been better. I arrived earlier than expected yet I was well taken care of. Loved the breakfast! The location can't be beat. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkptoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed 1 night. Had room on 2nd floor at top of 1 flight of stairs. The room was HUGE! Used to be the ballroom of the house. Had big bathroom, kitchen area with mini-frig, sink, table with 2 chairs, living room area with couch, easy chairs and fireplace, and bedroom area with 1 queen bed. French doors opened out to large deck area. Whole room was spotlessly clean. TV worked fine. Plenty of counter space in bathroom. Very quiet at night. Lovely breakfast in dining room-fresh fruit, juice of choice, creme brulee french toast, coffee or choice of teas. Plenty of street parking.

Room Tip: Stairs to second floor-no elevator. 1st floor room has no private bathroom within the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmaryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falmouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Huge rooms, with refrig, sink, microwave in hallway, TV, DVD player (with a dvd library available), desk, sofa, and a bathroom in the room. Nice breakfast-more than you can eat! Keep in mind that you can request a healthy breakfast (like yogurt, cereal, fruit, etc.) instead of a gourmet breakfast. Virginia was helpful and the location was top-notch. It's also walking distance from the train.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed three nights. As other reviewers have noted the inn is old (build in the late 1700s) but clean. Our TV didn't work well, but the beds were very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. there is some noise in the spring and summer with windows open - but not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mms30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed at the English Garden Bed and Breakfast for one night while visiting family in the Stockade section of Schenectady. The innkeeper, Virginia, welcomed me warmly when I arrived and showed me to my room. The only thing about my room is that I was told, when I reserved, that I would be in the Martha Room. I was checked into the Ellice Room -- a room on the lower level at the front of the house, which does not have a bathroom within the room. Guests staying in the Ellice Room need to walk down the hall to use the bathroom on the lower level. Be sure to confirm that you want a private bath and re-confirm when you are checking in. It was fine overall -- I was the only person using the bathroom and I was staying only one night.

The room had a TV and plenty of light for reading. The bed was comfortable with blankets, pillows and quilts a-plenty.

Breakfast was delicious! Virginia asked ahead of time if I had any food preferences or limitations, so I felt well cared for. She served an au gratin egg dish with fresh melon, juice and coffee. Very satisfying and more than I could finish!

Books and local tourist brochures abound if you arrive wishing for something to read.

Highly recommend that you make reservations well in advance, especially around holidays or local events.

Beautiful B&B -- I do recommend that you give it a try!

Room Tip: Ellice Room is on the first floor, front of house just as you enter the front door. I would not reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schenectady hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
0.1 mi away
The Stockade Inn
The Stockade Inn
#8 of 15 in Schenectady
118 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#4 of 15 in Schenectady
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Schenectady
125 reviews
130.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 15 in Schenectady
588 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Schenectady at Mohawk Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: English Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: 205 Union Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Region: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English Garden Bed & Breakfast is nestled in the heart of the Historic Stockade District of Schenectady, New York known for its 18th Century Elegance with 21st Century Service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing