We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - Bread, Pizza, Pastries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perreca's Bakery

Perreca's Bakery
Ranked #10 of 282 Restaurants in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
405 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Excellent - Bread, Pizza, Pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Perreca's Bakery is best known for the best Italian bread in town and they sell out by afternoon, so get here early. The pizza is also amazing as well as their Italian pastries and cookies. If you want an authentic Italian experience, Perreca's Bakery is a must visit for you. I haven't tried the breakfast or sandwiches but will some day as I hear they are very good.

While you are here, head around the corner to Garofalo's for the Italian sausage you'll probably ever had. I was born in an Italian home, Italian neighborhood in South Philadelphia, and the bread here at Perreca's Bakery and the sausage at Garofalo's is the best I've had in my entire life by far.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank STEBAY711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    24
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
232 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I've only eaten at Perreca's Bakery for breakfast, and have never
left unsatisfied. They serve their world-famous bread, baked in
their ovens on site. Staff was pleasant and efficient. An excellent
place to meet friends and enjoy a nice morning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Walsh13k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast ugh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have only eaten breakfast here. When Perreca's first opened breakfast was great and the prices okay. For me, in the past couple of years it's been not so good. The prices were abit higher than other local places. The last visit, Feb. 21,2014 , the food soso , plus it took forever to get the food. There were only 7 people there. Think I will wait awhile again before returning to see if it has gotten any better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank italysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perreca's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Pizza, Pizza,Pizza!!! If you've had it, you know what I mean! Probably best known for the best Italian bread in town, it is also an Italian deli and huge homemade cupcakes...but the Pizza! It is sold by the slice and I can't imagine how many pieces they go through in a day - but don't expect a hot cheese piece.. this is totally different and oh so good :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank UpstateNYKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schenectady
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fresh squeezed OJ for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

where in the capitol district do you get fresh squeezed orange juice with breakfast-pizza are great with toppings----didi I say thin and crispy--THIN!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank teacher1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perreca's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Perreca's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing