We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate mice!”
Review of Villa Italia

Villa Italia
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chocolate mice!”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Great for pre- or post-Proctors treats, Villa Italia features pastries and gelato. The chocolate mice are decadent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott48572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    38
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great Custom Cakes & Amazing Pastries”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I utilized Villa Italia for my wife's graduation party in late April. I wanted a unique cake for her celebration and they definitely delivered (both literally and figuratively). Armed with several photos and industry logos, they designed a Respiratory Therapist Graduation Cake that impressed all. It was delivered on time and tasted great. We also ordered two 7lb trays of assorted pastries and cookies (also delivered) and they too were plentiful and delicious. If you're in the market for a special cake designed specifically for your occasion and not just a square cake with a picture on it - Villa Italia is your bakery. Don't let the downtown Schenectady location nor their slightly higher prices deter you from trusting that they'll WOW your guests. The ordering process via phone, email and finally in person was easy and the manager great to work with.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank disneyguy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta, New York
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

If you want to come for lunch, try getting here during the earlier part of the rush. We got here a little before 12 and there weren't many people there. They have prepared sandwiches that they keep in the cooler and can heat up for you if you'd like. I had a roast beef sandwich cold, it was good. The bread made it great.

They have tons of pastries and sweets, and they also sell a nice selection of candies from Europe like good Haribo gummies you don't find in the drugstore and other good chocolates that I'd never even heard of or seen before. And even though its winter, I had to return to try the gelato. It is very pricy, almost $4 for a very small cup, but it was delicious. The girls behind the counter were all friendly and efficient. Even when it was busy during the lunch rush, they were on top of it all, making sure everyone was taken care of.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Springs, NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Cakes Ever!”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We used this bakery for a 50th Birthday Party and decided to go with 3 caks instead of 1 big one. All three were gorgeous and delicious! The amaretto cake was wonderful especially since it is out of the ordinary. I knew their cookies were great, but they will be our new cake gurus!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikcentralny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tasty desserts including great gelato. Pricy though”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The food is displayed beautifully and tastes very good, but it is a little pricy for picking up dessert for the family. For me, it's a place to go get something for a special occasion, such as one of their cakes (rum cake!) or to get one or two things, but not for picking up dessert for the crew. It has a cute seating area also.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MBRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Italia also viewed

 

Been to Villa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing