We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate to give a top rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Schenectady
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Schenectady
Van Nuys
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hate to give a top rating”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed at the Day's Inn for a week in August 2012. We have been stopping here every summer for about 5 years. The service is always good, the rooms are always clean and the breakfast is the best. The Wi-Fi is slow but no worse than other places. When it was down the desk clerk let me use her computer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navin p, General Manager at Days Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank You. We are working on the WiFi problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    67
    58
    94
See reviews for
93
54
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, Ny
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here for one night mid-week - hotel is decent - nothing to complain about but nothing to brag about either. The price was right, the room was clean, size was a little small but it's a basic hotel room. Breakfast was passable in the morning. I would stay here again if I had to. Very convenient location for Union College.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sOccermOm94_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navin p, General Manager at Days Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
We're making improvements everyday. We do believe there are things to brag about and more are on the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We pulled into the Holiday Inn and they were booked up. We tried the Days Inn across the street. They had rooms (no wonder). The first room we were given had a king size bed - I pulled the sheets back and a spider started crawling across the bed, then I saw another one on the comforter. After I squashed them I took them to the front desk to show the desk clerk. She was pleasant and offered us another room.
The next room had 2 double beds. The windows would not close in the rooms and there are no screens on the windows. Great - I had not checked the windows in the first room, but that could be why there were spiders there. I went back to the desk and by this time, it was an unfriendly male working at the desk. He said there were no other rooms available so we took our chances since it was late at night and we had not had much luck finding a place to stay that night. I stuffed the curtains in the windows to try to keep the bugs out.
We did not turn on the air conditioning/fan because it was filthy and I didn't want to blow all the dust into the room. The fan in the breakfast room was caked with dust too.
One bed had stained sheets and dirt on the them - the other one seemed clean and the bathroom was clean.
The breakfast was okay.
They do not give Days Inn hotels a good name.
They had a little note in the room saying that they strive to reach high standards (or something to that effect) and to let them know if you are disappointed and they'll try to resolve the problem. (not very likely)
The lady across the hall said their room seemed fine - maybe they lucked out with a renovated one.

Room Tip: $50 a night would be more like it for this place. Couldn't believe they wanted $140 and reduced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WANTTOGETAWAY65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navin p, General Manager at Days Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
We at Days Inn do strive for high standards and nothing is more disappointing to us than when our guests are disappointed. Unfortunately, it being late at night, we were unable to satisfy this guest in a timely manner, as we had no more rooms available. All these issues were addressed and rectified the very next day. Our desk clerks do whatever they can, whenever they can, to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We deeply regret it when we fail to provide our guests with a pleasant and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Schenectady hotels

Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I must say that I have never been to this part of NY before. I pulled into town after midnight and it was a very run-down town. If you are the type that is scared when you go to inner cities...this town is not for you.

As far as the hotel...we had no problems at all. Clean non-smoking room. Service was great.

Once again....It's the town that worried me, not the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny5ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navin p, General Manager at Days Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Nice comments about our property and staff are always appreciated. As far as our city, Schenectady is a very safe place to live and to visit. During the past 5 years our downtown area has undergone a tremendous makeover, thanks to the city's ongoing improvement project. Many new businesses have taken up residence here and continue to thrive. Our tourism continues to rise because of it and we encourage all our guests to experience the great restaurants, shopping, theatre, etc. Downtown is a 5 minute walk from our hotel and we always receive good feedback about their findings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The entire hotel smelled of stale smoke, inside and outside the rooms. The doors were loose and felt unsecured. I arrived here with my family and immediately left to the Holiday Inn across the road. Overall, it felt very dirty and unclean. AND we didn't get our money back.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guatarican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navin p, General Manager at Days Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We apologize for the unfortunate experience. This particular reservation was prepaid through a third party travel agency and we at Days Inn did not charge the guest or the travel agency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at this Days Inn in June 2012 and everyone was very friendly and helpful. They have been renovating and we stayed in a deluxe room that was very nice. The breakfast was very nice and had lots of cereals, fruit, bagels, breads, etc. We'd stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PittsfordNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navin p, General Manager at Days Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Our goal at Days Inn Schenectady is to provide the best accommodations and customer service to all our guests. Thanks for the compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We have found this hotel to be very friendly, accommodating and ready to help when needed. Their rooms are very clean. Another party traveling with us was very surprised at the low price for the room they were in. Their continental breakfast is better than larger hotels. We have been very pleased with this hotel and will continue to use this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Days Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thanks for the review. Our customers are always priority 1.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schenectady hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Schenectady
Quality Inn Schenectady
#11 of 15 in Schenectady
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Schenectady
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#4 of 15 in Schenectady
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stockade Inn
The Stockade Inn
#8 of 15 in Schenectady
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Schenectady at Mohawk Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Schenectady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Schenectady

Property: Days Inn Schenectady
Address: 167 Nott Ter, I-90 exit 25/I-890 Exit 5, Schenectady, NY 12308-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Schenectady 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Schenectady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Schenectady Hotel Schenectady
Schenectady Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing