We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ADK Hiking”
Review of Blue Ridge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Ridge Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schroon Lake
Syracuse,NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ADK Hiking”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here twice to hike in the near the Upper Works trails in the ADK. About a 20-30 min ride to get to the trailheads in Tawhaunus. Place was basic but very clean and the owner is doing all that he an to fix it up. Nice guy. Refrigerator in the room was nice to have. Reasonable rates and again very clean. Both times I arrived late and left early to hike. Would stay here again. Only 4 miles north of Schroon Lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jscibetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
18
13
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our stay at Blue Ridge Motel was very pleasant...the room and bathroom were basic but immaculate...and the owner makes it his business to see that you are satisfied. There is a basic continental breakfast included and the coffee was really good! There are beautiful trails that begin right on the property. Also, it is located minutes from town. By the way, Schroon Lake itself is beautiful and the town charming. Overall, Blue Ridge Motel is good value for the money. But don't expect frills!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice and clean perfect for a one night stay, located at about 30 minutes from Lake George if your looking for a not expensive night. It's very quiet. Don't expect to start your day with the continental breakfast as it is muffins and donuts and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flhjoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This place might not be the best choice for luxury seekers, but we really enjoyed it. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The location is excellent - not far from the interstate but still far enough to enjoy a great Adirondack setting and experience. The owners are friendly and helpful, and the prices are very reasonable. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The service I experienced:
Overall, the service provided was good for the price I paid for my one night stay.

How I liked the room:
Although a bit smelly (the smell went off after I switched on the AC), the room was spacious and had all the basic amenities.

The location & amenities:
Located adjacent to U. S. 9 in Shroon Lake NY, the motel was easily accessible and provided a comfortable stay for the one night we were there. There was ample space for parking. The room had a TV with Dish connection, a small refrigerator and a microwave oven. The price included a complimentary continental breakfast as well.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kush B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and got a good deal. The pros-easy off I-87. About 7 miles from town center. Nothing really on the premises for restaurant, lounge or excitement. There is a small children's playground, a firepit and your welcome to use it. They provide wood, picnic tables and a free standing BBQ. They do offer a continental breakfast that is low key, The offer a gallon of milk & OJ, boxed donuts ,yogurt, boxed cereal , coffee, hot tea. ok to hold you over or if you are a light Breakfast eater. The owner Jerry and "company" do a pretty good job keeping up with the place and its clean. There really isn't a lot to do in Schroon, off season anyways so you might not care to be so far away from town where it might give you something to do. There are only 4 rooms with heat and we had 2 of them. It was a comfortable stay. You have to get certain things at the office, such as a Hair drier. No smoking in the rooms but they offer 2 chairs outside your door w/table & ashtray. This is a MOTEL and not a fancy hotel but if you want to get away and not pay a lot this is the place. Walls are a little thin and you can hear lots when people are outdoors BUT it was quite most of the time because its away from town and set-back aways from the road. My husband was up the week-end prior and actually stayed at the MOTOR COURT same price, small cabin AND closer to town!! for the money I would stay at the Motor Court if I returned off season!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djdarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fingerlakes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We loved this place. The best thing is that they are pet friendly! The new owner has been working hard to re-build this motel up to a great standard. We got a brand new looking room. Abby our dog loved it there too! The owner was really pet friendly. We went on the off season the price was very reasonable and the showers HOT! You can even go hiking in the back woods there!
We loved it and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaandScott201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schroon Lake
16.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
19.7 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
126 reviews
23.9 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Super 8 Ticonderoga
Super 8 Ticonderoga
#2 of 6 in Ticonderoga
259 reviews
7.0 mi away
Tumble Inn
Tumble Inn
#4 of 7 in Schroon Lake
64 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#5 of 6 in Ticonderoga
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ridge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ridge Motel

Property: Blue Ridge Motel
Address: 2455 US Route 9, Schroon Lake, NY 12870-3207
Region: United States > New York > Schroon Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schroon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 peaceful Adirondack acres. Heated pool, a/c, picnic/bbq area, playground, campfire pit, trails to the Schroon River. Refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers. Wireless Internet access. Enjoy our complimentary (& delightful) continental breakfast. The only AAA-rated motel in Schroon Lake. We look forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Ridge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing