We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ridge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Ridge Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schroon Lake
Massachusetts
1 review
“Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

We had a wonderful vacation! The Blue Ridge Motel is a great place for families - our children can't wait to come back (& neither can we). The playground, campfire pit, heated pool - we even walked the trails to the Schroon River and spotted an old "still" on the way! Such an adventure! Deer grazing on the front lawn each morning was especially nice. Only 5 minutes to "town" - but a world away! We plan on returning!!! Highly Recommended!

  • Liked — Everything! New carpet, new beds, great breakfast!
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bean1367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
tacoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2007

We stayed at the Blue Ridge Motel for one night on the way to Montreal. We found them in the AAA book and called them on the morning of our intended stay. They held a room for us without taking a credit card and were very welcoming when we arrived. This is a great retro motel - clean and well maintained, but with lots of personality. Definately not Motel 6 or Best Western. There was lots of hot water. There was a fresh flower in the bathroom and a rubber duck in the shower, popcorn on the microwave and candy in a jar. They say they have added cable service to the rooms, but we never turned on the TV. We did sit in the Adirondack chairs outside our room in the evening and swam in the pool. I personally liked the fact someone had spray painted the outlet covers gold - but I like quirky touches and back highway places. The refrigerator was unpluged when we arrived, so it took a little while to cool down. Bathrooms are small, but adequate and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archivist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2007

The office was closed upon our arrival at 9 pm, thankfully we called to notify management we would be arriving late but only could leave a voice message. We found the room key taped to the door of our room. The rooms were quaint and clean, but we had NO HOT WATER. The management did little to accommodate us, so were not able to shower. At checkout we requested a reasonable reduction in the rate due to not having any hot water which was denied.

So keep going and find another place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank passinby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Schroon Lake hotels

texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2007

Nice large room. Bathroom is a little small, but great water pressure, nice hot water, and over-sized plush bathtowels - I'm in heaven!!! Our 3rd day here we were unable to make the continental breakfast as we wanted to snap some sunrise photos about 45 minutes away. We casually mentioned this to the manager, and she delivered pastries, fruit, and bottled juice to us the night before so we could have a bite to eat before we left in the morning. We saw this personal attention the whole week we were there. Truly a charming place in a beautiful location.

  • Liked — touches and amenities and service that were far beyone our expectations (very 5-star'ish for a little motel in the country)
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dallasbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2006

This place is a gem! My family and I felt so welcome. The room was very comfortable - and of course the area is magnificent. This was intended to be a stopover on our way to Montreal, but we ended up changing our plans and staying here. Why go from one big city to another on vacation? We felt we had such a nice room (great amenities!!!) - why pay triple? We'll be back!!!

  • Liked — felt like home; friendly host
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhillyTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2006

It's a quaint little motel, that reminded me of my childhood when my Mom andDad would stuff all of us kids(seven!) into a stationwagon and we'd stay at road side motels like this. Nice little surprises, soap was excellent. I had stayed in a $250/night hotel in Montreal the evening before and couldn't hook up to the internet for work. But in this little hideaway in the Adirondaks I was able to hook up and get my reports done! My only regret is I was too tired to sit out on one of those Adirondak chairs and enjoy the stars.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Leaf16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conneticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2006

We've stayed at several "mom & pop's" in the Adirondacks before - and this is definitely the nicest one we ever visited. All the little touches: large, thick bath towels (& wonderful water pressure) were most welcome after our 8 hour hike on the first day.

The room has alot of little touches that indicate a big welcome: fresh flowers in the bath, a jar of candy, decorated like a real home, popcorn for the microwave...

I must admit we were taken aback to find out we could only get one channel on the tv (and our children were a little more than taken aback!). However, it turned out to be a blessing. We took an early evening swim the in the pool and enjoyed a campfire well into the night. Since there are no cities nearby, the night sky was absolutely amazing!!

We would definitely recommend the Blue Ridge Motel to our friends.

  • Liked — the continental breakfast - excellent!
  • Disliked — initially the last of television options - but that actually iimproved the family experience
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schroon Lake
19.7 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
23.7 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
7.0 mi away
Tumble Inn
Tumble Inn
#4 of 7 in Schroon Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#7 of 7 in Schroon Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ridge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ridge Motel

Property: Blue Ridge Motel
Address: 2455 US Route 9, Schroon Lake, NY 12870-3207
Region: United States > New York > Schroon Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schroon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 peaceful Adirondack acres. Heated pool, a/c, picnic/bbq area, playground, campfire pit, trails to the Schroon River. Refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers. Wireless Internet access. Enjoy our complimentary (& delightful) continental breakfast. The only AAA-rated motel in Schroon Lake. We look forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Ridge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing