We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely home; Very personal service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Spruce Inn

Silver Spruce Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schroon Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Spruce Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Schroon Lake B&B and Inns
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
194 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Lovely home; Very personal service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This rambling old home is lovely. Ask Phyllis to give you the tour and ask her about the home's history, the secret liquor cubbies and the moveable walls.

Each room is unique and I think they all have attached bathrooms. The plumbing and fixtures are old - this isn't a newly renovated commercial hotel - but it's a really charming place to stay so just overlook the water pressure n the showers!

Breakfast is terrific and if you have a large party like we did, Phyllis will serve it to accommodate your schedule. She even got up at 4AM to put coffee on for us to fortify us for our sunrise photography shoot. Phyllis will also accommodate food allergies. Just ask her ahead of time.

I highly recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmmidwesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a great place - very historic old building with lovely rooms. The breakfasts were also wonderful. The owner is trying to sell the place so it's not clear what it's future is. Very friendly owner. Closed in the winter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMWCleveland_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The huge perennial garden delineated by river birch and gazebo set against giant spruce & pine trees greet you when entering the large parking lot.This Bed and Breakfast Inn is really something special. The section built in the 1790's a true testimony to the craftsmanship of the time, but the larger portion built in 1926 is an experience worth your while. Cedar paneling, varied and wide plank flooring, six foot wide fireplaces with garnet hearths, walls that fold up to the ceiling, secret bookshelves that open into the bootlegger's stash for booze, rough cut staircases with low risers, and a most amazing speakeasy bedecked with a bar and bar-back from the Waldorf Astoria. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the updated vintage bathrooms have amenities found nowhere else (you'll have to come and see). Highly recommend this B&B

Room Tip: Carriage House for Romance, Main House for casual travel, family, business and a little romance too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xinnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conowingo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I have been going up to Schroon Lake, NY and Lake George area since i was about 6 years old. I never paid much attention to things back then but i always enjoyed my time up there where i went to camp. I didnt come up for a few years but recently, the camp i once attended has gotten my interest again and i decided to start coming back up for vaction with my girlfriend. I always go to the beach and other areas to get away but all you do is fight traffic and angry families just to stand in line and wait to eat or see an attraction. Since there was no great places to stay in schoon lake i decided to try the silver spruce. Phyllis is a wonderful wonderful host. My girlfriend caitlin and I sat and talked with her a while about the histroy of the hotel and her family life as well. Her husband ran the place with her but passed away and she now runs things along with a few close friends and family members. Even for all the rooms and land that she has to maintain she does a fantastic job! The rooms are very clean, relaxing and there was no probelms. There are no TVs which i thought id hate but i was out most of the day doing things that i didnt miss it. At night i just used my laptop to watch a movie while eating dinner and then went to bed. You wake up and enjoy a beautiful view, get a warm shower or bath in the jacuzzi tub and then go into the dining room and enjoy a real homemade breakfast. The fire was going each morning and gave a warming feeling to the room. Breakfast was very good and plenty left over if you wanted more. No question went unanswered, no need unattended to. You wont be dissapointed at this location. Go, relax, take it all in and give Phyllis your thanks, she works very hard to give a great experience to everyone.

Room Tip: Chose the barn to stay in. It may be 150$ a night but its worth it for sure, more up to date and rus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We just completed our 5 night stay at the Silver Spruce Inn in Schroon Lake, and it was absolutely out of this world! As you've most likely read in other reviews, between the history of the property and the tour of the home, including the speakeasy from the original Waldorf-Astoria hotel, you get the feeling that you wish you were around during the property's hey-day, or felt something close to it.

Phyllis was most welcoming and despite having to maintain this huge 9000 sf Inn, does it with such calm, having run this business with her late husband for over 30 years.

We feel very lucky to have stayed in room 5, which was the original owner's bedroom - a suite with a rather large bathroom.

The grounds are absolutely gorgeous and don't overlook the nearby river for a quiet day of swimming or just some peace - definitely a world away...

We would love to go back again - thanks Phyllis!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoMuchToSeeOutThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in the carriage house last fall and we had a lovely stay!! (I actually thought I had left a review at the time but I must have forgotten.) Phyllis was so accommodating and such an enthusiast of the history of the Silver Spruce. She gave us a tour of her fascinating property and I could feel the history all around me. Breakfast was delicious. Rooms were very clean and comfy. I fell in love with this property! Thank you Phyllis for a lovely get-away :)

Room Tip: We did not stay in the main house, so I can't speak to those rooms. But the Carriage house has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebekahRuth17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed here for a week during the summer of 2012. It's very well maintained, and the owner and staff was very friendly. Breakfast was homemade and was a variety of eggs, bacon, fruit, toast, muffins, cereal and juice. The building and the land has some interesting history relating to Prohibition, so be sure to ask about it. The rooms and beds are spacious. The style is a mix of "rustic" or early 20th century, although all hardware seems brand new.

Although on the map it looks relatively close to the highway, it's actually in a very quiet out-of-the-way section of the county. However, it was still close enough to everything I wanted to see in the area, like downtown Schroon Lake, Fort Ticonderoga, or Lake Placid.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schroon Lake
5.2 mi away
Tumble Inn
Tumble Inn
#4 of 7 in Schroon Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.0 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#7 of 7 in Schroon Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blue Ridge Motel
Blue Ridge Motel
#1 of 3 in Schroon Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Chestertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Fern Lodge
The Fern Lodge
#1 of 8 in Chestertown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
9.5 mi away
Elk Lake Lodge
Elk Lake Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Hudson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Spruce Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Spruce Inn

Property: Silver Spruce Inn
Address: Rte 9, Schroon Lake, NY 12870-0426
Region: United States > New York > Schroon Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Schroon Lake
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing