We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catskill Seasons Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shandaken
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Catskill Seasons Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Shandaken B&B and Inns
Rheinbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had trouble finding a place to stay for the night on a saturday evening and dropped into the Inn by chance and were surprised: nice and clean room and a marvelous dinner, we would never have expected. At a very reasonable price. We will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    11
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
19
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I visit this area quite often and usually stay with my brother n sister in law. This visit during Columbus Day weekend friends of ours wanted to go upstate n join us. We decided to stay with them at the Inn. We were so impressed with this 3 bedroom suite. The balcony view was breathtaking. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated with all wood floors, 3 nice sized bedrooms and the mattresses were great. Kitchen with all the amenities and 2 bathrooms. Large dining and living room. I would love to go back and stay there. The restaurant also serves some of the best food in the Catskills and very reasonably priced. The suite was worth every dollar. Which was also reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was looking for a place to stay for a family wedding nearby, and took a shot at Catskills Seasons Inn- better than I expected! The room was a nice size, big enough for just me, clean, and had everything I needed. I only stayed 1 night, but would come back or recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here in August and when we arrived, there a was a prominent pusty smell in the room. The owner said that it hadn't been used in a while. I know why. the adjacent room had a broken window and was propped open. The room apeared to be clean but the carpet was dirty and the smell never left. The couch was covered with an old bed spread to cover its aged upholstery. When we awoke the next morning, there were ants on the kitchen counter. Not one or two, about fifty. When we went to the pool, there two dead ground moles in the bottom of the pool. How long does it take for an animal to drown, then sink to the bottom? No attention to the small details that make a faction experience feel good. Would NEVER go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cepanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catskillseasons, Manager at Catskill Seasons Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value guest feedback, so that we can continually improve. I remember your bringing the musty odor of your accommodation, up to a staff member. I immediately went to the accommodation and did not smell anything, as the open windows must have freshened the air inside a bit. You also agreed that you did not smell anything either. If this were a continual problem throughout your stay, I wished you had brought it to my attention as your stay was for a few days and I'm sure we could have moved you to another accommodation. The room has been rented every weekend and no other guests mentioned any odor. We want our guests to be comfortable and happy. When you pointed out the mole in the outdoor swimming pool, we again took immediate action and had it removed. We apologize for that ugly inconvenience, but being in a very rural country setting and the recent rains, these things are an occurrence in this area. The pool is checked daily. 50 ants on a kitchen counter is unfortunate. Our apologies, but pests will be attracted to food left on a counter especially next to an open window in a garden level accommodation. There were no other prior complaints regarding ants.
As for the slip cover on the sofa, (it is a fitted slip cover, not an old bedspread ) it is there purposely so that it can be laundered. Many larger families such as yours, seem to appreciate that it is there. Carpets are shampooed and or replaced periodically. We will inspect and take action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Catskill Seasons Inn 2 years ago and this place is still exceptional in every way. The location is great for hiking and close to Woodstock. The rooms are well appointed and very large. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and basketball hoops. The staff at the bar and restuarant are always friendly and very helpful. The food in the restuarant is exceptional. The quality and presentation of dinner is sonething we always look forward to. We will definately be back on our next visit to NY.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

When we arrived at this establishment, we checked in with the manager at the restaurant that seemed to be annoyed that we were disturbing his afternoon! After a few moments with us, he reluctantly answered some of our questions. We then proceeded to our room. It was neat in appearance but seemed very dirty. The comforter had a blood stain on it YUK. Just because you stick an Airwick room freshener in and it smells clean, doesn't mean it is. I was a little skeeved out by the whole place. It was also pricey for such a basic room.

Room Tip: I think they have rooms above the restaurant, they may be better than the separate accommodation blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catskillseasons, Manager at Catskill Seasons Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Catskill Seasons Inn. I sincerely apologize if your welcome was less than warm, helpful and friendly. I will try address this with staff, but the
fact that we cannot place you or your date of check in makes it difficult. We believe our rates are one of the most reasonable for the level of accommodation we offer. We wish you had brought to our attention the stain on the comforter. We would have changed it immediately. From time to time these things slip by housekeeping . Neat in appearance or very dirty, which is it. Anyway,
please email me directly, so that we can determine which room you were in so that we can
correct any problems and improve guest satisfaction. info@catskillseasonsinn.com
Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I am picky! So if I like accommodations they have to be really good! CSI is a great place. Unfortunately we were only there for one night. The good; beautiful big, bright, clean bathroom, big room with two comfy queen beds, ac for the humid summer weather, Wi-Fi, cell service( which is usually only available in town), pool(which we did not use), fire pit, outside sitting and dinning areas, lovely restaurant(which we did not get to try), easy check in and out, off the main road so its quiet! The Bad; we didn't stay longer

Room Tip: Main building was great, cannot speak about the chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shandaken
4.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
3.7 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
6.7 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.9 mi away
Belleayre Lodge
Belleayre Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pine Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Seasons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Seasons Inn

Property: Catskill Seasons Inn
Address: 178 State Route 42, Shandaken, NY 12480-5601
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Shandaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shandaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Catskill Seasons Hotel Shandaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing