We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

J. Roccos Steakhouse and speakeasy
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Shandaken
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Dumont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We passed this restaurant ever since it opened a few years ago but never stopped. It always looked like a bikers/locals kind of place. We stopped twice in the last few weeks and were pleasantly surprised! Food was very good and very fresh. We had a shrimp appetizer along with our dinner that was very good. Wine was a very nice pour and Hennepin beer on tap made my husband happy. Atmosphere was cute with chalkboard menus. Will definitely eat here again.

P.S. Free popcorn

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank b o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A magical view with some character”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We have been to Rocco's a handful of times now in summer and winter and it has become one of our favorites. The location is on a river and wildlife can be seen...eagles grabbing fish from the river, and one time we saw a bear! Very cool...as long as we were inside! Sitting outside in the summer around the fire is great and the wood stove in thewinter keeps the mood warm and cozy. We have ordered the steaks and the specials that are an amazing deal( tons of leftovers to take with you every time) and the oysters on the halfshell were really a nice treat. Burgers are large and have creative toppings is you so desire. We just can't say enough about this place on the Esopus that still has character and really fresh food, so hard to find now with all the boring chains! Staff is always, freindly and all have a good sense of humor to lighten the moment when the place gets packed and people have to wait a little longer than usual for a table...worth the wait!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rt66mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We've eaten here a few times, and have always had a good meal-- from steaks to burgers, wings, salad and a smoked trout appetizer. The staff and owner are very friendly and the atmosphere has a nice, rustic Catskill feel. They also have a great draft beer selection.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kdwagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Steakhouse in the Catskills”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Ate here once both the wife and I had the prime rib which was the special on Saturday night. It was very good and reasonably priced. Servers were very attentive and caring. They have an outside fireplace but it is where the smokers congregate, not for me. They had entertainment the night we visited (weekend) which was very enjoyable.
Worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's a good Honest American eatery!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This place was recommended to us by a bartender in Margaretville--what a great recommendation! The waitress was fantastic and I loved the pork wings and my boyfriend had an excellent prime rib. When you are seated, they serve you fresh-popped popcorn! All very reasonably priced ($60 for a main course, two drinks, salad bar, and a dessert for me {can't resist blueberry pie})!

The only disappointment was when we left to go to the car, outside the staff had lit a pit fire and I was attracted to it like a flame to a moth, but the staff would have nothing to do with us--they were not very friendly at all. Mind you they probably had a busy night and couldn't be bothered. Having worked in a restaurant myself, I can understand that may have been the case, but still no excuse!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J. Roccos Steakhouse and speakeasy also viewed

Big Indian, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 

Been to J. Roccos Steakhouse and speakeasy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing