We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!”
Review of The American Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sharon Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The American Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sharon Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a blast at the American Hotel this week. Sharon Springs is a treasure, as are the Beekman Boys, Doug and Garth, Tony, Maureen and all the other fun folks who call it home. Very wonderful breakfast and dinner - seafood is just fabulous. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

the owners of this charming small hotel have thought of everything when it comes to making their guests happy. the rooms are warm and cozy. we found ourselves chatting with the owners, employees and other guests by the end of our stay like they were old friends. the menu in the restaurant looked fantastic and the food did not disappoint. we had dinner as well as brunch there and it was spectacular. we have already booked our return trip to The American and cant wait!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjpdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This historic hotel offers the best of experiences. The room was comfortable, the food amazing & the staff friendly. Photo albums show how a decrepit building was transformed into a gem. Our dinner and breakfast were comparable to any 5 star restaurant in NYC or New Orleans. The owners shared stories with us about the renovations and we were treated with warmth and friendliness. Definitely a return visit is warranted.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambush53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here several times and it's always been great. The owners treat you like family. The food and staff are excellent. Although there's not a lot to do in the town they do have a harvest festival in the fall. Cooperstown and Glimmerglass state park is a short drive.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cablebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in Sharon Springs for just one night while on our vacation. The hotel is right in the middle of everything. The room was small and right off of the upper balcony. The tub in the bathroom was dangerously slippery. Other than that the room was comfortable.
Dinner and breakfast were great. Atmosphere in the lobby is very friendly, and the owners are there to make you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank federal122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Having stayed at a number of hotels and B&Bs in the New England area, we can safely say that this one is the best. From the moment of arrival until we pulled out of the parking lot to return home, we were treated with warmth and congeniality. The owners make it a point to introduce themselves and chat with their guests, both at the reception desk and in the restaurant, and the staff is absolutely fantastic. Everyone had a smile and was eager to share their knowledge of Sharon Springs with us, and really made us feel like a part of the community. Our only complaint is that everyone made it so difficult for us to leave--we will certainly be returning!

Everyone who stays at the hotel (or in the Sharon Springs area) should stop in for dinner; the menu is original, fresh, and delicious, and the portions are (very) hearty. If you do stay at the hotel, you'll notice that your stay includes breakfast. You might be expecting a continental spread, with some muffins and mini-boxed cereals...instead, you get to choose from a menu including (as of this writing) corn cakes, omelets, granola, eggs, blueberry pancakes, and more. Everything is top-quality, and will leave you waking up early the next day for more.

To everyone at the American Hotel, we can't thank you enough. You provided us with exactly what we needed--relaxation, conversation, and smiles. We can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at this restored hotel in early September 2013 and were totally delighted with everything. The staff was warm and helpful, the room pretty and comfortable but the "piece de resistance" was the restaurant and the wonderful menu. The lobster stew had more lobster than most seafood platters and the beef tenderloin appetizer was generous enough to be an entrée if you just add a salad. I cannot give enough praise for our hosts and the entire experience. We plan to return soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatemartini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharon Springs
11.0 mi away
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
#1 of 3 in Cobleskill
310 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Cobleskill
467 reviews
16.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Schoharie
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
20.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
11.3 mi away
Countryside Inn
Countryside Inn
#1 of 1 in Richmondville
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Hotel

Address: 192 Main St, Sharon Springs, NY 13459-3136
Region: United States > New York > Sharon Springs
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sharon Springs
Price Range: £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The American Hotel, Sharon Springs Hotel Sharon Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing