We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nature Preserve -Easy and Beautiful”
Review of Mashomack Preserve

Mashomack Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Nature Conservancy property spans 2,100 acres, and accounts for one-third of the land on Shelter Island.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Nature Preserve -Easy and Beautiful”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I loved the woman volunteer who was eager to make my visit memorable. I especially loved sitting at the entry way and windowed bird feeder. The walk was easy and pretty and did not feel like a hike. This preserve makes you feel happy. By the way Big Ram Island is a short drive away and you can observe Ospreys up close in their outrageous nests.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    25
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We got a wonderful early summer day here and had the place to ourselves. A serenely peaceful afternoon we have great memories from. Spotted some great birds, butterflies and native flowers. Look out for ticks though!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank surfingonsinewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nature Conservancy area full of birds!”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This is a beautiful spot for a walk, you will see lots of different birds and trees, with magnificent vistas. The visitor center has education displays, and a window looking out over very busy bird feeders! Highly recommended!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank doodles_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really beautiful and worth a trip”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Had a great hike in this well-cared for nature preserve. Hikes available are 1-10 miles, mostly flat terrain. Center is staffed by knowledgable volunteers.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank RSL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We thought this preserve was really pretty and the trails were easy to follow. Went with a 5 year old who was very excited to see all of the butterflies on the butterfly trail and was not disappointed. There was an information center with lots of interactive exhibits for the kids to play with.

No jogging on the trails which was a bummer. Would have been nice to use the trails for exercise.

Probably doesn't need to be said but bring bug spray.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KmSmS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mashomack Preserve also viewed

 
Shelter Island, Hamptons
 

Been to Mashomack Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing