We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of a place”
Review of 18 Bay

18 Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
18 Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Duvall Rd.
Description: 18 Bay is a Chef owned and operated restaurant. We serve a four course Italian inspired Chefs menu that is a direct reflection of the local markets. Dinner begins with four different antipasti, followed by a handmade pasta, a choice of entree and dessert. The menu changes every week. We make handcrafted cocktails using organic syrups, serve local wine including two on tap, as well as international wines from small producers. We offer a vegetarian menu and accommodate for any allergies or aversions. We look forward to sharing with you our interpretation of the best of our terroir.
New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A jewel of a place”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Really nice staff, wonderful food, very accommodating on special preferences, good wine, reasonable prices for that part of te world.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hal013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    19
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Beach, Miami Beach
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Local Food, Cosmopolitan Ambiance”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We heard about 18 Bay at Sylvester Manor north on NY 112. 18 Bay gets some of its produce from Sylvester Manor and other local farms. We were there in late May, a good time for early vegetables. The food was well-presented and cordially served. While the restaurant is in a adapted home, the ambiance was sophisticated, but relaxed in the Eastern Long Island style. Seafood and vegetables in May on Long Island. What more could you want?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flamingo33139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely the best restaurant on shelter island these days!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Me and my husband were at this family feeling restaurant few times, mostly just for a couple drinks. We like to sit on bar, it has only around 10 seats, what works for us, service is prompt and really good. Drinks are always delicious!
We had dinner here for a special occasion, we made reservation in advance. What amazed me right away, is little "interview" on phone about allergies, vegetarians or vegans coming. Since my husband is vegan, i was really happy they can prepare whole four course dinner even for him. Antipasti was great, idea of four little appetizers is interesting. Homade Pasta was ok, I wasn't amazed, but was good. Real highlight came with fish. It was the most deliciously prepared fish I've ever had in my life! After first bite I knew it was worth it to eat here! Desert was nice, quite simple- Icecream, but you can't go wrong with that.
When we ate here second time, it wasnt planned in advance and there I found out, they can cook vegan on fly too!
This restaurant is definitely not for fast dinner. Breaks between courses take a little, but atmosphere is worth it.
I must give thumb up to staff too! Most of them is very young, but they are bunch of "kids" who want to work and they do really great and professional job!
We paid 200$ for two of us, included tip. Not bad for shelter island! And for kind of food and service we had not at all!
We will be back! Sooner better!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eatgoodpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamptons. NY
Level Contributor
97 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A $55 prix fixe? Great bargain if you stick to water.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We'd heard a lot about '18 Bay', nearly all of it good. So, boarding the ferry at Sag Harbor for Shelter Island, we were anticipating a special evening. Mainly, this is what it turned out to be. The homely building is a former supermarket. On a late summer Sunday as we entered the restaurant, it felt almost as if we were having dinner with neighbors. The restaurant was half filled (we were early) so we cozied up to the bar and asked the pleasant young woman to make us a couple of their own cocktails. The Manhanset - vodka with a lemony spin - sparked our appetites. We moved to the table and then waited forty minutes. When we gently asked our black-shirted waiter for a progress report on our 'tasting plate' of four appetizers, we received a curt 'it's coming' for a reply. We gave middling marks to three of the four dishes but the mushroom soup was foamy and bland. Another twenty minutes passed until the arrival of a green pasta with crispy oysters; a novel pairing and quite tasty, if a bit 'meh'. We asked for salt and pepper (often lacking in restaurants with a dedicated cuisine) to kick up the flavor but, as if to prove our tastes were not sufficiently sophisticated, the seasonings never materialized. The two entrees were outstanding - a sea bass with a knock-out succotash of vegetables, and a medallion of lamb supported by a jus of darker meat that simply ka-powed on the tongue. The crumble dessert was an anti-climax, stodgy and lukewarm. Wines were excellent; three glasses of a North Fork organic sauvignon from the Shinn vineyard and a glass of powerful Nebbiolo. The bill for two, including cocktails, wine, service and a 20% tip was $240.00. A long way from the prix fixe but we wanted to try '18 Bay' and now we had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank makoHamptons.NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Went on Friday the 13th of September 2013. First ones for dinner service.....beyond great!!!!
Everything was absolutely fantastic .......want to give it a very low rating so no one else goes here and ruins this gem on shelter island......what a dinner we had...!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mybackhurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 18 Bay also viewed

Shelter Island, Hamptons
Shelter Island, Hamptons
 
Greenport, North Fork
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to 18 Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing