We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for a wedding”
Review of Ram's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ram's Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The setting is remote and beautiful with sweeping lawns leading down to the water. The service was fairly good, but never enthusiastic or exceptional. Many rooms have shared bathrooms which caused some social awkwardness. The food and drinks were tasty, but we ate many meals away from the Inn just for variety. It was very pleasant to sit on the large porches and visit with others attending the wedding.

Room Tip: Be aware that many rooms have a shared bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a great little independent hotel on Shelter Island, off Long Island, New York. It was built in the thirties in the Long Island grey "Clapboard" style that you find all over the island and retains most of its original period features. It is set in a spectacular location up above the sea with grounds running down to a small beach. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Shelter Island is a very peaceful and pleasant area with the added bonus of lots of breeding ospreys - very spectacular! The only drawback is that the restaurant is not open during the week at this time of year (June) and the nearest restaurants require a car journey. Also we found this end of Long Island a little expensive, probably due to the proximity to the snooty Hamptons (best avoided - they don't really want tourists in the Hamptons)

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have en suite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

On Saturday, October 2nd, my husband and I had our wedding reception here, and our families stayed together in all 17 rooms at the Inn. Our whole weekend was nothing short of amazing, from the adorable guest rooms to the excellent and abundant food, to the incredible country meets ocean setting. Everyone keeps telling us what a unique and fabulous place the Ram's Head was for our wedding, and our families already can't wait to come back for a reunion weekend next summer. Kelly the event manager and Shawn the chef are both at the top of their game and super professional. We will be coming back here for years to come as often as we can. We can't say enough about this place. It's just the best place you can go on Shelter Island.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKP10210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My wife and I have frequented the Ram's Head Inn several times over the last decade, and while we were upset when the Inn was put on the market and disappointed with the food and service during that time, whatever the owners/management have done for the 2010 season is fantastic! This was by far the all around best experience we've had at the Inn. From the new chef & local menu to the polished and friendly staff, we feel like whatever was lost over the past two years has been found and greatly improved. We booked our family reunion at the end of October with the Inn's event coordinator, Kelly, this past weekend. She put my wife and I at ease and made the event of 120+ people appear seamless.

We're very happy that the Inn is back and can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BklynWoodWorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

I was looking over this site and saw the last review. I stayed there with my husband for four fantastic days in August. I understood that the Inn was taken off the market in 2008 and the staff, chef and owners were delightful. They were gracious, accommodating and just friendly group. While the weather was not the greatest, maybe that was the problem for the last review, the Inn and island was great. I have made my reservations for the same room and the same time this coming season. We may even go for a drive this winter and take a look around. I know they have another hotel in the historic district of Shelter Island that is open all year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailaway84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We couldn't have had a better experience at the Ram's Head. My brother held his wedding there and the staff and management were fantastic! The site couldn't have been more beautiful, the food and service were outstanding. The management was very helpful at every turn, and handled our large group with grace and style. They made us feel at home and took care of our every need. We will have wonderful memories of the wedding for the rest of our lives. Thank you Ram's Head!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pritch5155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I'm sorry to say that this inn is not worth the trip. Shelter Island is beautiful and we've stayed at several properties there over the years, none of which are particularly great. The main problem with the Ram's Head is, as my husband pointed out, you pay "luxury" prices and the inn is kind of crummy. I'm happy to pay $550 for a hotel suite, and will certainly pay much more than that if I'm staying somewhere nice, but the Ram's Head isn't. The grounds are beautiful, but the rooms are dingy and feel cheaply thrown together and badly in need of updating. We got three rooms and all had old, worn wall-to-wall carpeting. There was a 3" gap at the base of our door, so we could hear every footstep and conversation up and down the hall. In fact, facing our door was a bathroom shared between several rooms, which had a door that stuck; everyone who went in and out slammed the door to close it, day and night. The bathtub was beaten up and difficult to stand in because of its awkward shape, with a shower head that was much too low. The water pressure was very poor, and the temperature of the water was impossible to regulate. The hotel claims to have a/c, but little to no cool air came out of the registers all weekend and all 6 of us were too hot. The service in the restaurant is slow and housekeeping was unresponsive and ignored our "do not disturb" sign. In all, it felt like staying in a dorm room. I would have been satisfied had I paid $150 - $200, but we will never stay there again. Try the Harbor Front in Greenport; for the same price, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sarspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
3.4 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
73 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#3 of 5 in Shelter Island
241 reviews
16.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
9.8 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
119 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ram's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram's Head Inn

Address: 108 Ram Island Drive, Shelter Island, NY 11965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range: £78 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ram's Head Inn is a gracious center hall colonial with 17 charming and comfortable suites. It's a world apart, without being a world away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ram`s Head Hotel Shelter Island
Rams Head Hotel
Ram's Head Inn Shelter Island, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing