We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views, not good service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Beach
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, not good service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We have been coming to Sunset Beach, on Shelter Island, for several years (while renting houses in other villages of the Hamptons) mainly for drinks while enjoying the beautiful sunsets. It is a must see part of Long Island and the hotel/restaurant feels like you are in the south of France. It is a popular spot making people watching an interesting experience. On our most recent visit, we decided to stay for dinner. It was a warm and humid night and, as all the restaurant levels/areas are open- air, there is no air-conditioning. We were seated in the lower level dining room which does not have cross ventilation so it was particularly hot. We waited quite a while for a waiter to take our drink order and then another long while for our meal order. Although we asked for more water, the busboys were slow or remiss to refill. At one point, my husband got up and retrieved a pitcher of water from the bar himself. We were parched. Our waiter was brusque. The food is good but overpriced as are most restaurants in the Hamptons in the summer. However, for the price, diners should expect good service and we were very disappointed in this respect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacashun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    24
    20
    14
    26
See reviews for
20
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Rooms are small and super basic. no luxuries to be found. Staff is extremely helpful (and attractive), beach is gorgeous, scene is laid-back cool..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keepingitanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

A perfect location for a short break and if you are into people watching. The staff give hope of a good service but never quite delivering it. The only stand-out is the 'Beach Manager' Billy who greets you with a smile once you step onto Crescent Beach, helps you pick a spot, sets up your beach lounge and umbrella. He does it all with such genuine enjoyment he makes you happy - a stark contrast to the rest of the Sunset Beach staff.
The Maitre D at the restaurant is disorganised and hopeless at her job.
We were told it was a 5-10min wait for a table which was resonable. The restaurant was busy but no where near full capacity and it was nearly 3pm, hardly a peak time for lunch even on Shelter Island.
Surprise surprise she failed to sit us, who were staying at the hotel, for lunch after 30min. What made it worse was we had to ask if we were going to get seated. There was no offer of apologies or suggestions for alternatives.

Overall experience is less than average especially in service and room. Don't expect anything more unless you are prepared to tip to hilt.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WWW138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shelter Island hotels

houston, tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We went here for a quick getaway from NYC for hubby's birthday (sans kids). We had an amazing time. Hotel staff were super friendly. Food and drinks were amazing (try the rose sangria and the grilled octopus). Rooms are not super fancy but really nice and beachy. Small bathrooms but again, it is very nice. Love the Kiehls bath products as well. Beach is nice and they provide chaises and umbrellas. Hotel has a very euro vibe and a lot of eye candy for both men and women. All in all it was a perfect weekend. We already booked August with the kids this time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pparasher77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Wow, maybe the worst service I have ever had in a hotel. This place is beautiful and I'm sure there is a lot to do if the weather is nice. Unfortunately, on our vacation a huge storm rolled in and the hotel was empty.

We were the only people eating in the restaurant our first night and when we woke up to a downpour the next day, we decided to go home early. Our plan was to check out a day early and have that 2nd night of our 2 night stay credited to a future reservation. Even though I was ready to book our next trip immediately, the manager said "there was nothing he could do". I made it clear that if he couldn't help us we would not be returning to Sunset Beach on our next trip to the Hamptons area. He was not concerned about this and suggested that we take advantage of their "extensive" DVD library. As mentioned in a previous review, their rooms are not very inviting and if I'm going to stay in and watch movies, I'll do it at home. We left early despite having to pay for the night and will not return to this property.

I understand that maybe you can't officially transfer a reservation but any effort to work with us would have been appreciated. Clearly our trip was ruined. We tried to contact the General Manager Steven twice after our trip and even tried contacting AB Hotels to share our feedback and heard back from no one.

On our next trip out there we will be staying at Ruschmeyers or Surf Lodge, that's for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pww214
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

In these reviews most people focus on the price of the accommodations/restaurant. While it is expensive, it is also a whole lot cheaper than flying to St Barths or St Tropez, and thats really the feeling that you get when you visit this great little part of the world.

I visited recently for a weekend with my significant other. Even though it was a 2 hour drive from the city, we felt transported to somewhere far away and were totally relaxed, whether we were getting some sun on the beach, riding bikes around Shelter Island, or hanging out at the bar. The staff was terrific - by the end of the weekend we knew almost everyone at the hotel and the restaurant on a first name basis. The service here was above and beyond.

The rooms were clean and stylish. The bathrooms have recently been renovated and while small, they serve their purpose. The mini bar was well stocked, including a couple bottles of private label Rose.

All in all, we had a fantastic time, and will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pww214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelter Island, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Dont come here if you are concerned about your budget. Everything is overpriced and the rooms are nothing but a Motel with water views. The staff is rude and they act as if they doing you a favor by letting you stay there. If you want to say you were there with the "in people" then be prepared to pay double what this room was worth. There are other nicer places to stay on Shelter Island

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank parrotrescue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
1.6 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Shelter Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
6.9 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
1.0 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach

Property: Sunset Beach
Address: 35 Shore Rd, Shelter Island, NY 11965-2002
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Shelter Island
Sunset Beach Shelter Island, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing