We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with charm and character!”
Review of The Pridwin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pridwin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with charm and character!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed here after Labor Day for a quick getaway - I saw the voucher on Living Social and decided to give it a shot, even though I'd never been out to Shelter Island. The Pridwin is old and sometimes shows its age, but I would definitely say it has a lot of charm. The rooms are cozy - no luggage rack, which was odd, but the bathroom was updated and VERY VERY nice. Breakfast on Tuesday was very sumptuous and we couldn't believe how great it was. Wednesday marked the beginning of the off season so it was more continental but still delightful. The fresh squeezed orange juice is to die for. Breakfast overlooking the bay between Shelter Island and Greenport was divine.

I found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating. When the room wasn't ready at 3 PM check in, we just took the time to explore the island. The woman at the desk gave us free drinks which we enjoyed later that day on the patio. That was nice of her.

I would stay here again, especially if the updates to the hotel are continuing.

Room Tip: Water views are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorensaa191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    66
    31
    24
    27
See reviews for
63
101
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
242 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were there a little off season. The location is lovely, right on bay. The hotel offers a lot of amenities but unfortunately they are all for a price. We had hoped to play a little tennis as my husband has not played in over seven months due to surgery but the courts have been leased out to some one and one has to make monetary and time arrangement with him which we did not due as we did not want to book a whole hour. All other amenities are for an hourly price which I found to be a bit devious as I thought that it was a perk of the hotel. The bedrooms are tiny with not enough room for a night table on my side of the bed for me to put my book on when I went to sleep. The bed was very comfortable with a lovely quilt. The bathroom was so small that I hit my shoulder on sink top marble every time I sat down. The deck overlooking the sound is lovely as is the dining areas. Unfortunately the dining room was closed for the season as of the day we checked in. The pool was very nice and seemed to be well kept with lots of towels available. Breakfast was continental which was fine though I was sorry that we missed the full breakfast by one day . The first day we were there when we got back from a day of sight seeing and lunch at about three o'clock our room had not been made up. This is not a hotel for anyone with disabilities as there are lots of stairs. When our room was not made up I had to go down a full flight of stairs as there was no where to sit to wait to get into the room. This is definitely an old world hotel with the emphasis on old.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynbrook
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Pridwin is the perfect go-to-place to unwind after a busy summer and just before the school year begins. We are native New Yorkers and have been doing this with our family for the past 15 years. While our family has been fortunate enough to travel to new places over the years, we make sure to return to the Pridwin for a few days every August. The staff and service is perfect. What I love best about this hotel is the beautiful view of the Peconic. The restaurant deck overlooks the Peconic and dining at sunset is not to be missed. The food is always excellent. What I was most disappointed in was that the hotel no longer offers a breakfast & dinner meal plan for hotel guests. It was always well worth it. With all the water sports available, private beach and salt water pool at your fingertips, there was never any reason to leave this place. While the rooms are small, they are comfortable and clean. The linens could use an overhaul as they seem to be a bit threadbare. Initially, our room had a damp, musty smell to it, something we had never encountered in years past. Perhaps, this is a result of "Super Storm Sandy', as many families and business' are still working on their properities. My family and I love Shelter Island and this hotel and plan to continue our 'August' tradition as long as we are able.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor with a full or partial water view are ideal. You have no one walking over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We went to the Pridwin Hotel for the first time for a family holiday for 4th July week. The hotel staff were so friendly, the included breakfast was amazing and the location of the hotel - right on the beach was wonderful. And the pool at the back of the hotel was perfect with lunch available poolside. The one downside is the dampness in the hotel. We booked two rooms, one for my husband and me, the other for the three children. The children's room was perfect, ours on the other hand had a mold problem...the room smelt damp and the air conditioner did not really help dry it out. The hotel does have an old world charm and the bathrooms, though small, are nicely updated.
Beach amenities included sunfish, hydro bikes and kayaks - all great fun and in good condition. Would go back but would love to see the damp problem fixed for everyone's sake!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fashionbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PridwinOffice, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Pridwin! We're glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the friendly service, our beach and poolside amenities, and our tasty breakfast during your stay. We are in the process of updating and renovating some portions of the hotel, but unfortunately, our humid environment does encourage the smell you mentioned. Rest assured, our amazing housekeeping team makes sure everything is clean and sanitary for our valued guests. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to the Pridwin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Had a great weekend at the Pridwin. Classic old school elegance, great location and good service. Rooms are a bit small but with so much to do outdoors on SI it doesn't really matter. Pool is nice and water sports are great. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PridwinOffice, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Melissa, thanks for your review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend at the Pridwin, and that our friendly service and diverse array of recreational activities made your stay with us a fun and memorable one. We hope you got a chance to try some of fresh seafood or delicious barbecue during your stay - or at the very least, some of the famous Pridwin donuts at our breakfast buffet! We will look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Shelter Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My sister and I went for a two-night getaway to Shelter Island and were thrilled to have found The Pridwin, a classic summer resort since 1927. While not fancy, the lobby, especially, is well appointed. A few suggestions for our room were IMMEDIATELY and thoughtfully addressed by manager and staff. Terrific location with water view and beach right across the way. Loved availability of kayaks and paddle boards. Enjoyed swimming laps in the pool. Breakfast on the porch featured a beautiful view of the bay. Staff -- both seasoned and college students -- were professional and accommodating. The curation of music in the lobby, restaurant and bar/lounge was especially excellent and added considerably to the ambiance. (You know when you go somewhere and the music is just "off" and inappropriate for the time of day?) At The Pridwin, classical music played during breakfast. As the day went on, the music changed to light jazz, up to summery samba by cocktail hour.

Room Tip: Rooms with partial-water view are fine. There is a kayak rental off premise and on a different side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BKB217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PridwinOffice, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
BKB, thank you so much for your kind words! We so appreciate your thoughtful and detailed review, and we're thrilled to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your stay at the "classic" Pridwin. Our friendly and helpful staff does strive to accommodate the wishes of our guests, and we're glad that you found your room comfortable, and the music appropriate and welcoming. We hope you welcome you both back soon for more leisure time spent in or on the water, a side of refreshing cocktails, and those beautiful waterfront views and sunsets! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Pridwin for a family reunion and loved every minute of it. I thought the staff was helpful and polite (yup, even those 'college kids') check in/out was easy - no unexpected charges on my bill. I loved the breakfast every morning; fresh eggs and bacon, blueberries to die for and great coffee - there was more but that was my standard fare.
Our room was very nice - yes, it's not fancy, but it was comfortable and clean - great view! We were on the 3rd floor and I was told when I booked that there was no elevator and was I ok with stairs... The bathroom was super tiny but all the plumbing worked beautifully and the shower was huge.
I really loved the quaint-ness of The Pridwin and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The water front rooms are lovely but noisy - if you need more quiet I would suggest having a room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PridwinOffice, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Alison, thank you for reviewing the Pridwin Hotel! We're always happy to hear from new guests, and we're glad to hear your family's stay with us was made even more enjoyable by our friendly service, our quaint and cozy rooms, and our delicious breakfasts (nothing like fresh summertime berries!). We appreciate your feedback, and we will definitely look forward to welcoming you all back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
0.8 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
20.3 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
18.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
2.1 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#3 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pridwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Property: The Pridwin Hotel
Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island
The Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing