We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Charm on Shelter Island”
Review of The Pridwin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pridwin Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Charm on Shelter Island”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Perfectly positioned overlooking Shelter Island's gentle bay, the Pridwin Hotel offers the real thing- small, but comfortable rooms with beautiful views, friendly, relaxed service, affordable pricing, absolutely delicious complimentary buffet breakfast, and pretty grounds which include a large swimming pool. If you are expecting Four Seasons luxury or Sunset Beach chic style and scene- you will be disappointed. If you are looking to relax in a pretty, low key, chill setting you will be very happy here. My family and I have stayed here several times and have made it a tradition- we love it. We love the old fashioned charm of another era- before the "Hamptons" became what they are. Shelter Island is the antithesis of the hassle and pretentiousness of its neighboring villages and the Pridwin personifies this with its low-glam beachyness.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms offer beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review of The Pridwin Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and got a chance to try what our premises has to offer. We hope to welcome you to The Pridwin Hotel again in the near future, so you can once again step back in time and enjoy the simpler things in life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    67
    32
    24
    28
See reviews for
67
104
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverdale, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Pridwin Hotel from 6/25-6/26/14. We purchased a great mid-week special from Living Social. The hotel was warm and inviting with a great staff and beautiful views of the beach. The room was small and dated but was very comfortable and had a lovely view of the water.
Our lunch and dinner at the restaurant was excellent but the highlight of the restaurant was the view of the sky and the water in the evening while we ate dinner. It was breathtaking! We enjoyed an after dinner drink later on that evening in front of the fire pit, listening to the sounds of the waves.
After checkout the next morning, we were able to spend the entire day on the grounds where we spent a couple of hours at their wonderful pool as well as took a lovely bicycle ride around Shelter Island.
What a lovely experience at The Pridwin Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are so very pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your time at The Pridwin Hotel, we have recently complete updated our restaurant menus and we are very glad that you had the chance to experience the Pridwin restaurant! The photographs you included are beautiful and show off the spectacular view very well, we hope to once again welcome you to The Pridwin Hotel and hope you have a pleasant summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I wished to get away for a couple of days. We purchased a Living Social voucher for the Pridwin on Shelter Island.
We knew we were getting the great ambiance of Shelter Island, but I was unsure of the quality of our accomodations, especially when we had a discounted room reservation.
We were qutie surprised when we arrived. The entire hotel, although it has been around for a very long time, was spotless, and modern.
Our next surprise was the very professional, friendly and extremely polite staff. All staff members greeted us with a "good morning/evening." Service at their bar and restaurant was top notch, and the food was of excellent quality.
We plan to go back year after year no matter what the cost.
Anthony Citrola, CPA

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn P, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us and that you took the time to review the Pridwin. Most of all, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Pridwin caught our eye because of a quite good Living social deal. Although I'd stayed at many places in both the North and South Forks, I'd never been to Shelter Island. The island is really very nice and low key - probably due to the fact that you have to take a ferry to get there. I think this keeps the number of people who are just "driving through" to an absolute minimum. The Pridwin is in a great location, and the views from the deck are stunning. There is a beach and dock right in front of the property. We had read a lot of reviews complaining about the rooms and mold and food and service, but I must say that it is clear that the management has taken those concerns to heart. The rooms are still smallish, and could certainly have stood a little brightening up color-wise, but they were certainly clean and the bathroom was brand new (and with a great shower!). And while there is a little mustiness here and there it is certainly par for the course in any waterfront property, and nothing worth complaining about. If you want a charming, older, wooden hotel on the beach (instead of a concrete monstrosity) it's going to get a little musty on some damp days. Really, it's nothing. As for the food, it was fantastic. The breakfast (included) was buffet style and everything was fresh and delicious. We had eggs and sausage and granola and lots of coffee while sitting at a table overlooking the Peconic Bay. There was a special “Island Appreciation Night” while we were there – using a $30 Prix Fixe menu to showcase their new chef – and everything was fantastic. Even the lunches we had (served up in our lounge chairs poolside) were great. All around, the service was, without exception, excellent. All in all, we had a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank EdmundHillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
The team here at The Pridwin Hotel would very much like to thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you got to sample a variety of things that our hotel likes to offer! We pride ourselves on the great views and sunsets we can offer during our meals, and are glad you liked the new menu! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future, and hope you have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in a water view room, the staff was friendly, the view was beautiful as well as the Island itself, however the hotel clearly required upgrading. The room itself was very small, the curtains and chair had visible brown stains. The room really requires new paint and the hallways smelt like mold. The air conditioning was running but the room was very stuffy. There were cob webs in all the corners and attached to the walls. The parking lot was adjacent to cottages where groups of gentlemen were playing very loud music and mixing drinks on the lawn. We were not sure who they were as they did not appear to be guests of the hotel or very friendly. The continental breakfast was disappointing, with tiny boxes of cold cereal and the English muffins lay next to a dirty toaster. The bowls for the cereal were thin and plastic and the cut fruit appeared to be old and unappetizing. We have been visitors of the Island for many years and understand it’s a rustic kind of place; however The Pridwin takes it to the next level. I don’t think we will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn P, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We want to thank you for staying with us and very much appreciate the feedback, though we are sad to read of your disappointment. When the Pridwin was built in the 1920s it originally had shared baths. To convent to private baths, some room size was lost. The rooms were never spacious by today's standards, and so this meant even smaller rooms. Typically in June there is a cool breeze off the bay and we would hope that the ceiling fans would circulate that fresh air through an open window. Of course, some days are hot and that's why we have air conditioning and we're sorry that the combination of these options were not satisfactory. We also pride ourselves on house keeping excellence, but will redouble our efforts based on your comments. The carpet in the hallways were just replaced, we can promise there is no mold, but being beach side on hot days the halls may get humid.

Sorry that you will not consider to stay with us again, but please know that your comments are taken seriously and will be acted upon. If you do choose to try us again, please let us know....and also if you have any issues, let us know before you depart as we are always poised to serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shelter Island hotels

new york
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a lovely, family run resort, with lots of traditional charm, stunning views, beautiful surroundings and fabulous food. With that said, there are a few areas that with a little improvement, could make this an outstanding family resort, most notably, the service.

We stayed for one night in room for four during a family reunion. The room was acceptable and clean, but could defintely do with some updating. Even a fresh coat of paint would make a world of difference.

The food was very good to excellent, but the dinner service was very slow. As we were a large group it was nice to have a leisurely dinner, but the pace of the service left a few members of the party disgruntled.

The pluses include the location, the swimming pool, the outdoor dining terrance, the breakfast buffet and the kids amenities: movie room,games rooms, tennis courts.

We would recommend this resort, keeping in mind you are mostly paying for the location. But all in all it was a lovely family getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teradactyltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PridwinOffice, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Pridwin! We appreciate greatly your feedback. We are always trying to improve our service and had considered ourselves fairly adept at handling large groups in our dining room, but we''ll note your experience and work harder to improve this season. We are also in the process of refurbishing rooms with fresh paint and amenities. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pridwin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The crew that runs this place were so accommodating. I was there for a wedding and they let us have our run of the place. Yes the rooms could use a bit of updating but that is part of the charm of this space.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank StefanSpins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PridwinOffice, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We had a great time working at that wedding too! We appreciate the feedback, it's spring time, we are awaking from the long winter and working on room refurbishing before our mid-May opening. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
0.8 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
72 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
554 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach
#5 of 5 in Shelter Island
117 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chequit
The Chequit
#2 of 4 in Shelter Island Heights
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pridwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Property: The Pridwin Hotel
Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island
The Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing