We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't expect this! Good food & service at 9:30 p.m.”
Review of Salt

Salt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bronx NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Didn't expect this! Good food & service at 9:30 p.m.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After missing the turn-off in the dark, we called the restaurant and found our way back. We walked through a friendly bar scene into a tent looking out at moored boats. Nice setting. Comfortable seats next to flaming radiant heaters made it seem like we were eating next to a fireplace. Our dinners were good and the service was friendly and quick. My wedge salad was one of the best I've had - it's a basic and some places don't bother much to do it right. SALT nailed it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Flora57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    62
    19
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely location, terrific food, good service. Would definitely go back for dinner. Recommend you make reservations and ask for a table near the water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Was slightly hesitant to try this place because most of the recent reviews were quite negative but really wanted to have a look at the marina so went and was pleasantly surprised. I had 1/2 dozen local clams to start which were lovely followed by fish taco's which were delicious. My partner had a small bowl of clam chowder followed by the fried fish sandwich and boldly claimed it was the best meal he'd had so far on Shelter Island. The restaurant is part of the marina so lovely spot to chill out with a few drinks. Atmosphere was relaxed and they had a kids menu which many of the restaurants don't seem to have here. No a/c sat outside under cover with fans so don't know what it would be like if it was horrifically hot but would def recommend should any friends want a place for lunch . I would say age range was 35 plus couples, families and empty nesters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank River20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Salt Needs a Little Pepper”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This harborside restaurant has a middle of the road menu. "Do you want salad or fries with that?" is not an earmark of a good dining experience. Nor is the ratio of the smaller main selection to the larger salad or fries. We expected more having boated there from Sag Harbor. However, you can eat both inside and out with fare pleasing to the kids. Service was a bit slow, but the bartender knew his trade even with a tricky cocktail order. This restaurant has potential due mostly to its setting. Some say they judge a restaurant by the preparation of the vegetables. Those souls would be hard pressed to find them and do so at Salt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank covegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Caution...Salt is not what it was!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I'm sorry to have to report that the food at SALT has hit the kitchen skids! Never before have I seen such a drop in quality and taste in a restaurant.

We had burgers whose meat tasted foul. Steak sandwiches as tough as shoe leather AND whose meat tasted foul. Fried food that sat in puddles of oil and were undercooked.

What was once a good eats place is now the place to avoid, unless you're there for the beer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Froggy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt also viewed

Shelter Island, Hamptons
Shelter Island, Hamptons
 
Shelter Island Heights, Shelter Island
 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing