We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of The Islander

The Islander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: The Islander is a family restaurant that serves casual comfort food.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
232 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

They serve more but we had breakfast. Nothing special, like a coffee shop. Eggs cooked as requested, Corned Beef Hash good. No credit cards, take cash.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyNY97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Local feeling, for even non-locals”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had lunch here after 4 hours of hiking at a nearby nature preserve. The atmosphere was nice and even though the place has a local vibe we felt comfortable and welcome, not like outsiders at all.

We had the chicken Cobb sandwich, very fresh bread and fresh guacamole on the sandwich and Santa Fe chicken wrap, also good, but not as good as the sandwich as the wrap tasted a little old, not stale, but a little yeasty like it was on its way out.

Salads were very crisp and fresh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuraNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best deal on island”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Lets be honest, people, it is the best deal on the island. The food is consistent and the prices are acceptable. Remember, it is a diner, so adjust your expectations. My favorite part of any visit is chatting with Clarissa. She makes my day.

Try the buffalo chicken wrap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY NY
Level Contributor
176 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Good Diner Food”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The Islander got off to a slow start but has improved since the new owners took over. The waitstaff is a blend of the staffers from Pat and Steve's (the prior restaurant) and new people, all friendly. Clarissa is a very upbeat waitress with a wonderful sense of humor. I stayed away for a few months after an initial disappointing lunch when they first opened but now they're in stride with good fish sandwiches, thick homemade soups, and burgers. I have not been to burger night but plan to go soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PAM_from_LINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great, fun place for breakfast!”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Had been here in May for the first time and just went back in early October. Same waitress, who was sweet and funny. Loved our breakfasts and we ever come back to SI, we'll be back here again....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dvig0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Islander also viewed

Shelter Island, Hamptons
Shelter Island, Hamptons
 
Shelter Island, Hamptons
Shelter Island, Hamptons
 
Shelter Island Heights, Shelter Island
 

Been to The Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing