We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and scenic, and friendly, laid-back service”

Shelter Island Kayak
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful and scenic, and friendly, laid-back service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 has a decent amount of kayaking experience, so we passed on the tour and just rented two doubles. With the map SI Kayak provided, we had a really enjoyable afternoon and were able to complete the whole Coecles Harbor Marine Trail in about two hours. These guys are very accommodating and flexible on timing, but I recommend calling ahead and making a reservation for tours or rentals as they seem quite popular for SI visitors. Would definitely rent again! Highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank suzzym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelter Island, New York, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Scenic, Fun and educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Shelter Island Kayaks rents kayaks and also runs tours. Their tour of Coekles Harbor includes historic Taylor's Island while their tours around Mashomack Preserve include views of pristine beaches and extensive wetlands. Fun and good for families.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see more of Shelter Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My partner and I had a great 2 hours paddling around Shelter Island on a tour . Tom our guide was very knowledgable about the area and pointed out different birds and points of interest as we went. Neither of us had ever been kayaking before so weren't sure whether we would like it but it was very easy to pick up and felt great cruising along the water- really good fun and great value. I'd highly recommend- next time I'm taking the kids. Price at the time was $60 per person. Think kids are half price and it might be cheaper in a double kayak than 2 singles. Def sun cream and hat advisable as even at 10 am hot on the water. Water and snack bars provided.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank River20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location for excellent kayaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The gentleman who rented us the boats was knowledgable of the area and directed us to the most beautiful, memorable route. Be sure to check out the creek. Pull your skiff up to Taylor's Island, too. It's enchanting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BKB217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ny, ny
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommend taking a kayak tour on shelter island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The kayak tour is fun and relaxing. The tour is about two hours on calm waters through various areas, and you see a lot of wildlife including turtles, herons, and deer. This was only my second time kayaking, but no experience necessary. Jay is a great tour guide and instructor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel_nyc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shelter Island Kayak also viewed

 

Been to Shelter Island Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing