We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the Amenities of Home”
Review of Hazen Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hazen Manor
Ranked #2 of 3 Sherman B&B and Inns
Hamburg, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the Amenities of Home”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

What an absolute beautiful, peaceful place to stay! Very tastefully decorated, clean, comfy and cozy. The owners, Jen and Roger, are the most gracious hosts you could ever ask for; they go above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable as possible and make you feel right at home, but nowheres near obtrusive. You will also enjoy a great, delicious farm-to-table breakfast! We only wished we could've stayed more than one night on our first visit, but we are looking forward to a longer stay this summer. Please do not hesitate to book your accommodations at this quaint B&B. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blkjack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This B&B was a wonderful place for a relaxing time close to all the activities in wine country. Very casual and comfy, just the place for a group of 30 somethings to relax. If you want a nice quiet place close to everything, but with no traffic, this is the place to visit. The only complaint was that the TV didn't get the college games. Of course, the reason we went on vacation was to get away from it all, and football can be distracting. Our hosts Jen and Roger and their pets, were welcoming. We were impressed with homey touches, and enjoyed the hot tub multiple nights. The rooms were pleasant, and there were plenty of spaces to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhiobasedChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinburg, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hazen Manor is totally unlike your "stereotypical" B&B experience. If you want a stuffy, formal and "uncomfortably quiet" B&B with classical music constantly playing in the background, then Hazen Manor is probably NOT for you. If you want to experience a warm, welcoming, relaxed atmosphere, where you don't feel as if you are intruding upon the innkeeper's home (as i have experienced at some B&Bs in the past), then you may want to check this place out. My husband and i have returned to Hazen Manor many times for the above reasons and more; the good company and the solitude, the amazing food (much of it fresh from the farm to the table), the relaxation, the beautiful landscape and the fun of being on a small farm. Jen & Roger immediately made us feel right at home the first time we visited, and we love the affordability of their room rates because it allows to take little weekend trips just to get away (we live about an hour's drive or so from Hazen) without going broke, and there is so much to do (or NOT to do if that's what you're looking for!) in the area. We come here to unwind from the stresses of every day as often as we can, and enjoy checking out the area wineries, local shopping and antiques. Definitely one of our favorite getaways and highly recommended. We love it so much that we are at time hesitant to tell our friends about it because we don't want the word to get out about how amazingly cool and fun Hazen Manor is ;-)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is not your typical everyday B&B. Hazen Manor is located off the beaten path but allows quick access to to Wineries, the Ski Resort, A great golf course (Peek n Peak) Local Lakes, Hiking Trails or Canoe French Creek. We went up for their Trick or Treat Bash and met people from Canada down for hunting season, many snowmobile enthusiasts also stay here. Great Food and atmosphere is great for a step outta the norm. They have a farm with a variety of animals that kids love to see and items inside like the pterodactyl chandelier, antiques and artwork make this place almost one of fiction and fantasy. A place where you can get lost from the mundane and feel truly free.

Forgot to mention each bedroom is a different theme, they have great beer, and I believe WiFi (although I would recommend leaving he gadgets at home and grabbing a fishing pole)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chili, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Unable to find a B&B or similar accommodation around either Chautauqua or Findlay Lake, one of the inns suggested Hazen Manor (they look after each other in this network) - and are we glad they did! This charming place was perfect for our Labor Day weekend getaway. We got to see what we wanted to near both the lakes and enjoyed our time at the Manor. Roger and Jennifer (and even the animals) were gracious hosts and her breakfasts were absolutely delicious (we even got the recipes). The next time we wish to stay in the area, we will call here first; the lakefront places won't even get another thought!

Room Tip: Check the site for pictures and descriptions of all the rooms; we stayed in one with two beds, our d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kemosabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I would have given a higher rating if TripAdvisor permitted! Jennifer & Roger and all of their animals were great! My husband and I stayed here for 5 days on a summer trip to Chautauqua Lake in July 2011. We were looking for something affordable that permitted pets and Hazen Manor was a perfect find. Hazen Manor is not far from everything you would want to see, Chautauqua Lake, Findley Lake, Jamestown, Westfield, wineries, etc.

Jennifer cooks awesome breakfasts - we had everything from eggs & bacon (fresh from the farm) to french toast casserole! She can even accommodate vegetarian and vegan diets. Roger tells the best stories and is one of the funniest people we've ever met! He makes his own craft beer (chocolate milk stout during our weekend) and shares his keg with guests - which my husband appreciated very much!

Jennifer keeps snacks and soda on stock for guests all day which is wonderful for weary travelers. And there is a hot tub to relax in at night under the stars too!

We enjoyed spending time with all of their farm animals and dogs and it was wonderful to get away from a fast-paced urban life for a while. We will definitely, definitely be return guests! In fact, we can't wait to go back!

That area of New York is beautiful and Jennifer & Roger make it even better.

Room Tip: Two rooms are located on the first floor which would be great for senior travelers or those with dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJC_DCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I give this place 5000 stars. Actually, 5001 stars. Everything about it is perfect. Jen and Roger are the best hosts ever and the animals will melt your heart within minutes...maybe seconds. Me and a couple friends stayed here at the end of our summer road-trip and, because it was so awesome, we stayed an extra night. We vow to make it back there at least once a year.

The house is GORGEOUS! All the paintings are done by family and friends and Jen can take any random object (like a sled) and turn it into something amazing (like a wine rack). All the animals - the goats, donkey, sheep, pigs, bunnies, cats, dogs, turkey, chickens - are like story-book characters that all hang out together in a happy fairytale land...sort of like Charlotte's Web. If you love animals, this place is an absolute must.

Room Tip: Every room is absolutely beautiful. You can't make a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherman
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
22.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Downtown Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#3 of 6 in Chautauqua
191 reviews
22.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
12.9 mi away
Lakeview on the Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazen Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazen Manor

Property: Hazen Manor
Address: 9582 Hazen Rd, Sherman, NY 14781-9715
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Sherman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sherman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rural beauty of Western New York and the elegant charm of Hazen Manor. Nestled in the rolling hills of Chautauqua County, Hazen Manor is the ideal location to relax and unwind. With breath-taking panoramic views from every window and cozy common areas that invite you to put your feet up, you may be tempted to spend your days discovering the hidden gems on this nine acre working farm. The temptation to explore may have you venturing mere miles to experience the eclectic allure unique to this region. Whether you venture only as far as the back deck or down to one of the local wineries, Hazen Manor will be there waiting to welcome you back with the casual elegance that is their signature. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing